We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Left feeling hungry and poor”

YO! Sushi - House of Fraser Reading
Ranked #180 of 621 Restaurants in Reading
Price range: $19 - $29
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Takeout
Marlow
Level Contributor
29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Left feeling hungry and poor”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

The food itself was all very good but I was disappointed that water was charged on top and the various plates were very expensive for the portion size. We really enjoyed all the dishes we ate especially the "gold" specials but these were £6 per plate and no more than 3 or 4 mouthfuls when sharing between 2. We stopped eating when we knew we were getting close to £20 a head but to be honest we left hungry. The food was good but it's just overpriced which is a real shame.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beninmarlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    39
    16
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
134 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Ok sushi”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

There was a much better, quality, price and service than Yo! Unfortunately its closed. The food isn't bad here, i go for the purple plates which aren't cheap but add a great variety.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank backpackerfriendly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Love Sushi”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Great, fresh, great selection and good value. Sushi at its best. Staff are really polite and friendly and will do anything to help you.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lollyjampot82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“very disappointed”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

I used to take my children to Selfridges in London Oxford road or Harvey Nick in Knightbridges to have sushi - was over the moon that Yo finally came to Reading - House of Fraser. Went on the second day and was very disappointed that the chef was so un-professional!
The sushi was loose, fell apart before it was placed on the conveyer bell. Went back to try on and off a few more times - not much has changed...presentation of the food is still no good!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank kangaroopee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
438 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Expensive not that good sushi, but good service!”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Prices are quite high for this not so tasy sushi. Sushirolls are just tastless and portion sizes are quite small. Service is quite fast and polite.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlobalTraveller81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed YO! Sushi - House of Fraser Reading also viewed

Reading, Berkshire
Reading, Berkshire
 
Reading, Berkshire
Reading, Berkshire
 

Been to YO! Sushi - House of Fraser Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing