We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soulless, safe bet.”
Review of Hilton Reading

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Reading
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Reading
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 21, 2011

It’s big, it’s modern, it’s a safe bet at a sensible basic price, however, everything is optional: Bottle of water £3.95; night’s internet access £15; breakfast £10. Parking, in a secure car park under the hotel, is free and feels safe. Concierge is a pleasant touch, adding a bright and cheerful welcome to the hotel. Frustrating, long wait, at reception as the rest of the universe was queuing before me. There is a roped-off position at the desk for regulars to Hilton, otherwise you are cattle. Room had a high-tech TV with internet access giving similar functions to a PC, however, its response to remote control inputs was so slow to as make it laughable. Room is a standard affair, familiar to all modern hotels, with nothing to write about, positive or negative. Very clean room. Buffet breakfast in heated platters.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,887)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,765 - 1,771 of 1,887 reviews

Reviewed February 20, 2011

Stayed at this hotel with my wife for her 29th Birthday. We booked up when they had a promotion on and it only cost us £50 for the saturday night. I mentioned to them that it was my wife's Birthday and they upgraded us. The room was lovely seemed almost brand new. In the morning i phoned reception to see if we could have breakfast in bed and again that it was my wife's Birthday. They said no problem we told them what we wanted and they was up within 20 mins with a lovely full english breakfast etc, and as an added touch it came with Champayne and strawberry's. This was at no extra cost and they didn't charge us for room service. If your going to Reading Business or pleasure then stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bowesy30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2011

Reception staff were very professional and efficient. Car park was underground and fine with access via stairs or lift to hotel. Didn't use the leisure suite. Bar was ok, not much atmosphere though. Our room was very nice and very clean with all mod cons. Breakfast the next day was excellent with a wide choice of food. The hotel is on the outskirts of Reading but only a short drive in to the centre and didn't cost too much by cab.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Crocks21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Managementteam5, General Manager at Hilton Reading, responded to this reviewResponded February 19, 2011

Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of the Hilton Reading. I was delighted you enjoyed a comfortable stay and the professional hospitality our staff provide. I hope that we may get the opportunity to be of service again on a future visit to Berkshire.

Kind regards,


John McLaughlin General manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2011

I traveled with my 12 year old son and stayed 2 nights at the hotel. We had a very pleasant stay. Arrived on a Sunday and ate in the hotel. Excellent fish and chips and my son had chicken nuggets all for 13 pounds with drinks included. Buffet breakfast was included in my rate and was first class. Room and bathroom was very clean but not up to Hilton standards in the US size wise. Limited TV Channels and extras were very expensive ($15 for an in-room movie). Staff in the hotel were excellent throughout. I went into London by train the next day leaving the car in the free parking garage. Bus service into Reading was infrequent from the hotel but better if you were willing to walk 10 mins to the Madjeksi Stadium. Roomrate for Sunday was US$70 but double that on Monday night. It took me 30 mins to drive to Heathrow on Tuesday morning. Will probably stay there again on a future trip.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank limeyferg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2011

Stayed at the Hilton last night with a group of friends to celebrate my 50th Birthday. Chose the Hilton as it was near to the Jazz Cafe at the Madjeski where a large party of us were going that night. Hotel was great for our needs however it is not in the centre of Reading it is the Basingstoke Road Area -not far from the centre of town but do be aware it is not what I would consider central Reading and having lived in Reading until just recently I am well placed to make this comment.. Hotel is pristine as it is very new however did find it a bit strange that they still had a Xmas Tree up in Reception on 15th January - very odd!!

Rooms are very nice with all mod cons and bathrooms lovely, spotlessly clean but you would expect this from a new hotel. Breakfast was great only complaint I would have is that the sausages did not match the quality of the rest of the food semed a cheaper variety a nice quality cumberland would be much more in keeping. Staff are very friendly and check in and check out was fast and efficient. All in all a good hotel and would recommend.

One small point I would like to add was that on booking the hotel I had said that it was my 50th so anything they could do to make our stay extra special would be appreciated the guy at the time said they would ensure this was done for me - there take on this was to put 2 tiny boxes of 2 chocolates in the room and complimentary WATER. My friends also rang to ask about this and they said they would not do anything. In comparison to what The Royal Lancaster Hotel in London had done for my friends 50th this was extremely cheap from such a reputable hotel chain - so was a little disappointing in this regard but nonetheless I would still recommend hotel. Would love to hear Managements view on this though just out of interest...

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KazReading_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2011

Booked hotel with bboking.com, just week before, got a Queen B&B for £63, good value I thought. Room was great, all usual extras in room, nice Hotel, but breakfast a bit dissappointing. Staff polite & helpful, plenty of choice, given it was New Years Day, but not great quality. Sausage skins hard, bacon barely cooked, everything else average.
WiFi not free, £6 per stay
To sum up, great room and hotel, but food only avarage.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Whizzo14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2011

my husband and I stayed here for New Year break, the hotel was lovely, comfy rooms which were spotlessly clean, Food was excellent and plentiful, buffet style and lots of choice. the staff were absolutely amazing, nothing was too much trouble,, so helpful, (other hotels should take note that coach parties are not second class citizens, we just sometimes don't want to drive ourselves) a really lovely and welcoming hotel where we would love to stay again

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tellitasiseeit666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Reading hotels
1.8 mi away
Novotel Reading Centre
2.4 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Reading
1.8 mi away
The Forbury Roseate
The Forbury Roseate
#2 of 31 in Reading
548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Malmaison Reading
Malmaison Reading
#4 of 31 in Reading
1,034 reviews
0.6 mi away
Millennium Madejski Hotel Reading
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Reading - South M4, Jct.11
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Reading? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Reading

Address: Lundy House Drake Way, Reading RG2 0GQ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Reading
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Reading
#2 Luxury Hotel in Reading
#3 Business Hotel in Reading
#4 Romantic Hotel in Reading
#4 Family Hotel in Reading
Price Range: $97 - $272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Reading 4*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The contemporary Hilton Reading hotel offers a warm and inviting atmosphere, just a 4 minute drive from Reading's historical city centre, the River Thames and the famous shopping centre, The Oracle. The hotel is situated on the Kennet Island Development just of the A33 and is within walking distance to the Madejski Stadium. Reading train station is only 4 minutes drive away and Heathrow Airport is a 25 minute drive.All of the spacious, air-conditioned Guest Rooms and Suites at the Hilton Reading hotel have been tastefully decorated and feature wired and wireless internet access, the latest in audio-visual technology, a large, ergonomic desk and comfortable Hilton Serenity® beds.Dine in the stylish Larder Restaurant, which offers a combination of local and international dishes with both modern and traditional influences and finish your meal with a cocktail in the relaxing Bar K. Tone up in the complimentary 24-hour Livingwell Health Club featuring Livingwell by Precor gym equipment, a heated, indoor swimming pool, sauna and a dance studio for a variety of fitness classes. Celebrate or hold a business function at the Hilton Reading hotel which features 8 flexible meeting rooms and a large Ballroom catering for up to 400 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton EMEA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Reading reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Reading Hotel Reading

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing