We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing customer service”
Review of pentahotel Reading

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
pentahotel Reading
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing customer service”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We booked for a 3 night stay as we were visiting my partners family and attending a party, we were travelling down by car from Scotland. We left scotland at 4 in the morning as we have an 8 week old baby and were being prepared for if we had to stop alot, but in the contrary we only had to stop once which meant we were arriving in reading at about 11.30, we phoned the hotel at 10.30 to ask what is the earliest we could check in as we were arriving sooner than expected the receptionist on the phone was really helpful and told us we could check in as soon as we arrived as she would instruct housekeeping to get the cot in the room for our baby, when we arrived at 11.25 we checked in straight away which only took 2 minutes we were right up to our room which was located ideally and was very quiet at night (I had requested a quiet room after reading other reviews)

The only gripe I have about the hotel is the parking, you have to park in q park but to make the most of the discount you have to leave your car in there for over 10 hours. When driving past the hotel on one of the bypasses i noticed they have an underground parking lot, they should open it up to guests instead of loading for lorries.

The room was clean, tidy and the staff were all very accommodating

I would definitely return to the hotel when we go back down if I can get it for the same price I did, £88.50 for 3 nights through booking.com

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tess1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    927
    793
    332
    133
    63
See reviews for
160
644
111
982
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We stayed here as a mid stop for Ascot races after reading some of the reviews i was abit apprehensive but i dont know why at all checking in and out no problem very pleasent staff very helpful we stopped on the fifth floor no problems lifts x2 quick and easily accessible rooms superb very modern everything you could need beds very comfortable designer toiletries bathroom very nice. No loud noises like other people had said Breakfast was unreal the choice was endless brilliant all in all a fab stay and will stay here again without a doubt

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louphil145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

I stayed here on a business trip and I'm due to stay again in a week or so.
I was in a group of 4 and only 1 of the party had a decent nights sleep as the rest of us had a room by the ring road. The air con was worse than useless and appears to have been so for some time according to comments on here. The road noise was so bad, one may as well slept outside! One of my colleagues asked for a move to a quieter room. the receptionist lied and said the only quiet rooms were on the 6th (smoking) floor.
All that said, the rooms are very spacious with comfortable beds and lovely bathrooms. Crisp white linen and soft pillows. Lovely toiletries and fluffy white towels all made for a very comfortable stay.
I thought the bar drinks were reasonably priced considering it's a hotel. Cocktails are mostly £7.
I felt the decor was rather pretentious but that's just my opinion, others may like it.
The hotel runs on minimal staff. The breakfast is buffet service with barely anyone around. One of my colleagues asked for an omelette on the first morning to be told she couldn't have one. After speaking to the manager a couple of days later, it transpired that she could have one but the restaurant staff didn't know. How could they not know? it's their job after all.
The hotel is really on the wrong side of the town centre. the next door neighbour is Argos which says a lot. We saw a large number of homeless types, some of whom were hassling hotel guests for money whilst they were having a cigarette outside the hotel.
I'm already booked here for another stay and have mixed feelings. I wouldn't like to be staying here alone due to the locality of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leedslass01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

I travel sometimes with work and used to like staying at the penta.... this stay was particularly bad.

Arrived at the hotel at 10:30pm after a long day in the office. Something seemed wrong at check in when staff kept checking pieces of paper and a manager had to be called. Following a LONG wait for my room I was given a key and told I was on floor 6. Only to arrive in an asthmatics hell of a whole floor devoted to smoking. the Air con didn't work and the bed rocked, the room was really old and tired for £120 per night! What happened to my pre-booked non smoking room?? Despite quickly phoning back downstairs, apparently the hotel was full and I couldn't be moved this night and I would be moved the next day. By morning my chest was wheezing and I stank. Great first night stay.

The second night was not as bad, the room I was moved to was much nicer.

Checkout - Seriously bad computer system if it took the average of 10 mins per guest to check out. I was unfortunately stuck in a queue and it took me 45 minutes to check out with no apologies about the previous night from the reception.

Stay here if you want antiquated smoke smelling rooms with terrible check in and out times and no apologies!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mistykerry8015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

If you looking for Malmasion style but at a more affordable price this is for you! What a great location and cool accommodation for a romantic and slick weekend. I travel all over Europe and I feel this hotel has very good facilities, quality restaurant, and a real urban cool feel! Yep, one of the lifts didn't work, the east European staff can't smile and the car park is a 5 minute walk but overall to be in the centre of a major town with excellent accommodation I'd highly recommend it!

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cucciolo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

This hotel was suggested to me because it was in close proximity to a meeting. This hotel is awful. First I called the hotel to tell them I was arriving in the morning after flying from the US all night. They said they would accommodate me with a room in the morning. I arrived at 8:45 and got a room at 11am. Yes it was still the morning but I didn't want to rest in the lobby for over 2 hrs. Plus the desk clerk gave me major attitude. Not the warm welcome I was hoping for. Next no air was coming out of the vent in the room. NOTHING. No even a fan. Only one elevator was working and it stayed broken the 3 days I was there. It doesn't take 3 days to fix an elevator. Finally I find out why the front desk clerk had attitude because basically everyone at this hotel didn't care about their guests. Never again will I stay there.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

A one night business trip, and we arrived quite late - about 9pm. By the time we'd checked in (a little slow) and waited for the staff to find us non-smoking rooms (unexpected to be told they might only have smoking rooms available!) we were disappointed to find there were no free tables in the restaurant (which is quite small). It felt a little late to be searching for an alternative in Reading so we had a bar snack, which was very good. Breakfast is a fixed price of £15, which felt expensive - a buffet that wasn't as good as most of the other hotels I've visited, and no alternative pricing option if all you want is a slice of toast. But the waiting and reception staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were very good and everything was fresh and well presented.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caphx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
988 reviews
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
972 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,791 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Reading

Property: pentahotel Reading
Address: Oxford Road, Reading RG1 7RH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#9 Family Hotel in Reading
#10 Business Hotel in Reading
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What makes us a cut above the rest is the way we do things. We have designed the pentahotel Reading to be simple and pentastylish, to provide excellent value for money, create a pentafun and relaxed space with service that is welcoming and personal. All of this not only makes us the newest hotel in Reading, but also your neighbourhood lifestyle hotel. The perfect place to eat, drink and relax is the pentalounge, our „lifestyle lobby“ that multi-functions as a reception, bar, and café, perfect as a neighbourhood hub. No matter what brings you to Reading, there is always time to have a look around. There are the medieval Abbey ruins, historic rivers and of course the majestic Thames Valley countryside to inspire you. If that doesn’t tickle your fancy you could also try out some of the local restaurants or pubs or the fabulous shopping at the Oracle and Broad Street malls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your pentahotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reading Penta Hotel
Renaissance Reading
Renaissance Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing