We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Comfortable - Nice Restaurant and Pool” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Reading

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Reading
Ranked #3 of 32 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Very Comfortable - Nice Restaurant and Pool”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Stayed here whilst on business in Reading. This is the best Hotel I have found in Reading so far after trying several. The Hotel has an emphasis on customer service. The room was spacious and very comfortable. I ate in the restaurant and really enjoyed the food and the service was very good. The Hotel has small Living Well health club attached to it - great to be able to get a swim and sauna. I was in a rush in the morning - and rather than taking the full breakfast - just had one item from the menu - which was served very quickly. Will stay again when in the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen_Dashper, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your comments about the Hotel and the team are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us

We thank you for choosing the Hilton Reading, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If I can be of any further assistance to you, do not hesitate to contact me.
Kind regards

Yours sincerely

Helen Dashper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    886
    598
    135
    51
    32
See reviews for
281
579
72
515
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Level Contributor
146 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed one night only, check in very good, nice and polite welcome, easy parking in underground car park, room very clean and modern, car park pass activated so you can come and go as you please, did not use the restaurant in the evening but popped into town centre, only 5 mins, sampled the many restaurants there. Breakfast very efficient and plentiful, everyone was very helpful, would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen_Dashper, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your comments about the Hotel and the team are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us

We thank you for choosing the Hilton Reading, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If I can be of any further assistance to you, do not hesitate to contact me.
Kind regards

Yours sincerely

Helen Dashper
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed for three nights on business. Had a second floor executive double which was well set up for work with excellent wifi and work space. Comfy bed and good food too. Staff are welcoming and helpful, definitely recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Me1163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen_Dashper, Guest Services Advisor to General Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your comments about the Hotel and the team are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us

We thank you for choosing the Hilton Reading, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If I can be of any further assistance to you, do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards
Yours sincerely

Helen Dashper
Guest Assistance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

Stayed on a family break in a party of 5 with 3 rooms, all were excellent and we were particulary happy with the breakfast and pool.

Evening restaurant meal appeared expensive, as with most Hiltons, but when you factor in that kids meals are free, and that you can order the bar menu in the restuarant its actually really value for money.

Our computer booking (via a third party accomodation company) had not worked fully, but reception fixed this within 5 minutes.

Pool and health club very good.

No problems at all during the stay in this 4 star hotel.

PS parking was free and secure under the hotel.

Room Tip: Should be fine anywhere, you wont get that much of a view as your on the outskirts or reading though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greg250gt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen_Dashper, Guest Services Advisor to the General Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your comments about the Hotel and the team are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

I am delighted to see that your party enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the rooms to be excellent, and you particularly enjoyed your breakfast and the pool facility.

We thank you for choosing the Hilton Reading, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If I can be of any further assistance to you, do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards

Yours sincerely

Helen Dashper
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
219 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 323 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Nice clean modern hotel in Reading next to a new housing estate and near the football stadium. My sat nav wouldn't recognise the postcode for this hotel and made it a pain to find in the dark as it's off a dual carriageway. We arrived at 10:00pm for a wedding the next day, check in was smooth as we'd already booked and paid through booking.com. Our rooms were 146 and 147, avoid room 146 unless you have not driven 4 hours and aren't extremely exhaused, otherwise a strange buzzing noise outside/downstairs may keep you awake. The mattress and pillows were comfortable or i'd never have fallen asleep. The room was clean and comfortable. The minibar couldn't be opened and the top of it was caked in a layer of dust and it was the same for the minibar in room 147, clearly not been cleaned in a long time. They minibar was pain to open as the door was broken in both rooms and I broke two nails trying to help my sister open it in her room. Rooms aren't small compared to Hilton London rooms. There was plently of hot water and the temperature never fluctuated as it has in some other Hiltons in London.

Breakfast would have been average had we bothered waking up and going down. I know Hilton breakfasts aren't great so I much preferred to have a couple more hours in bed than eat poor quality toast. I wish they'd change Hilton bread suppliers to those of the Radisson. They know their breads!

Reception staff were friendly and one receptionist in particular, was very helpful to my young niece and went above and beyond her call of duty and her kindness was very appreciated by her. The ladies who checked us in and out were equally friendly.

The conference hall were the wedding took place needed some air conditioning as it was excessively hot with the number of bodies in there or they needed to turn the heating off.

If I were in Reading again, i'd stay here again. Overall a nice hotel, can't comment about Hotel food itself. The bar needs to serve better quality juice than cheap naff Sunkist, my sister paid £2.50 for a glass for this stuff and it costs less than 50p to buy an entire carton at the local store!)

Room Tip: Avoid room 146, as there was an awful wierd sound that would have kept me awake had I not been extre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chopalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen_Dashper, Guest Services Advisor to the General Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your comments about the Hotel and the team are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

I am sorry you had difficulties in finding the hotel via the sat nav. We also apologise that there was some noise disturbance in your room and this noise has been investigated.

I note your comments regarding the Reception staff being friendly, helpful and going beyond the call of duty and your comments have been passed on to the the team.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would stay again.

We thank you for choosing the Hilton Reading, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If I can be of any further assistance to you, do not hesitate to contact me.
Kind regards

Yours sincerely

Helen Dashper
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed here last weekend for an event being held in one of the function rooms. The hotel is a nice modern hotel, comfortable rooms and clean bathrooms. The breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. The only poor thing about this hotel is the swimming pool. With a brand new hotel they had the option to design a good pool area - unfortunately they did not do this and the pool feels as if it was just added at the last minute. Very small, with no real sitting area and very little to commend it. Shame. Otherwise a good hotel if a little out of town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lobsterchaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen_Dashper, Guest services advisor to General Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your comments about the Hotel and the team are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the room to be comfortable. I am sorry that the pool was not as you would have expected but and pleased that you found the rest of our facilities good.

We thank you for choosing the Hilton Reading, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If I can be of any further assistance to you, do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards
Yours sincerely

Helen Dashper
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed here on Friday night in a suite. The rooms are amazing spotless and the bed was the most comfortable I have every stayed in. The bathrooms were beautiful and the room overall was modern and very clean. The gym and swimming pool were very clean and well presented the hotel as has a lovely spa. The hotel staff were very friendly and effcient and nnothing was too much trouble for them. Very impressed hilton

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALEXHAZELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen_Dashper, Guest Services advisor to General Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your comments about the Hotel and the team are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the room to be spotless with a comfortable bed, the team friendly and efficient and that you enjoyed the gym and pool facilities.

We thank you for choosing the Hilton Reading, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If I can be of any further assistance to you, do not hesitate to contact me.

Kind regards

Yours sincerely

Helen Dashper
Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.8 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 32 in Reading
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
1.7 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#5 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,130 reviews
0.6 mi away
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#6 of 32 in Reading
4.0 of 5 bubbles 910 reviews
2.4 mi away
Premier Inn Reading (Caversham Bridge) Hotel
1.8 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Reading

Property: Hilton Reading
Address: Lundy House Drake Way, Reading RG2 0GQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Reading
#2 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#3 Business Hotel in Reading
#4 Family Hotel in Reading
#4 Romantic Hotel in Reading
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary Hilton Reading hotel offers a warm and inviting atmosphere, just a 4 minute drive from Reading's historical city centre, the River Thames and the famous shopping centre, The Oracle. The hotel is situated on the Kennet Island Development just of the A33 and is within walking distance to the Madejski Stadium. Reading train station is only 4 minutes drive away and Heathrow Airport is a 25 minute drive.All of the spacious, air-conditioned Guest Rooms and Suites at the Hilton Reading hotel have been tastefully decorated and feature wired and wireless internet access, the latest in audio-visual technology, a large, ergonomic desk and comfortable Hilton Serenity® beds.Dine in the stylish Larder Restaurant, which offers a combination of local and international dishes with both modern and traditional influences and finish your meal with a cocktail in the relaxing Bar K. Tone up in the complimentary 24-hour Livingwell Health Club featuring Livingwell by Precor gym equipment, a heated, indoor swimming pool, sauna and a dance studio for a variety of fitness classes. Celebrate or hold a business function at the Hilton Reading hotel which features 8 flexible meeting rooms and a large Ballroom catering for up to 400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton EMEA, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Reading Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing