We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good experience”
Review of Hilton Reading

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hilton Reading
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in early May 2012. It was a good experience. All public areas and our own room could not have been cleaner. The bed was very comfortable. Away from the loud music in the reception area and restaurant, the hotel was quiet. There is a good transport link into the town centre and train station with a direct bus within a minute's walk. All the staff were pleasant and good at their jobs and seemed to enjoy them - this is a well-managed hotel and we would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackNicklaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Byrnes, Director of Operations at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us here at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your remarks about the Hotel and the staff are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the hotel provided you with everything you need.

I look forward to welcoming you all back to the Hilton Reading on your next stay in the Berkshire area.

Kind Regards,
Kevin Byrnes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,914)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,684 - 1,690 of 1,914 reviews

Reviewed May 9, 2012

One of Hiltons more modern hotels - this was my second leisure stay. It is located in a very modern Executive housing development. The hotel has an underground car park. Like the Hiltons in the US it has a business centre. The leisure centre has a great swimming pool. The hotel rooms are very modern and very comfortable. We normally walk to the shops in Reading along the river - quite a long walk but very nice. This hotel is great for a weekend break – you can pick up some very cheap rates for a Hilton.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bigstays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Byrnes, Director of Operations at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us here at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your remarks about the Hotel and the staff are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the hotel provided you with everything you need.

I look forward to welcoming you all back to the Hilton Reading on your next stay in the Berkshire area.

Kind Regards,
Kevin Byrnes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Staff were very helpful and welcoming. Rooms were very nice and roomy bed was very comfortable. Excellent breakfast so much to choose from.Gym and sauna very nice. Look forward to returning

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CLADE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Byrnes, Director of Operations at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us here at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your remarks about the Hotel and the staff are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the hotel provided you with everything you need.

I look forward to welcoming you all back to the Hilton Reading on your next stay in the Berkshire area.

Kind Regards,
Kevin Byrnes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for a Saturday night in February as we are reasonably local and there was a big discount on the room. The hotel is only around 5 minutes drive from the town which is convenient but is deceptively far if you wanted to walk as there is not much around.

The hotel feels safe, new and luxurious, the hotel & reception were spacious and nicely designed. The reception staff were very helpfull and polite. Our room was clean, modern and spacious. An odd quirk was speakers in the bathroom linked to the tv, quite usefull when the rugby was on! The bed was spacious and comfortable with a supplied ice bucket as the fridge was only used for the mini bar.

We visited the pool and gym which was reasonably small but ample for the size of the hotel. We visited on a saturday and disapointingly the pool was in use for childrens swimming lessons and only one small lane was reserved for gym members and guests. As the room was also full of parents around the whole pool this felt quite uncomfortable. The gym had one of each piece of equipment so as a couple in an empty gym it was brilliant but it may have been lucky timing.

We spent the evening in the hotel bar and had an antipasti with several drinks. The prices were slightly more than you would normally pay however the food was good quality and there were deals on the drinks if you were not too fussed on brands.

Overall the hotel seems to be built more around business as it was quite far from the town and was not much of a night life or atmosphere at the hotel. The staff and room were almost faultless throughout our stay however it was made better by the fact we drove to the hotel.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank LilyandMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Byrnes, Director of Operations at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us here at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your remarks about the Hotel and the staff are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the hotel provided you with everything you need.

I look forward to welcoming you all back to the Hilton Reading on your next stay in the Berkshire area.

Kind Regards,
Kevin Byrnes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Nice hotel, just some 2 miles out of Reading railway station, in peaceful neighbourhood. Arrived at 12.30pm, and check in was no problem, quick and swift. Nice appointed rooms, clean...

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PremiumFlyer74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Byrnes, Director of Operations at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us here at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your remarks about the Hotel and the staff are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the hotel provided you with everything you need.

I look forward to welcoming you all back to the Hilton Reading on your next stay in the Berkshire area.

Kind Regards,
Kevin Byrnes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

My wife and I first stayed at the Reading Hilton 9 months ago and repeated the experience on the 27/28th April 2012 occupying rooms 201 and 202. (So no argument about leaving the toilet seat up or down !)

There is a large FREE underground car park with a lift leading to the impressive reception area where an ex Gurkha Sgt. Maj. gave us the VIP treatment. My delusions of grandeur were shattered when I noticed that he gave everyone the same treatment. We later found that we had probably flown together from Singapore to various places in Borneo in the 1960s..... but I don't think he recognised me.

As usual we arrived far too early but the reception staff, taking pity on us sitting in reception surrounded by our luggage, installed us in our rooms three hours before the official check in time and even gave us a cup of coffee as we waited. This may have been because we still use old fashioned luggage without little wheels and big handles so look more like refugees than prosperous guests.

The decor hasn't changed since our last visit and the whole place is immaculate. The staff are still friendly and attentive

Tiny niggles ! (There are no big ones.)
There are no newspapers available apart from The Independent. The nearby Convenience store is very sparsely stocked and had almost sold out by 4pm on Friday and had none to offer on Saturday at 7.30am
The breakfast experience was superb. The dining room is very relaxing, the staff are very helpful and the food first class.
BUT ... the antiquated toaster (which I recognised from my last visit) is fine as a talking point but incapable of providing adequate toast. It takes about a minute to produce a slice of warm bread and three minutes to turn it brown. I'm sure the staff can make it behave but none of the guests could discover the secret and as there are many other types of bread available its failure to perform was more amusing than irritating.

There is an excellent bus service into the town centre which is fortunate as there is nothing for the visitor to look at in the area. The much hyped Kennet Island Development is a credit to the advertisers but boring for a casual sightseer.

We will certainly be going again but may smuggle in our own toaster.

N.B. I have no personal interest in this Hilton Hotel but if the manager wants to make me an offer I can’t refuse he can easily trace me.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GrumpyGp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Byrnes, Director of Operations at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us here at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your remarks about the Hotel and the staff are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the hotel provided you with everything you need. We appreciate your comments about the toaster and we will be looking into what the problem is. If you are due to stay with us in the future, please do let me know.

I look forward to welcoming you all back to the Hilton Reading on your next stay in the Berkshire area.

Kind Regards,
Kevin Byrnes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2012

I've stayed at the Hilton in Reading a couple of times when the hotel preferred by the company I work for is full. It's a lovely hotel, bright and airy - the rooms are immaculate and very comfortable. Food is excellent and room service is always quick. The beds are huge with masses of pillows. Breakfast is probably one of the best buffet selections I've ever seen. The only thing that stops me giving this top marks is that a top quality hotel it already charges high rates, and to then charge for internet (no free wi-fi) and to add a tray-charge onto room service food seems a little over the top. Come on guys - its a great place to stay - add the incentives that make it top rate & pull in the business travellers who don't want to have to pay for the extras the company won't cover...

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin_Byrnes, Director of Operations at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us here at the Hilton Reading on Tripadvisor. Your remarks about the Hotel and the staff are appreciated. Our commitment at the Hilton Reading is to provide the finest in service and personal attention to everyone who stays with us, and it is helpful when our guests pass their opinions and experiences to us, allowing us to refine our procedures and services where necessary.

I was pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay and that the hotel provided you with everything you need. We appreciate your comments about the added charges and this is something we will endeavour to look into.

I look forward to welcoming you all back to the Hilton Reading on your next stay in the Berkshire area.

Kind Regards,
Kevin Byrnes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.8 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
564 reviews
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
1.8 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,051 reviews
0.6 mi away
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
1.7 mi away
pentahotel Reading
pentahotel Reading
#7 of 31 in Reading
2,500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Reading

Address: Lundy House Drake Way, Reading RG2 0GQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Reading
#2 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#3 Business Hotel in Reading
#4 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#4 Family Hotel in Reading
Price Range: $101 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary Hilton Reading hotel offers a warm and inviting atmosphere, just a 4 minute drive from Reading's historical city centre, the River Thames and the famous shopping centre, The Oracle. The hotel is situated on the Kennet Island Development just of the A33 and is within walking distance to the Madejski Stadium. Reading train station is only 4 minutes drive away and Heathrow Airport is a 25 minute drive.All of the spacious, air-conditioned Guest Rooms and Suites at the Hilton Reading hotel have been tastefully decorated and feature wired and wireless internet access, the latest in audio-visual technology, a large, ergonomic desk and comfortable Hilton Serenity® beds.Dine in the stylish Larder Restaurant, which offers a combination of local and international dishes with both modern and traditional influences and finish your meal with a cocktail in the relaxing Bar K. Tone up in the complimentary 24-hour Livingwell Health Club featuring Livingwell by Precor gym equipment, a heated, indoor swimming pool, sauna and a dance studio for a variety of fitness classes. Celebrate or hold a business function at the Hilton Reading hotel which features 8 flexible meeting rooms and a large Ballroom catering for up to 400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Reading Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing