We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid”
Review of Chef Imperial

Chef Imperial
Ranked #23 of 32 Restaurants in Woodstock
Price range: $49 - $49
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Avoid”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

The food bland
Overpriced & they include a 10 per cent service charge in your bill

As per the previous Review, check your bill

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank liizzii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    47
    20
    19
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boyle, Ireland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Not good enough, and check your bill.”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The Chef Oriental is a large restaurant in a prime position in Woodstock, near Oxford. We had never eaten there before and decided to give it a go.
We had a mixed starter which included crispy sea weed and satay sticks, nothing tasted very freshly cooked, and the satay was out of a packet. We had some Thai curry for main course which was again very mediocre, we had a chicken chow Mein, which was the best of the meal but rather greasy.
The staff were surly and clearly not interested in providing a “good dining experience". The bill arrived, and we were charged £6.99 more for crispy seaweed we did not have or order, to add insult to injury we were charged a 10% service charge automatically on the bill. This was, in my opinion, not on, given the poor food and service.
You only get one chance to make a good first impression, and so we will not be returning to the Chef Imperial in Woodstock.
They may be in “upmarket” Woodstock, with up market prices, but there is nothing” up-market” about this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank denc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bland,bland,bland”
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We decided to go to chef imperial in Woddstock and we were geated by boring interiors boring staff and bland prawn crackers. When we orded jasmine tea the waitress coulden't understand a word we where saying but eventually we got our tea. The service was slow for example my and my dad's staters came onetime but my mum's soup came late. Worst of all the food was bland there was no taste but luck ally the food was cooked or might not be wirting this review. What was firghtring was the most tasteful meal in this resturent was the lettuce, so avoid this resturent at all costs.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Intercity234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Chef Imperial”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We regularly meet our friends in the Chef Imperial - we always have a perfectly lovely meal there - why do people feel the need to make negative comments or indeed even try to find something negative in everything they do?

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Springer1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“masssively improved with very friendly front of house and consistently good food”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

I visited them in March, and justifbly lambasted them on most aspects
But,fair do's, the front of house is now unbelievably different. Very very friendly.
I have had 2/3 meals very recently, and the food is now much better and very consistent good.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cashdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chef Imperial also viewed

 
Woodstock, Oxfordshire
Woodstock, Oxfordshire
 
Woodstock, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Chef Imperial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing