We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding lunch” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woodstock Arms

Woodstock Arms
Ranked #3 of 32 Restaurants in Woodstock
Price range: $5 - $62
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome to The Woodstock Arms The Woodstock Arms is situated in the beautiful town of Woodstock. Welcome to The Woodstock Arms in Woodstock. Proudly celebrating Woodstock's history and culture with local produce. We welcome you to our pub for a drink, some delicious food, as well as a great night's sleep in one of our gorgeous upstairs bedrooms. We love to celebrate whole hearted British cuisine, with a welcoming space for all guests to just have a good time. Woodstock is home to the World Heritage site of Blenheim Palace, the birthplace of Sir Winston Churchill and home of the 11th Duke of Marlborough. There is so much to discover in the town of Woodstock, so come and join us at The Woodstock Arms to experience some of Cotswold's home delights. We have a roaring fire to keep you snug in the winter, and a full open courtyard to enjoy the English summer. Dogs are most welcome in the bar and courtyard, and we have a great selection for kids to keep them happy too, a lovely al fresco out the front to enjoy a drinks and full service in the dining room to give you that complete experience. Take a look at our menu, with daily changing specials reflecting seasonal produce, and ales from local trusted breweries. Our beef is all from Aubrey Allen, not only a family business, but they are the Queen's butcher! Aubrey Allen provide dry aged beef which is full of texture and flavour. We source the happiest pigs in Britain from Jimmy Butler's Blythburgh farm in Suffolk, where they spend their days outside in the fresh air and sandy soil. Our delicious seafood is all responsibly sourced from Brixham with minimum miles between the sea and your plate. Just ask our friendly front of house team recommendations or just a good chat, they are all just as excited for our place as you are!
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wedding lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

booked a Wedding lunch a few weeks in advance for about 12 people which ended up as 9. Given a good selection from the main menu for which people could choose in advance and the restaurant were very helpful and friendly. Was not disappointed on the day either as the food was excellent (if a bit expensive for what it was), and the service was first class. Lovely roaring fire to keep the ladies warm and a really nice settling. Very recommended for any form of lunch or meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Grant W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    101
    44
    28
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Left cold, in more ways than one.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

I walked past earlier in the evening to see a busy pub so went in for dinner later. I had to move tables because it was so cold at the one at which I was sat. The next one, nearer the fire and the radiator wasn't much better as the fire was allowed to go very lowland the radiator was switched off. I even overheard one of the waitresses commenting how cold it was in the place. (Do something about it, then. If you're cold running around serving food, how do you think the customers feel, sat still). I was first informed that there were a few things they had run out of. No problem, I wouldn't have ordered them anyway. I did order the haggis tower starter, which I was told five minutes later that had also run out. S, I ordered the "warm" goats cheese starter. It was tasty, but cold. For main course, I had the Chicken,Leek and Ham pie, which was very poorly presented and all I could taste at the end of it was salt. This seriously overpowered the flavours and ruined the wine so much that I had to leave at least half a glass. As I say, al in all, left cold. It's a shame, because this is a nice pub inside and has the potential to be. Very cosy, welcoming pub. I think that a lack of front of house presence let the place down. I am staying here in Woodstock for the next three nights, but I certainly will not be eating in here again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveltheuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
souhampton
Level Contributor
98 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“I dont normally eat pies , but...........”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Staying in Woodstock for a couple of nights and went into the Woodstock arms for a bit of dinner ,as we had been in the previous night , well i not normally a lover of pastry but the deep dish pies that the next table were eating looked amazing so it was a no brainer to have one. I was not dispointed and was quickly full up, i only have one very minor qibble is that the vegetable mash was abit to pepperery , i like pepper but it was abit too much bu if thats the way they do it , its the way the do it. The barstaff and i think it was the manager all fantastic.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank sotonnickSouhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not impressed with the food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

It's a quaint little pub with a nice atmosphere and an open fire. However, we were less than impressed with our meals when they arrived. We paid 5 pounds for a starter of bread and olives, which consisted of one tiny slice of bread and the smallest handful of the cheapest olives which were straight out of a tin. The main courses didn't fare much better, the gammon and eggs were not particularly appetizing, and the goat's cheese tart (which cost a considerable £11) was the smallest and most unremarkable feature on a plate which was just essentially full of salad and thin sub-standard chips. If this was a cheap pub all this would have been quite acceptable, but for the really quite expensive prices, the food just left us rather disappointed indeed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Susie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phian
Level Contributor
122 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Absolutely delightful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

The warm welcome from the landlord as we arrived was a good sign of things to come.
Service from the lovely waitresses was attentive and efficient but we did not feel hurried. The range on the menu was very good and the food was excellent.
We enjoyed the setting, very comfortable and a nice fire - just the job on a cold day like this.
We will definitely be going again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Woodstock Arms also viewed

Woodstock, Oxfordshire
 
Woodstock, Oxfordshire
Woodstock, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Woodstock Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing