We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid unless desperate for a roof over your head!”
Review of Abbey House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abbey House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 27, 2007

Stank of cooking and cigarette smoke. Run down and grotty throughout, currently being used as b. and b. for workers on local building sites. For £30, might have been tolerable. For nearly £70 for one night, a rip-off. Breakfast mean and carefully rationed,
with loud compulsory t.v.. Really disgusting and in a poor area of Reading.

  • Stayed: April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank 012210a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 143 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Manchester
16
Reviewed May 29, 2006

Firstly, it's in a very, VERY grim area, tucked into a rundown residential street behind the train station (Reading West, not Reading Central). You can't just walk into reception - you have to use a dodgy intercom and be buzzed in. Not a good first impression. I didn't feel safe.

The reception was quite smiley and helpful - they offered to carry my case up to the second floor (there's no lift). However the room was...shocking. It smelled badly, and the neon strip light over the mirror was so clogged with nicotine it was actually brown! There were two single beds in the room, and both bedspreads had black stains on them. The carpet and paintwork were very worn.

When I went into the bathroom it had plastic walls and flooring instead of tiles, and the white towels also featured brown stains. I think the toilet didn't have a proper cistern because when it was flushed there was a really loud grinding pump noise which went on for a while. Either that or it was a hot water heater, but the noise was very unpleasant.

This place isn't actually very cheap, so it makes it the worst hotel I've stayed in, ever. I've been travelling on business all over the UK for nearly 10 years, so I don't say this lightly.

  • Stayed: May 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2004

I stay in hotels often for business and pleasure, this hotel was so bad that I checked out as soon as I saw the room. I smoke but the stink of the room made even my eyes water, dirty bathroom and overall the room was very grubby indeed... dont believe the pictures on the website which sort of make this look like a travel inn!

33  Thank K77RKM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorenzo A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2016, traveled with family
Thank polramram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pipi0501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zappenduster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.5 mi away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#14 of 31 in Reading
975 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#2 of 31 in Reading
1,943 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Great Expectations Hotel & Bar
1 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Reading Oxford Rd
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey House Hotel

Address: 118 Connaught Road, Reading RG30 2UF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Price Range: $70 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbey House Hotel is ideally located in Reading City, Situated just a short cab ride away from Reading Train stationn and only 15 mins walk from the city center. Reading West Train station is a 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Our hotel is situated within easy Access to Rail and Road Networks,Hotel also provides Free Wifi access throughout the building and free onsite car parking facilities(first come first serve basis).The licensed restaurant and bar, is open for breakfast and dinner offering evening meals (dinner service is temporarily suspended). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Abbey House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing