We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than I expected for £60 a night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Better than I expected for £60 a night”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I think we had a good deal - if you are going to the Jazz Cafe round the corner, it costs £60 room only for the night.

Perfect for our 'do' as we could easily walk home when we were tired. The room was bigger and better than I expected and had the most amazing black out curtains - I woke at 10am and thought it was the middle of the night!

Heaving on the day we were there, because of a rugby special, but pretty quiet none-the-less. A comfortable mattress and a nice modern bathroom.

We didn't have breakfast, but the buffet we saw laid out looked very appetising. Would have been expensive though, costing an extra £22 for 2 of us.

Quick, friendly and efficient check in/out and loads of convenient car parking.

Room Tip: Room 218 is reasonably well away from foot traffic, but does have an adjoining door which is not ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ripleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to hear you had a pleasant stay and that you found our reception service, quick friendly and efficient.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    335
    121
    36
    7
See reviews for
119
188
32
312
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Our team stayed overnight for a business trip and the hotel was perfectly fit for purpose. Staff were very accommodating and the entire hotel is very clean. Rooms are a good size but the beds are a little lumpy. Food was of a high standard, particularly the buffet (lunch and breakfast). The a la carte lunch at The Cafe was very good too, however the champagne bar and restaurant was quite disappointing despite a promising menu. Other bonuses include free parking, wifi, gym, and full service spa. I would recommend express checkout for a more efficient service for guests - credit card details are provided upfront after all. Those wishing more character should look else where. I personally felt the hotel was good for business stays and would not hesistant to stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank strawberry_501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review.

We appreciate all your comments and hope to welcome you back to the Hotel for another visit very soon.

Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed here on Friday while attending a function in the adjoining conference centre, which I attend annually.

My room on 4th floor was very spacious and well appointed, although the free did seem to reset and log me out a couple of times.

Dinner went very well and as I needed to get an early train I went for breakfast at 7.30am. Plenty of food out on the self service buffet but the bacon was all shrivelled and looked as if it had been under the lamp far too long. Fried eggs only marginally better. Didn't have time to make a fuss as I'd booked a cab (which took me round the houses and i reckon overcharged me but that's a different story!).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rutland1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are pleased to hear you had a pleasant stay at the Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading and that the function at the Royal Berkshire Conference Centre went well.

We do hope to welcome you back to the Hotel again in the near future.

Kind regards
Suzanne
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

a huge rambling hotel with good access to the M4 and A33 - next to the Madjeski Stadium , a good sized bar, a cafe / restaurant, a restaurant and spa.

good sized, well fitted rooms

free wifi everywhere with no fuss.

friendly and helpful staff

a good sized car park

and yet...

I've stayed here 4 times now (due to the closeness of an office) and every time I say it'll be the last stay.

there's nothing wrong with the hotel at all, it's just.....

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Just the one night in prepartion for the Reading Half. They arecertainly capitalising on the event ith a pata dinner costing £15 pounds on a help yourself basis.. The rooms are good and clean and the food especially breakfast was not bad. Definately overpriced for what it is. The bonus great if your doing the reading half as immdiately next to the stadium and breakfat and dinner is setup for the event. Also nice to have a showere and rest afterwards.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for your review.

The Reading Half Marathon takes place every year at the Madejski Football Stadium and Green Park Industrial estate.

Our hotel is the closest hotel for this event and with this in mind we provide extra benefits for guests attending the Marathon, for example a later departure time of 2pm so guest can relax after the race and have a shower, car parking complimentary, extended Breakfast times and a Pasta Buffet alternative in our restaurant the night prior.

We are pleased to hear you benefited from these added extras.

We look forward to welcoming you to the Hotel in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
somerset
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here for a football game 8 march 2013, well signposted ,good parking. On arrival the reception and checking in fast and polite very helpful indeed, we had a Junior suite nice large room view of car park, tv, free wifi, tea and coffee facilities dressing gowns slippers and ironing board along with a built in safe, i would like to make this clear, the bed was the most comfortable bed i have ever slept in including my own, in fact the 2 nights i stayed there wass the best i have slept in ages.
The buffett Breakfast offered a large variety along with scandinavian types and full English and ws of the highest quailty, the staff where extremely helpfull and polite, the bar can be busy at weekends in the football season so be warned but only before and just after, i would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone , we very much enjoyed our stay here and certinally will use them again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Readingfc2105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review.

We are so pleased to hear you had a pleasant stay here at the Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading and we hope to welcome you back again very soon.

Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
279 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Had visited this hotel when it first opened to see a re-creation of 1966 footie match between England & Germany and had a wonderful time. The match was amazing and the hotel being fairly new at that time was stunning so we eagerly anticipated our return last November (even though we couldn't obtain tickets for the ManU v Reading match). Room was great and loved having the use of the Club lounge but thought the hotel looked a little tired. On the first evening my husband went to a school reunion so after a glass of wine I thought I'd have a snack in the Atrium bar. Bar was fairly full as it was a friday eve but even so the service was appalling and being a lone woman of a certain age probably didn't help. I eventually received a totally stale egg mayo sandwich & stale crisps which was virtually flung at me by the waiter. Even the two Reading players on the next table thought it was rude. The food was inedible so I decided to retreat back to my room to watch T.V. and catch up with Facebook via the free Wifi. The following eve we watched the match in the bar which was empty and had a meal at le Cafe. Have to say this meal was great (delicious duck confit for me; fish curry for the better half) and the staff placed us on a table in front of the t.v. screen. They couldn't do enought for us. So to conclude we're looking forward to returning to see a future Reading game and still rate the hotel highly but the bar staff need to get their act together (service had also been poor on our first afternoon).

Room Tip: Corner suites have great views but are a little chilly in winter. It's worth paying extra for t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank westie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review.

We appreciate all comments and I have passed your feedback onto our Food & Beverage Manager.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,760 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
2.3 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
2.5 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading

Property: Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
Address: Madejski Stadium | Junction 11, M4, Reading RG2 0FL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Reading
#7 Business Hotel in Reading
#7 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#9 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just off the M4 motorway at junction 11, the Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading is ideally located for those who want to visit the wonderful countryside within Royal Berkshire. The hotel also forms part of the impressive Madejski Stadium Complex, incorporating the Royal Berkshire Conference Centre, and home to both Reading Football Club and London Irish RFC. Nearby we have Legoland, Windsor Castle and for those who enjoy the races, Ascot, Windsor and Newbury are all within easy reach. Other areas of interest include, Henley, Oxford and London is only 20 minutes away by train.The hotel has leisure facilities which include a swimming pool and gym. The hotel also offers complimentary Wi-Fi and car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Madejski Reading
Reading Millennium Madejski Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing