We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good for a tourist attraction”
Review of Indian Room

Indian Room
Ranked #17 of 34 Restaurants in Woodstock
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good for a tourist attraction”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

This restaurant will never ever have a Michelin star.... but if you are visiting Blenheim palace, can afford a reasonable meal and want to eat very tasty British food in a lovely Indian frescoed environment, then this is perfect. The service was first class, our table had a tremendous view of fountains, and the food was surprisingly scrumptious. I had the goats cheese tart, Pork Belly and the Pavlova, all washed down with a little champagne...and for the two of us it was around 30 pounds per head. Few of us get to live in a large stately home, but for that 60 minutes i felt like i was...... Book ahead for the window seats though..

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DLFKSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    20
    8
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Birthday treat”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

I decided a long time ago never to work on my birthday and to always have a treat. This year I decided on a champagne lunch but I do not understand why there are egg sandwiches on an afternoon tea at most hotels ! ( eggs are not a celebration meal !)
So an internet search bought up the Indian Room at Belnheim palace and I booked three of us in for a three course meal with champagne - £28.50 each, not knowing what to expect really but by booking the meal, we also got discounted admission to the Palace and gardens.
Our meal was wonderful, the Indian room is beautiful and looks out on to the gardens.
There was a choice of four options for each course and either complimentary glass of house champagne, or house red or white wine.

We all had different choices and hubby paid extra £2.50 for the rib eye steak which came with possibly the best chunky chips ever ( just not quite as good as my mums ! ).
I had Salmon and champ and daughter had pork belly.

The cheese board was gorgeous, four cheeses, crackers, celery, grapes and I think it was wine preserve.

Our waitress was very nice and I have to say , this treat made my birthday

By booking in advance, we received a gift certificate, which we simply exchanged on the day.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rubyreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
252 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
“Food and service faultless for Sunday lunch”
Reviewed May 25, 2014

As a special treat for my partner's birthday I booked the entrance to Blenheim Palace and Sunday lunch in the Indian Room package. It wasn't cheap but it was well worth every penny. Food choice was great and cooked to perfection. Service was fabulous. Drink prices were very reasonable. All in all a great lunch in a wonderful setting. Would do this again for a treat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Loncat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Disgraceful!”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Yet another Searcsy run disaster.....poor service, poor food but a fantastic location within Blenheim Palace....

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indian Room also viewed

Woodstock, Oxfordshire
Woodstock, Oxfordshire
 
Woodstock, Oxfordshire
Woodstock, Oxfordshire
 
Woodstock, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Indian Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing