We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Hotel Reading
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Reading
A TripAdvisor Member
“Good value”
Reviewed June 27, 2006

I have stayed at the Royal County Hotel in Reading twice, both in conjunction to Farnborough airshows, and I found the hotel charming and well worth the money.
The location is excellent, just at the beginning of the shopping street and a 5 min walk from the train station.
The hotel staff has always been nice and tried to facilitate the stay as much as possible.
I have had two different rooms when staying, both very nice.
One of the charming things I found of the hotel is the fact that there are many differnt rooms, all connected through very long, winding corridors and staircases. If you end up in the top room, you might find the winding staircases a bit much if you have a lot of luggage, though.
Breakfast is ok, nothing extraordinary, but neither bad in any way.

All in all, a very good hotel that I'd recommend without a doubt to anyone.

As for me, I'm booked for this summers airshow in July, staying for 11 days. So either I'm a self-punisher, or the hotel IS really nice. What do you think?

  • Stayed July 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    62
    89
    56
    48
See reviews for
16
44
39
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2006

I stayed here in March. I was reluctant to stay after reading the reviews but chose it because of the location. I would stay again. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, dinner was fabulous and the hotel was clean. Another plus is its location in the town centre unlike most hotels in Reading. The only downside was the breakfast and noisy pipes at night.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bard_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, Surrey
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2006

We stayed here a couple of weeks ago on a Friday for a night out in Reading with my husband's work colleagues. Got a good rate through a friend of a friend.
Modern average sized room, good facilities, very clean, comfortable king sized bed & view of Brannigans from our window (so you can see what a good location this is in), only let down was the delapidated radiator under the window with peeling paint! Breakfast was OK with limited pastries & cereals, juice, tea, coffee, toast & the option of a (small) Full English. Staff were friendly & check in/out quick & efficient.
Due to the free parking & location would stay again for a night out.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomSharon2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 19, 2006

it was my first visit to reading, just attending a seminar and found that the hotel and specially their team was outstanding. since the moment i made the booking i received a personal treatment, received directions and advice. when i checked in the young lady at reception was friendly and helpful, the duty manager helped me with the luggage, since there is no lift, the building despite being old is in great condition and the rooms modern and stylish. all of this was topped up with a great meal at the restaurant.
will deffinetelly come back and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipley, West Yorskshire, UK
Level Contributor
134 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2006

Stayed here despite the reviews as there was nowhere else available in Reading (hard to believe I know).
I hoped for the best but was soon disappointed.
The hotel reckons it is a 3 star, but I would say it scrapes a 2.
Reception was efficient, but first problem is no lift - had to struggle up winding narrow staircases (lots of them)with a suitcase, laptop etc to the second floor.
Second problem - the non-smoking room had a (clean) ashtray and obviously smelled of smoke. Reception maintained that it was a non-smoking room but agreed the presence of the ashtray was odd - suggested someone had brought it with them from the bar and the new housemaid had inadvertently cleaned it - top marks for thinking on his feet with that one. However, no other rooms available (odd that someone else was checking in when I went out later).
Furnishings in the room are of very cheap quality, although the room was clean. Shower and bathroom fine.
Felt the bed would have benefited from a mattress cover and not a sheet directly on the mattress with nothing in between (can't remember seeing that in any other hotel I have stayed in).
Breakfast was of poor quality - not much of it and an odd fruit selection etc. All of this would not be so bad if you were paying a maximum of £30 a night, but £98.50 for a single room and breakfast was outrageous.
If the better hotels in Reading are full next time, I will stay in London and travel next morning as it is only 30 minutes from Paddington.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YorkshireUKtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reading hotels

Stevenage, UK
Level Contributor
68 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2005

Stayed here for 2 nights during the hot spell.

Reception staff friendly and main reception gives the impression of a nice hotel

Stayed in room 224, the room was ok in size. Double bed, wardrobe, and a small desk plus a big bathroom. Room also had a fan which I thought was a good idea. Room overlooked the main street which was busy in the evening but didn't disturb me at night. The room appeared to be hot and found out on the second night that there was a big red hot pipe running down the side of room. So be careful if staying here in hot weather, that you don't have hot pipes in your room, otherwise it will be a restless night!

Breakfast ok at £6.50 for continental breakfast.

Paid £85 room only so found this a bit expensive for what you got!

  • Stayed July 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brodders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FL
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2005

I spent three nights in the hotel in Jan. 2005. The location is just around the corner of the pedestrian area in the town centre and only five minutes walking distance from Reading railway station (and from there direct bus connection to Heathrow airport).

The staff was very friendly an helpful, I had no problems. Breakfast was ok, nothing special but ok.

But I was really bothered about my accomodation. The room was very small, the bed had only thin and worn out blankets, the kettle was in a disgusting condition, in the bin were still chewing gums from a former guest, no soap or shampoo available, only a undersized TV with three channels and so on. All in all it looked just untended. And interesting water facilities in the bathroom - on tap for hot and one for cold water by the bassin. So I had the choice of scalding or freezing my mouth when brushing my teeth.

I wouln't say anything if the Royal County would be a cheap bed and breakfast for backpackers. But from a business class hotel with rates around 100 GBP (ca. 140 EUR) per night I can expect really something more. As well in the area of London ... Next time I'll be looking for another place to stay.

Helpful?
4 Thank catweazle75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.2 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 32 in Reading
946 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure George Hotel Reading
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Great Expectations Hotel & Bar
0.4 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 32 in Reading
2,185 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#15 of 32 in Reading
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Reading

Property: Quality Hotel Reading
Address: 4-8 Duke Street, Reading RG1 4RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 32 Hotels in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel Reading 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel situated in the quaint riverside district of Reading and right in the centre close to the Oracle Shopping centre and Rail Station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal County Reading
Hotel Royal County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing