We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Shabby hotel, very basic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Hotel Reading
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Reading
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Shabby hotel, very basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

The hotel would be okay if it underwent some refurbishment. At the moment it is very shabby and smelly. The room is a fair size but somehow unpleasant because it feels very old and dark. I didn't feel like staying there for long, to be honest. The staff are doing their best to improve the experience, bless them. They are very courteous and helpful. Especially the porter is the sweetest porter I have ever seen! Also the breakfast is very nice, with a good variety and taste. I wish the hotel would invest in refurbishment!! It does need it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartReading, General Manager at Quality Hotel Reading, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to The Quality Hotel in Reading. I am pleased that you found the staff to be friendly and welcoming and will pass on your comments.
I have noted your comments which i will be personally looking into.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    62
    89
    56
    48
See reviews for
16
44
39
121
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ireland Ireland, Ireland
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

Worst hotel experience of my life. The rooms were stuffy and dated, staircase was creaky and noisey. Wifi was appallingly bad, charged 4 pounds a day and timed out about every 10 minutes and you have to log back in again. No air con in the rooms. Curtains weren't big enough for the windows so had light beaming in every night for the entire stay. TV not working for the final night. Breakfast service was a shambles. Completely overpriced. Appallingly bad. Do not stay here!

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank May0ro0se999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartReading, General Manager at Quality Hotel Reading, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
I am sorry that on this occasion you were disappointed with your stay at The Quality Hotel Reading.
I treat all feedback with the utmost seriousness and will investigate your comments.
Please feel free to contact me should you wish to discuss further.

Kind Regards
Stuart Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Reading hotels

Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel stinks of curry. The rooms are clean but tired and dated. The receptionist could not have been more rude when we had an issue with room service payment. The location is good and central but I would rather stay somewhere pleasant and pay for the taxi!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolineBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartReading, General Manager at Quality Hotel Reading, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
I am sorry to hear that you did not find the service at The Quality Hotel Reading up to your expectations. We pride ourselves on our staff training, so this is something i will be looking into personally.
Please feel free to contact me should you wish to discuss further

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

Smells of curry everywhere, prob due to curry house being part of hotel. Dark, dated corridors, no life, dated dark rooms, no aircon, claustrophobic feeling. Really nowhere near holiday inn standards. Felt like I was in a sweaty dated Parisienne budget hotel....could not wait to leave. No water in room, cheap tea condiments, basic of basic.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MikesRealReviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartReading, General Manager at Quality Hotel Reading, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at The Quality Hotel in Reading. I will look into the comments you have made.
Please feel free to contact me should you wish to discuss further.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

hot smelly stalethe worst hotel ive ever stayed in rooms was stuffy and dark long corridors no lift as the restaurant was an indian the smell of last nights curry at breakfast was awful even our bathroom stank of spices really cant say anything good except for its central location but so is the railway station and i wouldnt want to sleep there either really glad to check out

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeryljohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartReading, General Manager at Quality Hotel Reading, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review and am sorry you did not enjoy your stay at The Quality Hotel in Reading.

Please contact me should you wish to discuss further.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I stayed here overnight after landing in London and taking the bus to Reading before taking a train the next morning. Then we stayed again a week later when heading back to Heathrow. My Dad and I thought the staff were lovely, and very attentive. The Indian restaurant in the hotel is fantastic - best lamb curry either one of us have ever had. The service in the restaurant is also amazing. Both nights we stayed and ate there, the restaurant completely sold out. The hotel was also sold out one of the nights.

The hotel rooms are spacious and clean. I didn't see any mold. I also didn't think the rooms smelled like curry. My only complaint would be that the hotel is very old and the pipes are not perfect. My Dad's room was very hot on our first night there. Mine was just fine. Then on our return trip, we both had hot rooms. Not because of the weather! It rained all day and was chilly. It is because the pipes are so hot. You could put your hand on the cold water faucets and they were scalding hot. I was worried about taking a shower in the morning, but once I ran the water for a couple of minutes, it did turn cold. The water in the toilet was also scalding hot.

Not enough cons to ruin my stay. I quite liked the hotel, and the staff, and the location is perfect. There are shops and lots of restaurants just a short walk through the alley behind the hotel. There is also a great little used record store directly across the street from the hotel.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JDS18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StuartReading, General Manager at Quality Hotel Reading, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words. They are much appreciated and my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Quality Hotel in Reading.
I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Stuart Hall
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Where do I start?? Firstly as soon as you walk through the doors your greeted by the smell of spices and curry! This smell continues to intensify as the evening goes on making its peak at around 2am! I hear you ask why?? Because the hotel is situated on top of a curry house that is owned by the hotel and uses this as its bar area! It's buzzing! If Yankee Candles made a curry smelling Candle, they would call it the Quality Inn Reading! The room was heavily stained everywhere, even in personal places! The chair in the room had more stains than fabric. The windows never opened and the room had no air conditioning, which meant you couldn't even get fresh air to rid the smell of curry! There was damp on the window sills, and damp in the bathroom. Quite frankly I wouldn't let my dog stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Labradoodle2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.1 mi away
Mercure George Hotel Reading
0.2 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.4 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Great Expectations Hotel & Bar
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
Hillingdon Prince Hotel
#15 of 31 in Reading
3.5 of 5 bubbles 921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Hotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Hotel Reading

Property: Quality Hotel Reading
Address: 4-8 Duke Street, Reading RG1 4RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Hotel Reading 3*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel situated in the quaint riverside district of Reading and right in the centre close to the Oracle Shopping centre and Rail Station ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal County Reading
Hotel Royal County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing