We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great authentic Thai”
Review of Bali Lounge

Bali Lounge
Ranked #93 of 622 Restaurants in Reading
Price range: $6 - $32
Cuisines: Thai, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great authentic Thai”
Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

I simply can not stop thinking about this amazing Thai food from the Warwick! I want to go back and order everything!!! You must try the Chicken Larb if you like spicy food. The menu was extensive and authentic and thoroughly recommended. Great friendly service too! Great job!

Helpful?
1 Thank Glen_parker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    62
    21
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unknown Gem”
Reviewed June 8, 2014

The Warwick Arms is a tired pub hidden down Kings Road that you would never find yourself thinking that looks like a great place to eat. You would be mistaken. The food is well prepared with generous portions and much better than the likes of other Asian and Thai places in Reading. Yes the decoration is tired and I haven eaten in their when it has been full and deserted, but I find myself regularly returning and I have never felt disappointed. The Pad Thai is a favourite but I also recommend the Jungle Curry for those looking for something really spicy and the Lychee wine. The staff are friendly and helpful too making this a wonderful place to eat with real character.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Schofief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good Atmosphere & Good Food”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff and the food is excellent. The meal was arranged as part of a regular social event for people within my work department for around 15 people. There was a good choice of quiality Thai food on the menu and on the particular evening we visited an offer of 2 courses for £10 which proved to be very good value.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
61 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappointing.”
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

I don't like leaving negative reviews and would generally prefer not to comment, however this was a genuinely disappointing experience that just did not match the excellent reviews. So here goes....

To begin with, parking to visit this restaurant Is a nightmare and really frustrating.

Restaurant decor is tired and even tatty in areas. Absolutely empty and no atmosphere whatsoever.

Service, although very friendly, was at best intermittent, on two occasions I had to get up from the table to seek service from the waiter who was watching a film or something, on his iPad at the bar.

Food was OK, but not exciting at all. Sticky rice was very odd and served in cylinder shape straight from some kind of plastic bag?

Sadly can't recommend much here. The waiter was insistent that the previous night they had over 80 covers and he was expecting the same this evening. He couldn't understand why it was so quiet, perhaps the lack of reservations would have been a reasonable indication?

Overall I felt let rather down.



Helpful?
1 Thank DAV1D300965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Thai food”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Authentic Thai cuisine, made us all reminisce about our times in Thailand. Will definitely visit again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MESal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bali Lounge also viewed

 
Reading, Berkshire
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to Bali Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing