We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect place to enjoy a weekend with friends”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Ranked #15 of 31 Hotels in Reading
1 review
“Perfect place to enjoy a weekend with friends”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Booking the room was straight forward and amazing value for money. Good service, big rooms with microwave and fridge. Comfy beds and free view tv. The bathroom was a but dated but you can look past that for what you pay. Breakfast was really good and it's only a 20 minute walk from the centre of town. There is also free parking. What more could you want? Perfect for a little weekend break with good friends.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoB9486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for your comments about our hotel I do hope you will stay again for a weekend or maybe longer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    331
    121
    73
    106
See reviews for
137
217
88
258
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed at this hotel whilst on business and I was very happy with the room. For the price the rooms and comfortable and clean. Some rooms also have their own cookign facilities which is great of working away from home. Overall I was very happy with my stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for taking time to review our hotel your comments are really appreciated. I hope you come and stay again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I've been used to staying in premier inn and similar hotels but on this occasion plumped for a bargain booking at the Hillingdon Prince. The staff were very friendly, courteous & helpfull and I enjoyed being in a victorian style building with much more charm than the average premier inn. The price was excellent and we had the breakfast as part of the online deal which was good quality and service was good too. The hotel is just 15 mins walk from the centre of Reading so easy access to all shops & venues. Plenty of parking space too and all the usual stuff in your room, kettle and complimentary tea/coffee, hair drier and ironing board/iron available on request. I will definitely book a stay here again, no qualms. Dave D.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments about our hotel. I am glad you found us to be in such a great location. We are lucky as we offer ample free parking yet so close to the town you can walk, saves loads on parking in the actual town centre. Also there is a bus service to twon that costs just £1.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed May 6, 2013

My first visit to Hillingdon Prince Hotel , 39, Christchurch Road, Reading. Berkshire. UK, convinced me that its a place to be whenever you are away from home. In fact, I call it 'home from home'
Next visit was my entire family members and we all loved our stay. Nice environment and very warm reception from staff.
Will love to visit again and again
I highly recommend this hotel to all.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIKKYKAY2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
THANK YOU for your review. I am glad you found our hotel to be home from home. I hope you back back to your second home soon!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uxbridge, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 6, 2013

The room was very cheap, especially for a Friday night. The beds were nice and the tv was good, all was clean and well presented. My only gripe was that the shower wasn't great, however I just had a bath instead so it wasn't a problem. Also the bathroom had a slightly strange smell, but not unpleasant. The mini fridge with freezer compartment and microwave are great facilities to have in the room, as it means you can take you own food. The hotel even say they are keen for you to bring your own food or even bring takeaway into the hotel so this makes it very easy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your comments. I am glad to hear you found us excellent value for money as this is what we are aiming for. I am sorry to hear you had a problem with the shower, if you ever have any issues please inform us straight away as we have staff on site to deal with this. Overall I am glad to hear you had a good stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faro District, Portugal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Everything was perfect. Bed was super comfy and rooms had way more than we expected. Compared to other hotels near by the Wellington ticks more boxes especially if your working away. Staff were really helpful and friendly and we were shown to our room by a lo rely gentleman. Perfect stay. Will definitely return

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arkos121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear you found the service good this is something we pride ourselves on. Please come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I stayed at this hotel a few weeks and left some honest feedback both positive and negative, but am really not impressed at all to recieve an email from the hotel saying they will give me £50 in vouchers if I leave a "kind" review. I think this is awful - people use Tripadvisor because they want impartial advice not for advice from people who have recieved vouchers for leaving "kind" feedback. Bad news!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christossifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katy b, General Manager at Hillingdon Prince Hotel, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
We have many regular guests who choose to stay at our hotel, we do not bribe them to write a review or to come and stay again. We ran a special promotion for a short period where we offered people vouchers to come back but it is certainly their choice if they wish to choose our hotel and if they choose to write us a review. Many people enjoy their stay and are happy to let others know about this by writing a review and many people choose to come back. On occasion we offer vouchers for returning guests this is just in way of thanking them for their repreat business. We like to look after our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reading hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.0 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Abbey House Hotel
Abbey House Hotel
#14 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.0 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hillingdon Prince Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hillingdon Prince Hotel

Property: Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Address: 39 Christchurch Road, Reading RG2 7AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hillingdon Prince Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay with us for clean comfortable rooms at affordable prices. Our rooms offer microwaves and fridges and some with mini kitchens. Ideal for the cost conscious traveller as you are the able to cater for yourself. We can also arrange free delivery and discounts at our local restaurants. We offer FREE secure wifi, gym and 24 hour reception. We serve breakfast daily. Located just a short walk to the Royal Berkshire Hospital, Reading University, the Town Centre and a short drive to all the local Business Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HostelWorld, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hillingdon Prince Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Reading
Reading Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing