We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Deeeelicious....”
Review of Pappadams

Pappadams
Ranked #79 of 620 Restaurants in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Welcome to Pappadams, the new 'authentic' Indian resto in Reading. At Pappadams, we take Indian food to a whole new 'super' level. We do this by fusing our traditional aesthetic cooking with good attributes like honesty and passion. We commit ourselves to introduce a fresh loom to the 'Indian Curry' by constantly challenging and developing our tastes along with excellent hygienic standards. From an eclectic array of dishes like Prawn Olathiyathu, Lamb hyderabadi, Chicken saagwala and Goan fish curry the menu spans across the horizons of the Indian subcontinent. We are in a process of making 'Pappadams' a hallmark culinary firmament in Reading and we can do that with your love and support for good food. Please come and join us for a culinary festival.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Deeeelicious....”
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Viisted last Friday and was delighted with both the service and the quality of food. My partner is not a great Indian food lover, so needed some help with the menu from our waiter. Not only was he happy to help, he asked what my partner liked and had a dish made specially for her. She was delighted, and so was i. The portion are quite generous, so pleased we observed what other diners were ordering, and kept of choice to suit our hunger. no doubt we shall return and thank you to all the staff for a wonderful eveneing. See you all again soon.[

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoyalroyalBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    52
    14
    3
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Indian Food”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Found this place just a stones throw away from the Reading Library.The fish meal in the afternoon was quite good. The ground floor is a small place but they have room upstairs as well. Had a good number of people coming in. Overall the food was good but the only thing I feel where it loses out is in terms of 1) Some of the authentic kerala beef dishes missing and 2) Some of the dishes you order are slightly expense. Chennai dosa would have a cheaper option if cost is a factor for you.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isaacsays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great curry”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Went here with a group of friends and all had a great experience. It's quite a small downstairs room but there are seats upstairs so would recommend going in even if the front looks full.

All the food was excellent and well cooked. Friendly service.

Would recommend highly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davey1889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
269 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Delicious dishes from Kerala State in India!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Was at Pappadams with a friend first week of October 2013. And I am impressed. By looks, the restaurant is like any other small indian eatery, with slightly modern/functional décor. But the food is a WOW, making it a really good restaurant experience!

Being a Keralite, I was quick to notice some typical dishes from Kerala on the menu. Like 'meen pollichathu' (whole fish, cleaned, covered with a paste of spices, packed/covered in a banana leaf and cooked in fire) which is not easy to find even if you travel all the way to Kerala :-). We ordered one and found it just right and just great as it should be. So was the 'naadan chicken fry' (country style chicken fry) that we ordered for starters. We ordered rotis (bread made of wheat) and 'lamb rogan josh' for curry. Of all that we ordered, the rogan josh was a disappointment. It was a less than average dish carelessly prepared with a whole lot of tomato puree and an 'imbalance' of spices.

Service was good. Waiters were attentive and right there when we needed them. And our dishes were served rather quickly, which helped because were hungry :-)

Over all, would rate this as 'a very good' experience. Prices seemed a bit higher than average. Three main dishes, four rotis and two beers costed us nearly 40 pounds.

Would recommend this place for those who focus on 'taste of food' while eating out. And will go there again next time in Reading.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnoopPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Top notch”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Best Indian I have eaten in a long while, very friendly staff too, well worth a visit and would recommend everyone tries it.

Helpful?
Thank Simmoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pappadams also viewed

 
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to Pappadams? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing