We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Customer Care - Excellent Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of All Bar One Reading

All Bar One Reading
Ranked #118 of 610 Restaurants in Reading
Price range: $5 - $19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Wine Bar, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: All Bar One Reading is a stylish city bar where you can catch up with friends, unwind after work or simply find a sophisticated space to indulge in an excellent selection of food.Within easy reach of Riverside, Forbury Square and the Oracle Shopping Centre, All Bar One Reading is the perfect place to meet up with friends or unwind with work colleagues. Of all the bars in Reading, we've got the right blend of food, drink and atmosphere at any time of day.
Canutells
Level Contributor
44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Outstanding Customer Care - Excellent Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

We have visited All Bar One in Reading Berkshire a few times now, not as often as we would like as we live in Menorca and only manage to return to the UK about twice a year. We have visited the establishment again recently and we were very impressed with the food, it exceeded our expectations, my rib eye steak was cooked perfectly. We have visited many restaurants in London over the last few visits and it is fair to say that here was the best. The manager Tom and all the staff here are always been pleasant, they even remember what we drink, very impressive. One member of the team, Chelsea, is outstanding in her attitude and customer care, a real asset to the Company. Our thanks to all at the All Bar One, Reading.

Michael & Ellen

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank chepasbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    89
    46
    29
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
284 reviews
230 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“expensive wine......”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2013

We went in here with the intention of having an evening meal, but we were so shocked that 2 glasses of wine (one white, one red, and neither were anything fancy) cost us £14 that we left and went elsewhere. I know wine is quite expensive when you eat out - but this was taking the p*ss.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank thelittlecarrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Awful service, bad food and dirty place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

Been visiting this place ever since Oracle opened 14 years ago and its never been so bad like All Bar One. When this was Santa Fe that was best place in whole Reading. Service now extremely bad, guy served us twice in last 2 month having toothpick in his mouth, treat customers like we are his mates from street, walking for hours around restaurant with that toothpick in his mouth. Tables very dirty, asked one of the girls to clean it for us. Even though bar was half empty it took her about 15min to come and she sprayed cleaning liquid from about half a metre above our table and lots of that stuff is gone in to our glasses and plates. She only cleaned middles section of table and rest was still dirty and sticky, floor full of food from previews people, cutlery on the floor and sitting next to window you can hardly see trough as windows were sooo dirty. Food arrived cold, beer at bar awful. Oracle should kick them out very sooooon. All people I know stoped going there as this is probably one of the worst places I been to and worst place in Reading. Very good location by canal but shame service is so bad.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Milan1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
179 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

Stopped here for food after meeting for a drink and nowhere else appealed. Two burgers and 5 tapas dishes all tasty and well cooked. Service was good but not great. Some of the more interesting beers were not on tap though which was a shame. Overall not bad and would be happy to return.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Moretea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sir Lowry's Pass, South Africa
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Busy night, but they pulled out all the stops”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Friday night in Reading at All Bar One is not quiet and romantic, but we fancied going there for the vibe. It was a lovely warm night and we wanted a table outside. Nothing available, but Darren (who is a rare find) managed to sort one out for us. His service was excellent and as always the meal very good and the wine also very good. They serve the red wine at room temperature and this makes a change from having to spend 10 mins warming the wine before it is drinkable. Great atmosphere, good food and excellent service from Darren.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leigh_Ann_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed All Bar One Reading also viewed

Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to All Bar One Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing