We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Go There”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Abbey House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abbey House Hotel
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
“Never Go There”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

Crap, most dingy, depressing , dirty , filthy place ever. If you were not depressed before you went there then you sure will be after being shown your room. I stayed in the Annexe.back of the hotel ,room 20 , the annexe has approx 4 rooms, dont stay there! hated it. I have stayed in some places but this was not good.
Not a Hotel, a b&b at best but theres better around!

for £49 a night they have some nerve....

Basic here does not mean Clean!

Room Tip: ask for a pic of the room you will be given
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pmclough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    26
    20
    0
    13
See reviews for
22
25
15
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yardley, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2011

The staff was friendly and helpful. I was a little annoyed one morning being woken up to construction, but I appreciate the fact that they're doing some improvements to the rooms and hotel. Didn't catch breakfast, but the room and reception area were clean, the bed and pillows were VERY comfortable, and the shower had great water pressure and was hot (the bathtub was a bit cracked so I hope bathroom refurbishing is on the to-do list).

It was a little bit farther outside the center of town than I had anticipated, but I like the fact that it's in a residential area, so there wasn't much street noise outside. However, unless you're arriving with a car, be prepared for a bus or taxi into town. No Sky TV, but the free internet is fast. For non-UK smokers: Even though the Abbey House Hotel had advertised the availability of smoking rooms, this option is no longer available

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dezbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

Good, clean accomodation. Excellent breakfast. Well equiped room. Would definately use this again if in Reading.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank richard_silsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2010

i really enjoyed my stay at this hotel.strong points are ..... staff is so helpful and cheerful ( felt at home), very nice breakfast with so many choices and very located at very calm place.i have stayed in many hotels but this is very nice by far and very reasonably priced.

Stayed September 2010
Helpful?
1 Thank lynn111088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2010

A five star Bed and Breakfast is in the eye of the beholder. The Abby House staff is by far the most accommodating and professional group I have seen in the hotel industry. Providing a warm and relaxed environment also accommodating special needs as they arise. You get the sense of being a valued customer the moment you walk in the door. The mattress plush and inviting, the sheets were clean and as soft as silk. The Dining room was clean and bright and provided a pleasant start to my day. I looked forward to my tray of hot piping toast, fresh coffee and chilled juice every morning. I considerd myself "Lucky" that I chose the Abby house to stay. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and family =)

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RMorgera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2010

Stayed for 3 nights.. very nice room, friendly staff and helpful.. good breakfast.. for the price it is a more than adequate place to stay, plenty of parking ... would use again next time in reading.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mouse021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2010

A horrible hotel - and I stay in a lot.
This place was like taking a trip to the bad old days. Decor reminiscent of a municipal care home, dirt and cobwebs (room 19), broken plugs sockets and a hot tap that doesn't work (room 15 I think, the triple). The staff also failed to provide fresh towels.
Staff were less than honest and straightforward in dealing with my complaints and request to move rooms.
Sure, its cheap, but you get what you pay for - less in this case. AVOID.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dapperdan74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.3 mi away
Beech House Hotel
Beech House Hotel
#9 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#15 of 31 in Reading
3.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
1.0 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Styles Reading Oxford Rd
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
0.8 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey House Hotel

Property: Abbey House Hotel
Address: 118 Connaught Road, Reading RG30 2UF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbey House Hotel is ideally located in Reading City, Situated just a short cab ride away from Reading Train stationn and only 15 mins walk from the city center. Reading West Train station is a 5 minutes walk from the hotel. Our hotel is situated within easy Access to Rail and Road Networks,Hotel also provides Free Wifi access throughout the building and free onsite car parking facilities(first come first serve basis).The licensed restaurant and bar, is open for breakfast and dinner offering evening meals (dinner service is temporarily suspended). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Abbey House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abbey Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing