We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Much better than expected!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Much better than expected!”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I used to live in Reading andhad always thought the hotel looked quite 'tired' from the outside. A friends wedding at the hotel resulted in us booking a room here, and I was very pleasantly surprised. The interior has obviously recently had a refurb, and its looking great - both the common areas but also the rooms themselves. Also the gym is pretty well equipped for a hotel. The only slight negative was the service for lunch - the chap was a little off-hand and it took a while for our drinks to be made. But other than that - very impressed!! We also got a really good deal on the price - not sure its always that cheap, but for the money, couldn't really fault it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arundec77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
I was very pleased to see that the hotel was better than you expected we have a great hotel with a super location that we are all very proud of!

I hope that now you have found us we can welcome you back again in the near future

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

963 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    350
    133
    45
    31
See reviews for
135
390
49
245
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night only, on a Friday. The hotel was quite empty (not a bad thing!), I think this hotel is mainly used by business people so it's empty during the weekends.
We had an executive room, which wasn't a big room but was very clean. The partial view of the river Thames was a bonus. It was very nice to wake up and see the swans and ducks swimming inn the river.
As we had the executive room we got free entrance to the executive lounge, where there's a small breakfast buffet. This is not the same big buffet in the main restaurant but we found it very satisfactory for breakfast. This buffet does not have any warm dishes like eggs, bacon, sausages and beans but it has a good selection of fresh fruit, bread, cereals, yoghurt and drinks.
So if you are looking for a very good hotel for a very good price during the weekends and at commuting distance to London (Reading train station is a 5 minutes walk from the hotel) this hotel is a very good choice. Free parking is also a big bonus.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the river Thames.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hvrijssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and thank you very much for writing a nice review of the hotel.

We hope we can welcome you back to the hotel in the near future

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Two nights at the Crown Plaza right bang on the river we were woken up by the Ducks and Geese each morning but the Swans are very quiet Great room with Balcony overlooking the river. The breakfast was £10 each if you book the night before and very good. Did not use pool or sports centre but heard good things very handy for town and shopping
Comfortable beds,
Very nice will go again

Room Tip: Quieter on river side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnPollocksPlumbing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write a review on the hotel and I was very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay despite the ducks on the river waking you in the morning, occasionally they get a bit noisy but most of the time they add to the view from the hotel!

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Crowne Plaza Reading in the near future

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Reading
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, UK
Level Contributor
155 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

My expectation of Crowne Plaza Hotels is "A Holiday Inn on steroids"! One learns to expect stainless steel/polished chrome fittings, dark wood doors and furniture, framed prints on the walls and corporate carpets on the floor - all the usual things that make modern hotels devoid of character and instantly forgettable. In this I was not disappointed! Unfortunately I was disappointed in other areas, some small, other not-so-small: we felt that in welcoming us the receptionist was working from a prepared speech and consequentally lacked sincerity: the bathroom felt cramped (and the mirror was loose on the wall), and the furniture was, well, rather tired. However, the bed was comfortable and the room was clean.
The biggest dissappointment was the restaurant. First of all, it was cold. Uncomfortably so. Second the choice of main courses there was uninspiring and, frankly, expensive for what was being offered. Having sat and shivered for a while, looked at the menu and decided there was nothing we actually fancied for that amount of money, we walked to another restaurant just over the road!
However, the Liesure Centre could be the best I have come across! It has a well-equipped gymnasium, friendly and helpful staff, and a lovely 17m long pool at just the right temperature for a serious swim. The lockers had number pads (I got the heng of it eventually!), which meant that it didn't matter that you had left your £1 coin in the room, and the showers were hot and powerful. It would be almost worth going back there just for the Liesure Centre! Almost, but not quite!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAGBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on the hotel, I was sorry to learn that your stay was only three stars and you felt the welcome was insincere, we do have a set welcome for all our guests and I am sorry if this came over as robotic.

The restaurant is open plan and is heated on a sensor to be a constant 21oC I will check that this is working correctly along with the other maintenance items you mentioned so I am grateful to you for bringing this to my attention.

I was very glad to see you enjoyed The Revive Leisure Club and as you say it is a fantastic asset to the hotel.

Regards

Daniel Loosley
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Level Contributor
132 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 233 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

we stayed for 1 night and found the hotel great for our needs

location is 15 minute walk or short taxi ride from central Reading[cost £6]
set by the banks of the River Thames it is a picturesque setting and nice to walk along the riverbank

did not eat in the hotel but restaurant area appeared nice-menu pricey though-ate out in town

lobby area attractive and bar drinks at night reasonable

looked in at but did not use gym,spa and pool area-looked nice

room very comfortable-bathroom starting to show signs of wear and tear but nothing to warrant complaint

staff very pleasant and helpful-would stay again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canadabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, October 18, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and I was pleased to se you enjoyed your stay!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Reading
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I had wanted to visit this Crowne Plaza because of its location and we arrived on a cloudy Sunday afternoon, but everything started to brighten up when we were booked in by Dorota. I run a "best Holiday Inn of the year award, but as we don't often stay at Crowne Plaza's tend to compare them all to the Crowne Plaza Leeds, which is a favourite. Dorota was keen to make sure that Reading made it to the top three, and we had been upgraded to an Executive room with balcony overlooking the Thames. We decided to have a light lunch and ordered Nachos and a cheese plate and when these arrived we could not believe the size of the portions, in fact, half the Nachos went back. In the evening we dined in the Acqua restaurant and the "de-constructed" Prawn cocktail was excellent, my partner enjoyed the Watercress soup and the salmon as a main whilst I had the Tempura pollock with massive goose fat chips.

In the morning checkout was very friendly with Farrukh Shahdasab seeing us on our way. Later that day I realised that I had left a small box of business cards in the room and they were sent for delivery next day, at my next hotel, which was an example of excellent service and for which I was most grateful. Well worth the visit and definitely in the top three Crowne Plaza's for me

Room Tip: Room 115 is quite a walk but has a nice view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magickpyggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
I was very pleased indeed to hear that you had such a special stay at the hotel and many thanks for taking the time to write such a super review of the hotel I am very grateful to you.

I hope that we can welcome you back to The Crowne Plaza Reading again in the near future and we can live up to our high standards!

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Reading
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have just stayed at the hotel for a weekend, while visiting our son.The hotel on the whole was very nice, its view over the river was very good, and was ideal for a walk along Old Father Thames. The dining room was pleasant, breakfast was fine, but we're not fans of buffet style breakfast. We dined in the hotel on our second night, and found that meal was good and up to the standard of a 4 star hotel. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Our room was comfortable, although our room looked out onto the main road outside the hotel, you couldn’t hear the traffic noise. There is ample car parking, and it’s only a 10 to 15 minute walk to the town centre. In summary a good hotel, try not to park under a tree, it took me about an hour to remove the bird droppings.

Room Tip: Try to book early, the rooms are cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear Chris,

I was glad you enjoyed your stay and was pleased everything was to your liking!

We do have a problem with the birds locally as we have a number of large trees surrounding the hotel which add to the appearance but have a negative effect with the droppings!

Anyway we hope to see you again in the near future and many thanks for taking the time to write a review!

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
0.7 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#6 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#3 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#5 of 31 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 959 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading

Property: Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Address: Caversham Bridge Richfield Avenue, Reading RG1 8BD, England (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#8 Business Hotel in Reading
#8 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star hotel in the heart of Reading on the banks of the River Thames provides a tranquil venue easily accessible from the M4, London Heathrow Airport and London Paddington Station. We offer 200 complimentary parking spaces on site. The local area offers the Oracle shopping centre and Vue Cinema, an array of restaurants, the Thames Valley Business Park, Green Park and Madjeski Football Stadium (home of Reading Football Club).As a guest at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Reading you have full access to the Revive Health Club and Spa with indoor pool. The modern spa offers a wide selection of Elemis treatments. Bedrooms at the Crowne Plaza Reading are spacious with soft and earthy decor, seriously comfy beds with work desks and high speed internet access. Our Acqua Restaurant serves modern British cuisine sourced from local suppliers. You can also enjoy a lighter or healthier meal in the lobby bar or terrace overlooking the River Thames. 24HR Room Service is also available for those guests arriving late or departing early The Caversham Business Suite is a self contained Meeting Centre for conferences and private dining. All rooms offer natural daylight and a private terrace overlooking the River Thames. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading is an ideal wedding venue licensed for Civil Ceremonies and can cater for banqueting or private parties in Reading for up to 180 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, IHG, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Reading
Reading Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing