We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, some minor irritations”
Review of pentahotel Reading

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
pentahotel Reading
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 8, 2012

A one night business trip, and we arrived quite late - about 9pm. By the time we'd checked in (a little slow) and waited for the staff to find us non-smoking rooms (unexpected to be told they might only have smoking rooms available!) we were disappointed to find there were no free tables in the restaurant (which is quite small). It felt a little late to be searching for an alternative in Reading so we had a bar snack, which was very good. Breakfast is a fixed price of £15, which felt expensive - a buffet that wasn't as good as most of the other hotels I've visited, and no alternative pricing option if all you want is a slice of toast. But the waiting and reception staff were friendly and helpful, the rooms were very good and everything was fresh and well presented.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caphx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,469)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,207 - 2,213 of 2,469 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

A friend was over from the US at a conference in Reading and we had a night free so decided to meet at the Pentahotel. Advised parking in the Q car Park in Chatham Street works well, is a short walk and costs £10 a night with the voucher supplied by reception. Check in was a bit laboured with one girl answering phones and checking in all at once. A great performance but when the line gets 6 deep you expect someone else to turn up and help, which they did eventually. We asked for a quiet room and got 432. This is at the back facing a side door to Argos, more of which later.

With a quick change we met our friend in the Panta Lounge. This is quite nicely done with comfy sofas, tables and chairs and a great pool table. The one beer on tap is Becks Vier but that suited me fine. With a couple of drinks we relaxed and then wandered into their restaurant. No one in there so we opted for a corner seat with the waitress, Kasha, doing a great job. We ordered our food and a bottle of a nice looking Barossa Shiraz. Very sorry we have run out of that but she brought a Harveys instead. This is the industrial grade mixture found at finger food parties and receptions - more than two glasses is more of an achievement than a pleasure. Kasha got the mood right and demonstrated her knowledge of wine offering an excellent Spanish merlot instead. It was simply great.

The menu is neither extensive nor expensive but what we had, calamari, lamb, burger were all exceptionally nicely done and well presented. The service was impeccable. So replete we went to bed. 432 is at the back away from the noisy ring road and noisier night time drunks outside. There is an air-con controller in the room but no air-con. If you switch the device on you will boil. The window opens a little way before the anti suicide cable restricts the airflow so be prepared for a hot night. Of course we don't know if it happens every night and it most certainly is not the fault of the hotel but ARGOS' burglar alarm going off at 4am was not at all welcome. £15 each for breakfast we felt was a bit steep so we wandered in search of something simpler which we found round the corner. We loved the slightly quirky decor and of course the excellent service we had throughout. We will definitely be coming back.

Room Tip: 432 was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichaelPDrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This hotel is somewhat different from many 4 star city centre hotels in that it’s neither impersonal nor uncaring as it treats customers as though they are cherished guests rather than a source of profit to be exploited wherever possible. Located a gentle 10 minute walk from the train station the Penta is a modern building having generously sized bedrooms that are ‘interestingly’ if not exactly restfully decorated, but this aside the bedrooms have comfortable extra-large king sized beds and bathrooms that would turn many hotel owners green with envy and which only the most difficult and pernickety guest would seek to complain about. Free Wi-Fi, free movies allow a good range of in-room entertainment. The dining room is equally effective at making guests feel comfortable and happy with the food on offer representing reasonable but not excellent value. An early morning flight stopped me from sampling the breakfast. Overall the Penta is a good hotel that is pleasantly different from the normal business hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip-from-spain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

This was booked for me through work so I didn't personally choose the hotel, however I was very happy with the choice that was made for me. The hotel was an easy ten minute walk from the train station. Check in was relatively quick and efficient. The room was to a high standard with the most enormous bed I have ever seen. The sheets and bedding were spotlessly clean too. However, on the downside, it was also the hardest bed I have ever been in. The room was also noisy as it was right overlooking the ringroad and also very very hot which we found out was because the air conditioning was broken. All this resulted in a rather restless nights sleep. The food in the restaurant was excellent, which was just as well as the service was very slow, it took 40 minutes from ordering our dessert to it arriving on the table. So if you are in a hurry I would go elsewhere, but if not then stick around because it was worth waiting for. All in all, despite the odd negative comment, it was a very nice hotel and I will be happy to stay there again when I return in November

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the ringroad
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

I had a course in Henley Business School and I chose this hotel. It has a nice location, very close to Reading centre and the staff are really helpful and cooperative. Just two minor things:
1- the room doesn't have a safe, so you have to use the safe box through the reception and there's 150 GBP fee if you loose the key.
2- Rooms don't have air condition, consider it if you are going in summer.
Overall it was good.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Osama_hr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Quite simply in terms of value for money this is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The room and bathroom were superb, modern decor, huge bed, monsoon shower, free wifi, free pay movies and Sky TV and also an entertainment hub for your laptop to play through the plasma TV. The bar area was really relaxed and the staff could not do enough to help you with any enquiries. The sooner this hotel chain open more hotels in the UK the better!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Mainze75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Stayed here with a friend after attending a function at the hotel. Room was lovely and clean, spacious and well designed. Headed out into the town centre for a night out and was walking distance from all the clubs and bars. Only fault was that they only provided one tiny bottle of water for a twin room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fuzzybuth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.7 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
1,908 reviews
0.3 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.3 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,048 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
0.5 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ibis Reading Centre
Ibis Reading Centre
#11 of 31 in Reading
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to pentahotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about pentahotel Reading

Address: Oxford Road, Reading RG1 7RH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#9 Family Hotel in Reading
#10 Business Hotel in Reading
#11 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range: $88 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — pentahotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 206
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
What makes us a cut above the rest is the way we do things. We have designed the pentahotel Reading to be simple and pentastylish, to provide excellent value for money, create a pentafun and relaxed space with service that is welcoming and personal. All of this not only makes us the newest hotel in Reading, but also your neighbourhood lifestyle hotel. The perfect place to eat, drink and relax is the pentalounge, our „lifestyle lobby“ that multi-functions as a reception, bar, and café, perfect as a neighbourhood hub. No matter what brings you to Reading, there is always time to have a look around. There are the medieval Abbey ruins, historic rivers and of course the majestic Thames Valley countryside to inspire you. If that doesn’t tickle your fancy you could also try out some of the local restaurants or pubs or the fabulous shopping at the Oracle and Broad Street malls. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your pentahotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Reading Penta Hotel
Renaissance Reading
Renaissance Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing