We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely but needs updation”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bill's Restaurant

Bill's Restaurant
Ranked #28 of 614 Restaurants in Reading
Price range: $13 - $26
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A very pretty location, Bill's Reading restaurant occupies St Mary's Church House. This elegant Georgian building makes a fabulous restaurant and has become a very popular destination, from breakfast time, all the way through to dinner.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Lovely but needs updation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We went for breakfast at weekend & we get there around 11 o clock & it was nice warm environment, didn't like the interior though some parts were really good.
We ordered the food & it was not long enough and it served, hats off to quick service.
Food was so yummy. We were sitting by the window & view wasn't good as you can see graves in cemetery. Prices are good. Overall experience we will surely visit again :-)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
8 Thank immyleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    345
    162
    60
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berkshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice food, pleasant staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Had lunch in Bill's today with a girlfriend. Queued but only for 5 mins, got table upstairs and Restaurant Manager downstairs kept a look out for my friend's arrival. Beer battered Haddock and skinny chips were all good, followed by brown bread ice-cream and coffee. Service was good even though the place was packed, waitress was friendly and pleasant. Prices a little high perhaps, for two mains, two puds, two coffees, and two glasses of house white, £25 a head? perhaps not! (Only one problem, being over 60, and getting a little hard of hearing, it was difficult to hear my friend amongst all the background noise, I need a quiet room! Anyone else have that problem in Restaurants?!)

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lottie42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Disappointing but some good points”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

Nice cosy interior and staff were welcoming and helpful. Ordered mustard mash ham egg with hollandaise. When arrived was swimming in a pool of melted butter. The Hollandaise had split completely. I advised the staff and asked them to replace it with the grilled vine tomatoes on ciabatta. Staff responded well. It was a surprise however that the kitchen had decided to serve the first dish given its obvious problem. The vine tomatoes were okay but only just grilled enough to not be too hard. They were served on fairly small pieces of (too) crispy ciabatta with a lot of rocket. Pesto was good. Had a large pot of Assam tea which was very generous. Ordered toast but the accompanying butter was in a hot dish and was melting when it arrived at the table. Three large jars of jam and marmalade were provided but there was only a spoon in one of the jars. The jam had pieces of butter in as people had obviously used their knives to serve themselves. Overall was a disappointing experience but I noticed some of the simpler things people were having looked okay. I would probably stick to the simple bacon and/or sausage sandwiches and will probably give it one more try.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stephengk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Came here to celebrate a birthday and the food was fantastic. The menu is simple but delicious. Ordered bruschetta to start followed by mussels in a creamy garlic sauce. The deserts are to die for, i would recommend the doughnuts with the chocolate sauce! Yum! Recently went back there for lunch after a busy day shopping and was again happy with the meal.
The rustic decor is inviting and i enjoyed looking at the produce that is for sale in the restaurant. Planning to go back soon! Would highly recommend.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RedRoses23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Reliable and enjoyable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

I have been to Bill's twice in recent months. Once for brunch with friends, and once to treat myself to lunch whilst out shopping. The staff are friendly, and the menu is good, covering breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinners. It is full of little twists on the ordinary that make the food exciting rather than everyday, and is reasonably priced versus other similar establishments such as Jamie's Italian.

My full english breakfast was delicious, and generously sized. To wash it down, I had a peach, raspberry and mango juice, which is refreshing and a must have for any visit to Bill's. When I had lunch there yesterday, I went for the juice once more, to wash down my burger and fries, and marmalade brown bread ice cream. The burger was great, even without the addition of extra toppings, and I ate it all up. The icecream was subtle, and the warm chocolate sauce it is served with was a nice finishing touch. I would definitely go to Bill's again, and recommend it, both on my own experience and having observed how politely the staff treat their customers.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank berkshirefoodie79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bill's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Bill's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing