We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A BIT OF A DISAPPOINTMENT” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Southcote Beefeater

The Southcote Beefeater
Ranked #177 of 610 Restaurants in Reading
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“A BIT OF A DISAPPOINTMENT”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

Service was good a bit slow but this was down to the football just finishing and a sudden rush for meals ,So made the food order slow .The food was of the usual Beafeater standard and I mean standard !!! We all had steak and my wife and I wondered how they knew which steak order was for who !!! We have the oposite cooking request hers medium well mine medium rare ( the rarer the better ) they were both cooked the same I dont like tough over cooked food and certainly didnt ask for it !!! also the usual great tasting flat mushrooms were dry and cold leading me to beleive thay had been cooked some time !!. Not much of the food to get wrong the chips were GREAT !!!!! The beer was great and the wine aceptable

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank guliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    98
    47
    27
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
292 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Good speedy lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

Ordered two starters and a diet coke. Service was polite and efficient. Just what I needed. Prawn cocktail and steak skewers both were well presented.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ianbeale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,112 reviews
690 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3,290 helpful votes
“Poor lunch deal.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Came in yesterday during break from work. Used the daytime menu. Very bland plate of chilli rice and a few tacos. Worst part £2.50+ for two small thin pieces of over toasted garlic bread. Enquired whether price could be right only tone told that the main dish is discounted so the bread is expensive to make up for it. Won't be back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HillyCirencester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
207 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good choice for drinks and food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014

We came back to this restaurant to try its summer setting. It was a pleasant surprise as we could seat outside. I ordered the beers at the bar and brought them to our outside table. Next we ordered at the bar some food, the code and chips (replacing chips with mashed potatoes for my wife and Lemon & Herb Tilapia for me. They were brought at the table by a waiter. Th code was tasty, but the surprise was tilapia, a white fish fillet is brushed with lemon, garlic & herbs.

We will be back sometimes!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank VMB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely food and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

We ate here as we were staying at a local hotel. The food was as you would expect from a Beefeater. It was nicely cooked and there was plenty of choice at reasonable prices.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank pickles136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Southcote Beefeater also viewed

 

Been to The Southcote Beefeater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing