We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely amazing”
Review of Hilton Reading

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Reading
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Me and my gf went there for a spa break. Hotel is beautiful and modern. Little disappointed as the pool and sauna was being serviced however everything else was perfect. We are looking to visit next month.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank jimmyjame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2014

Dear JimmyJame

Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review on trip advisor.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your visit, and look forward to welcoming you back in the coming months.

Should you need anything, please feel free to contact me on the email address below.

With kind regards

Aimee Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,887)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,228 - 1,234 of 1,887 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2014

The reason why one would stay in this hotel is because its close to the Reading football ground or, much more likely, one has the pleasure of staying on business in Reading. The Hilton is a typical business 4*, somewhere outside Reading along the carriageway, close to the highway, with complementary parking, without special character but modern, new clean and with a very good hotel restaurant and a nice bar lounge area, exactly what one will need when staying in a place like Reading. I'd never come here on a holiday but for business its perfectly right.

One problem to be fixed: the rooms are ICE cold - I stayed in two rooms and the heating just wouldn't get the temperature up - first I thought my aircon was broken - I complained, they fixed it right away. When I stayed in another room the same problem occurred and once again I froze at night ... Definitely something to get sorted hence for now: sleep quality: poor - sorry.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heikoheiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear HeikoHeiko

Thank you for your review on Hilton Reading.

Your comments are very encouraging and an absolute pleasure to read.

With regards to your comments relating to room temperature, I have sent your comments onto my Maintenance Manager for review, thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Thank you for taking the time to offer great feedback. I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Reading once again in the near future.

With Kind regards

Aimee Louise Ash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Hotel lovely, clean & fresh
Swimming pool out of action!!
Free wi-fi only in barK area (this day & age it should be free all over) charges were extortoniate for the room wi-fi)
Food in Larder restaurant - average, I have paid less and had better food elsewhere
the only down side is the town centre is quite a hike so a taxi is necessary (£8 each way) and at the end of a long day not really ready to go back out again to eat, so disappointing really
Breakfast was fine
room was clean, tidy, windows did not open though

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2014

Dear Tina W

Thank you for posting a review on the hotel and for leaving positive comments. In terms of the the not so positive, I appreciate your honesty and kindly assure you that comments will be looked at by colleagues with the view of making changes where possible.

Should I be able to help with further specifics, please drop me a line on aimee.louiseash@hilton.com, when I will be delighted to investigate and respond further to you.

With kind regards

Aimee Louise Ash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed in 6 hotels in the UK over 10 nights. By far the best service and hotel facilities we stayed at during our trip. Food in dinning room was excellent. This is a business hotel but would recommend it for proximity to Heathrow airport and Highclere Castle (where Downton Abby is filmed). There is also a large shopping mall close.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank X2862SVrobertg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear x28625vrobertg

Thank you for posting your kind comments following your recent visit to the Hilton Reading. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay.

I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

With kind regards

Aimee Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We were shocked by the hotels attitude towards the safety of the guests after a evacustion of the hotel during early hours of the morning. The fire alarm had sounded briefly at around 10.30 pm. At around 2.00am my wife woke me to say there were blue lights outside. Looking out of the window I noticed firemen and residents outside standing on the forcourt. I rang down to reception and enquired if everyone need evacuate the hotel as no alarms were sounding on our level. We were advised that everyone needs to evacuate. Whilst leaving our room the alarms on our level had still not been activated. Having joined the rest of the of the guests in the forcourt there was no head count to confirm everyone had been evacuated, and we were not requested to stay further back in case of explosion. We tried to find family members that were also on the same level but could not find them, having phoned them and waking them up we advised them they need to get out of the hotel. The alarms had still not been activated on our level. I am pleased to say no one was injured, but this was not due to the competence of the hotel management and staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gareth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Gareth W

Thank you for posting a review on Trip Adviser as thoughts and experiences from our guests are very much appreciated and are used to rectify any shortfalls highlighted to us.

I have taken your comments on board, and contacted you directly following your concerns.

Should you have any further concerns, please contact me on aimee.louiseash@hilton.com.

With kind regards

Aimee Louise Ash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here with two young children for two nights as part of a legoland deal (dont get me started on legoland!). Check in was easy, very friendly lady and cookies for the children. The room was modern, quiet and comfortable with everything you could need- no opening windows though :(
but sound insulation really good. Ample free parking in the underground car park and a lift to the ground floor. Breakfast- good choice, great quality and fantastic service with pancakes and hot chocolate offered for the children.
Overall a fantastic hotel and a credit to your staff who were brilliant.
Highly recommended!




  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianthechicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear brianthechicken

Thank you for posting such a positive comment following your stay at the Hilton Reading.

We are pleased to see your stay was a pleasant one and look forward to another opportunity when we can welcome you back once more.

If I can assist you further before then I'd be happy to hear from you and ask that you contact me on the below e-mail address.

In the meantime, I wish you a pleasant week and remain for now with kind regards

Aimee Louise Ash

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

We visit this hotel numerous times throughout the year for some cycling, it's great for cycling around reading and along the themes. Hotel isn't bad either, staff always pleasant, professional and hotel is always clean and tidy and well looked after.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Philip L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aimee A, Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded April 23, 2014

Dear Phillip L

Thank you for posting such a kind review following your most recent trip to the Hilton Reading.

I am delighted to read that you use the hotel during your cycling breaks, and that on each visit you find the staff to be professional and friendly.

Thank you for taking the time to offer great feedback. I do hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hilton Reading once again in the near future.

With kind regards

Aimee Louise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.8 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
1.8 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,034 reviews
0.6 mi away
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Reading

Address: Lundy House Drake Way, Reading RG2 0GQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Reading
#2 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#3 Business Hotel in Reading
#4 Family Hotel in Reading
#4 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range: $97 - $274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary Hilton Reading hotel offers a warm and inviting atmosphere, just a 4 minute drive from Reading's historical city centre, the River Thames and the famous shopping centre, The Oracle. The hotel is situated on the Kennet Island Development just of the A33 and is within walking distance to the Madejski Stadium. Reading train station is only 4 minutes drive away and Heathrow Airport is a 25 minute drive.All of the spacious, air-conditioned Guest Rooms and Suites at the Hilton Reading hotel have been tastefully decorated and feature wired and wireless internet access, the latest in audio-visual technology, a large, ergonomic desk and comfortable Hilton Serenity® beds.Dine in the stylish Larder Restaurant, which offers a combination of local and international dishes with both modern and traditional influences and finish your meal with a cocktail in the relaxing Bar K. Tone up in the complimentary 24-hour Livingwell Health Club featuring Livingwell by Precor gym equipment, a heated, indoor swimming pool, sauna and a dance studio for a variety of fitness classes. Celebrate or hold a business function at the Hilton Reading hotel which features 8 flexible meeting rooms and a large Ballroom catering for up to 400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hilton EMEA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Reading Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing