We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
Ranked #8 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic staff”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We stayed in a junior suite, just myself and my wife, it was very nice and spacious with all that you would want for a long weekend.
The food was of a good quality and at a reasonable price.
The hotel is airy with plenty of seating and has a nice atmospher.
The staff are excellent and really do make you feel welcome.

You wont go far wrong staying here, we will and would look forward to going back again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your TripAdvisor Review.

We are pleased to hear you found the room spacious and the food in our restaurants of good quality and reasonably priced.

The Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading is proud of the quality of staff we have and are very happy to hear they made you welcome throughout your stay.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

769 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    270
    335
    121
    36
    7
See reviews for
119
188
32
312
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Room 336 is a large room with no outside windows. The non openingwindows it has look out into a dark lifeless atrium. So you are left to the noisey air conditioning to provide an enjoyable atmosphere; it failed. Woke the next day restless and dried out. Who designs these lifeless hotels?
The mini bar fridge sits in the corner, it's sad contents being just 2 bottles of complementary water. This hotel room would be ideal for people coming out of solitary confinement who don't quite have the confidence of mixing with the outside world yet.
Good points. Decent breakfast served, quality sausages, plenty of staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the outside. Take a toolkit to open the window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave_from_the_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your review.

Here at the Millennium Madejski Hotel we have a number of internal facing bedrooms. These look onto our Atrium Bar.

All of our rooms have Fridges which guests can use for their own requirements. The hotel provides complimentary Mineral Water in these fridges for all guests. If guests require further Refreshments this can be ordered via room service and delivered to your room.

Thank you again for you review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
144 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Perfect:
- location,
- parking,
- many types of bear in the bar,
- cleaness,
- really green park with rabbits and ducks around.
Ok:
- rooms
- public transport connection
Average:
- price was bit expensive
- pretty far away to Reading

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Konstantin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review

The Millennium Madejski Hotel is located 2 minutes from Junction 11 M4 and about 10 Minutes drive into the centre of Reading.

We have over 2000 car parking spaces outside the Hotel which are complimentary and provide a Park & Ride bus into the Town centre.

Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed here for one night last week in a family suite. The room was spacious, with 2 double beds and plenty of space for a cot. The staff were courteous, but there may be a bit of an issue with bookings as there was confusion over how many "ask alfred" packs should have been in the rooms and when we went to breakfast and it was not down that we had already paid. These issues were quickly sorted out, and the girls were really pleased with their bears, jelly beans and ice creams!

We had dinner at "le cafe" which was very nice, and my girls devoured their bolognese faster than I have seen them eat before!

The pool was very nice, although the jacuzzi was a bit temperamental!

Really good...we would stay again. Although not on a match day as some of the roads get closed at kick off time

Room Tip: The ones on the outside have lovely big windows, and family suites are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudeR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review.

We are pleased to hear your family had a Great stay at our Hotel and that your Children enjoyed the Ask Alfred Package.

On Match days the roads are closed for 1/2 hr after the end of play to safely allow the spectators to leave the stadium. There will be a lot of traffic, before and after the game, but this should be the only road closures guests should encounter.

We hope to welcome you back to the Hotel again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I was here for a couple of days for business and had a very nice time - rooms spacious, food really enjoyable and staff courteous - i didn't use the health club or pool but the facilities looked very nice. I would imagine if you were there when Reading were at home it would be a nightmare, the hotel is attached to the football ground - hence the name !!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimmi40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your review.

The Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading is pleased to hear you found the rooms spacious and the staff courteous. We are very proud of our staff and the quality of service they provide.

Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Lovely large and spotlessly clean rooms. Had a great nights sleep in a good comfy bed. If I stayed again I would ask for a room on the outside of the building as these have floor to ceiling windows and let the natural light in. The one I was in faced the bar area and was pretty dark.
Try the set menu at £30 I found this great value for money.

Room Tip: choose a room with a view not of the bar area
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea2470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review.

We are pleased you had a pleasant stay and that you found our Hotel spotlessly clean.

The Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading looks forward to welcome you to the Hotel again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Was staying here for a couple of nights as I was attending a conference nearby.

It's not a bad hotel by any means, but a few issues mean I can't give it anymore than 3 stars.

Firstly, on check in, they knew I was coming but hadn't got a room allocated to me, but fair play to them, a manager came over an allocated me a suite which was a nice upgrade.

The aircon/heating system in the room was disabled, so instead they had a couple of convector heaters, one in the bedroom and one in the suite room, which took a while to warm the place up considering the weather. I also felt uncomfortable leaving these on when not in the room, so every time I returned to a cold room.

I put the kettle on for a cup of tea and the load of the kettle and two convector heaters caused the circuit breaker to trip, although again, the staff were very good and came up very quickly to reset the breaker.

The bedroom decor was fine but felt the suite room was starting to look very dated, presume this hasn't been refurbed since the stadium/hotel was built. In partcular, the curtain in the suite were not of great quality, didn't join up so left gaps between each pair if curtains and were attached on wire rails that were cheap and tacky.

The Cafe restaurant was fine, although a bit expensive, dread to think how much the fine dining restaurant and champagne bar costs, although I felt the hotel bar wasn't too expensive (by hotel standards).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baggiewhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MadejskiHotel, Manager at Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your review.

We are very sorry to hear your Air Conditioning unit in your room was out of order for your stay. An engineer had been called, but sadly on this occasion the fault could not be rectified. This is a very rare occurrence and we are sorry for any inconvenience caused.

Thank you also for your review on our Corner Suites, this has been passed on to my General Manager.

Our 2AA Rosette Award Wining Cilantro Fine Dining restaurant is open on Tuesday to Saturday evenings for guests. For an amazing 7 Course Gourmand menu the cost per person is approximately £49.50.

Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
2.3 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11
3.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
2.5 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading

Property: Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
Address: Madejski Stadium | Junction 11, M4, Reading RG2 0FL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#6 Family Hotel in Reading
#7 Business Hotel in Reading
#9 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just off the M4 motorway at junction 11, the Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading is ideally located for those who want to visit the wonderful countryside within Royal Berkshire. The hotel also forms part of the impressive Madejski Stadium Complex, incorporating the Royal Berkshire Conference Centre, and home to both Reading Football Club and London Irish RFC. Nearby we have Legoland, Windsor Castle and for those who enjoy the races, Ascot, Windsor and Newbury are all within easy reach. Other areas of interest include, Henley, Oxford and London is only 20 minutes away by train.The hotel has leisure facilities which include a swimming pool and gym. The hotel also offers complimentary Wi-Fi and car parking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, World Independent Hotel Promotion, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millennium Madejski Reading
Reading Millennium Madejski Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing