We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caprice Restaurant

Caprice Restaurant
Ranked #82 of 610 Restaurants in Reading
Price range: $19 - $31
Cuisines: British, Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A relaxed restaurant awarded 2 AA Rosettes, Caprice Restaurant serves exceptional modern British cuisine. Set within the new AA Merit, 4-star Holiday Inn Reading, a calming al fresco terrace offsets the sleek, glass-enveloped dining room. A refined selection on the Caprice menu draws on the best of the season's produce, with classic flavour combinations served alongside wonderfully creative dishes. For a delectable taste of Berkshire, also enjoy traditional afternoon tea, filled with mouth-watering scones, finger sandwiches, delicious homemade cakes and freshly brewed tea or coffee. For extra indulgence, add a flute of prosecco or champagne. Enjoy a wide selection of quality bar meals including extensive authentic Indian and Thai menu at Caprice in Wokingham. The plush Monty's Lounge Bar boasts floor to ceiling windows, ideal for informal meetings and intimate evenings alike. Enjoy heady nightcaps, or your favourite cocktail, while enjoying music by Caprice's resident pianist.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2014

I was a little dubious when we decided to eat at the hotel. I was wrong. The food was fantastic, the service is even better, and I'd recommend it to anyone! The three course set menu is a bargain as well. Very impressed.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JenA83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    12
    9
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Pleasantly surprised with our first visit here for Sunday lunch. Lovely ambience, with impeccable service from Animesh our waiter. Our food was of a very high quality especially the Roast Beef sirloin. We look forward to a return visit.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
188 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 351 helpful votes
“Excellent service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

We chose the Caprice because it was on our Tastecard list for Reading. Before booking, I read the menus online and I found the dishes very appealing. After our meal, I can say that I was positively surprised by the quality of the food and service. If you are using a Tastecard, you can choose 3 courses from the main menu or go for one of the set menus. We decided to order from the main menu. We had scallops as starters, which were nice but rather on the small side. Our main course was the fillet steak, which was very tasty, nicely presented, and perfectly cooked. For dessert, I chose the Peach Schnapps Soufflé with Poached Pear and Crème Fraîche Ice Cream, which was absolutely delicious, especially the ice cream. The service was excellent, very attentive and very friendly. You also get free parking when dining at the Caprice.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lappini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A little "hit and miss"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Friendly and accommodating staff although a little inexperienced. Had a wonderful starter (smoked trout mousse) but the meal went downwards from there. Ordered chicken stuffed with haggis where the accompanying "neeps and tatties" turned out as carrots with mashed potatoes (which doesn't fit the common definition). The chocolate cheese cake served for dessert was a hard, square brick which the cafeteria at IKEA could have done better.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank MortenUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Great value three course meal. I had the Indian selection, my wife had the English choices. Not often do you see gravlax salmon starter, then rib eye steak, as part of a set £24 menu. All the food was well cooked and presented. Certainly one of the best hotel restaurants I've eaten in. Also AT LAST a hotel bar that had some decent beer - bottled London Pride - rather than gassy draft beers / lagers. Polite and prompt service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caprice Restaurant also viewed

Winnersh, Wokingham
Reading, Berkshire
 
Earley, Wokingham
 

Been to Caprice Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing