We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Reviewed October 11, 2012

we stayed for 1 night and found the hotel great for our needs

location is 15 minute walk or short taxi ride from central Reading[cost £6]
set by the banks of the River Thames it is a picturesque setting and nice to walk along the riverbank

did not eat in the hotel but restaurant area appeared nice-menu pricey though-ate out in town

lobby area attractive and bar drinks at night reasonable

looked in at but did not use gym,spa and pool area-looked nice

room very comfortable-bathroom starting to show signs of wear and tear but nothing to warrant complaint

staff very pleasant and helpful-would stay again

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadabound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2012

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review and I was pleased to se you enjoyed your stay!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Reading

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,063)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

829 - 835 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

I had wanted to visit this Crowne Plaza because of its location and we arrived on a cloudy Sunday afternoon, but everything started to brighten up when we were booked in by Dorota. I run a "best Holiday Inn of the year award, but as we don't often stay at Crowne Plaza's tend to compare them all to the Crowne Plaza Leeds, which is a favourite. Dorota was keen to make sure that Reading made it to the top three, and we had been upgraded to an Executive room with balcony overlooking the Thames. We decided to have a light lunch and ordered Nachos and a cheese plate and when these arrived we could not believe the size of the portions, in fact, half the Nachos went back. In the evening we dined in the Acqua restaurant and the "de-constructed" Prawn cocktail was excellent, my partner enjoyed the Watercress soup and the salmon as a main whilst I had the Tempura pollock with massive goose fat chips.

In the morning checkout was very friendly with Farrukh Shahdasab seeing us on our way. Later that day I realised that I had left a small box of business cards in the room and they were sent for delivery next day, at my next hotel, which was an example of excellent service and for which I was most grateful. Well worth the visit and definitely in the top three Crowne Plaza's for me

Room Tip: Room 115 is quite a walk but has a nice view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Magickpyggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

I was very pleased indeed to hear that you had such a special stay at the hotel and many thanks for taking the time to write such a super review of the hotel I am very grateful to you.

I hope that we can welcome you back to The Crowne Plaza Reading again in the near future and we can live up to our high standards!

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Reading

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We have just stayed at the hotel for a weekend, while visiting our son.The hotel on the whole was very nice, its view over the river was very good, and was ideal for a walk along Old Father Thames. The dining room was pleasant, breakfast was fine, but we're not fans of buffet style breakfast. We dined in the hotel on our second night, and found that meal was good and up to the standard of a 4 star hotel. The staff were very pleasant and helpful. Our room was comfortable, although our room looked out onto the main road outside the hotel, you couldn’t hear the traffic noise. There is ample car parking, and it’s only a 10 to 15 minute walk to the town centre. In summary a good hotel, try not to park under a tree, it took me about an hour to remove the bird droppings.

Room Tip: Try to book early, the rooms are cheaper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Chris,

I was glad you enjoyed your stay and was pleased everything was to your liking!

We do have a problem with the birds locally as we have a number of large trees surrounding the hotel which add to the appearance but have a negative effect with the droppings!

Anyway we hope to see you again in the near future and many thanks for taking the time to write a review!

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I enjoy this hotel and have stayed there a few time and enjoyed it very much. The staff goes out of their way to help you. Rooms on the river side have wonderful views. The rooms are small and cozy. And add a little toasty when it's chilly outside.
There is a club room that you can upgrade to that offers breakfast and evening horderves and drinks. Since the rooms are small you can sit and watch TV there at night.

Room Tip: I believe you have access to the spa which is 1st class. I had a massage as an added bonus to my sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaddieUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

I was very glad you enjoyed the hospitality of The Crowne Plaza Reading and enjoyed your stay at the hotel and indeed England!

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future!

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Reading

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

What isn’t there to like?
The ambiance of the hotel was lovely, bright, spacious, clean and fresh. It has a comfortable feel with a modern edge. The staff were helpful and polite.
The room itself was spacious, and felt warm with nice décor and overall comfortable environment. The bed was good with lots of pillows, there was a great chair to sit at and lots of mirrors with ample lighting to do your make up in the morning. Power sockets next to the bed to charge your phone, a good size TV, great amenities and a lots of information available in the room.
We didn’t get chance to see the swimming pool but knowing this was available is a great.
The ability to walk through the hotel and step out onto the river side and watch the ducks and swans was beautiful. It has good views.
The only minor negative was the cost of breakfast, we felt this was a little overpriced so we didn’t experience this but that was our choice.
Its 5 minutes drive to Reading town centre and was easy to find. I’d recommend this hotel to anyone and I’ll go back if I’m in Reading again.

Room Tip: When you book you'll have to ask for one that overlooks the river - although this does cost more
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Izzy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Izzy,

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a nice review of the Crowne Plaza Reading, we were all very pleased to learn you had a nice stay and we appreciate you kind comments

The cost of breakfast is £10 per head if you pre-book at check in which gives you an an unlimited choice of hot and cold buffet and includes Tea / Coffee, juice etc and really sets you up for the day, maybe you will give it a try next time you stay and let us know what you think?

Anyway we really look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future!

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Reading

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed for 8 nights on holiday. Club room with view the river was very much enhanced by the balcony, and was quiet for most of our stay. Excellent location with great access for walks along the river, and close proximity to retail in Reading, and also Reading Rail station with high speed access into London and the West Country. Superb gym, indoor pool, spa, steam room and sauna, best we have seen in several years of overseas travel. The Health Spa treatments were reasonably priced and easy to book, massages very good. The club lounge was also very good, however the lack of a PC in the lounge detracted from the overall quality of the lounge. However the duty staff excelled by making a PC available when requested, many thanks to Andy and Farrukh. Staff were very good, and mostly friendly. The hotel appears to be well set up for business and conferences, however it was suitable for holidays, noting 5 minute walk to laundrette in Caversham saved on hotel laundry prices. Meals were of high standard and good value for money. Will stay here again.

Room Tip: Quiet rooms overlook the river, avoid rooms near Caversham Bridge, due to heavy trafffic volumes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hugh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2012

Dear Hugh,

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on the hotel I was pleased to hear you had great stay and your description of the location and the facilities were very insightful and I am sure other travelers will appreciate the advice

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Crowne Plaza Reading in the near future

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Reading

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

The view from the suite with a balcony was beautiful. It was a lovely birthday surprise which included a facial and massage in the Health Spa. The pool and jacuzzi were an added bonus! It is in walking distance of a shopping centre and plenty of coffee shops. A lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Therese G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel L, Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

I was so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and in particular the spa treatments.

The views from our suites are quite something I hope the weather was good enough for you to enjoy them to the fullest.

I hope we can welcome you back to The Crowne Plaza Reading in the near future

Regards

Daniel Loosley
General Manager
Crowne Plaza Reading

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
2.4 mi away
Hilton Reading
Hilton Reading
#2 of 31 in Reading
1,941 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
0.8 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#3 of 31 in Reading
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#8 of 31 in Reading
2,530 reviews
0.6 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,063 reviews
1 mi away
Premier Inn Reading Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading

Address: Caversham Bridge Richfield Avenue, Reading RG1 8BD, England (Formerly Holiday Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#8 Business Hotel in Reading
#8 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range: $92 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 4 star hotel in the heart of Reading on the banks of the River Thames provides a tranquil venue easily accessible from the M4, London Heathrow Airport and London Paddington Station. We offer 200 complimentary parking spaces on site. The local area offers the Oracle shopping centre and Vue Cinema, an array of restaurants, the Thames Valley Business Park, Green Park and Madjeski Football Stadium (home of Reading Football Club).As a guest at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Reading you have full access to the Revive Health Club and Spa with indoor pool. The modern spa offers a wide selection of Elemis treatments. Bedrooms at the Crowne Plaza Reading are spacious with soft and earthy decor, seriously comfy beds with work desks and high speed internet access. Our Acqua Restaurant serves modern British cuisine sourced from local suppliers. You can also enjoy a lighter or healthier meal in the lobby bar or terrace overlooking the River Thames. 24HR Room Service is also available for those guests arriving late or departing early The Caversham Business Suite is a self contained Meeting Centre for conferences and private dining. All rooms offer natural daylight and a private terrace overlooking the River Thames. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading is an ideal wedding venue licensed for Civil Ceremonies and can cater for banqueting or private parties in Reading for up to 180 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Reading
Reading Crowne Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing