We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Much much better than it appears”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Duke of Marlborough
Ranked #2 of 14 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Much much better than it appears”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013

The Duke appears to be a country pub which has added some hotel rooms at the back - and it looks a little like a 60s motel from the carpark (not quite the Bates Motel but its not very nice). We checked into our room and thought it dark, dinghy and dull. The light above the table did not work, one of the bulbs in the 3 bulb centre had gone and neither bedside light worked. Reception were very prompt to fix the bedside lights and the room brightened a little. The room and the bathroom were nice enough though the bed felt VERY hard.
We went, with the friends we were travelling with, for dinner. And we were blown away! A huge menu, lots of choice, and the quality was superb.
We got back to the room and the good food and drink had the remarkable effect of making the whole room seem brighter.
The hard bed turned out to be fine and we had a great sleep. And during the outstanding breakfast the next morning the manager (owner?) said "so sorry about the bedside lights. When I went to check them when you were at dinner the whole room seemed dark so I put brighter bulbs in the ceiling too,,,,,sorry about the light above the table, that seems to be a bigger problem than a duff bulb"
So not a great start - but a really great finish
We definitely recommend

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    96
    20
    13
    8
See reviews for
75
131
2
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our cream tea that was booked a couple of months before as a giftsfortwo.com voucher from Christmas. We were staying 2 nights at a coaching inn 12 miles away and I did a lot of research of where our voucher could be used in the same area. I made a good choice! After a lot of walking around Blenheim Palace a short distance away, ( I really do recommend! )I was glad to sit down and relax. The low table by the wood-burner was already set up for tea for two, with a pretty pink flower tea set. The young lady greeted us, showed us to our table and offered us a pot of tea/coffee and informed the chef that we had arrived - I needed a glass of wine first!
The assortment of tasty, quality sandwiches/cakes/scones, cream and jam were amazing! On of the best cream teas that I have seen and enjoyed! The cake stand too was part of the same tea set - I want one like that!
The service, food and ambience was great - I would thoroughly recommend a cream tea at the Duke of Marlborough.

Room Tip: We did not stay a night, just enjoyed a cream tea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suesawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

We were going to visit Blenheim Palace and the Duke of Marlborough came up on google, it had some good reviews so we booked it. We stayed there after our visit to the Palace, which is just up the road. The room was a very nice size clean and a really comfortable bed. We ate in the Restaurant in the evening, the food was brilliant and the staff very helpfull and attentive.We had the full English breakfast in the morning, which was included in the price, we could of had cereals as well. The breakfast was yummy with loads of toast with homemade preserves and Marmalade a lovely end to our trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bungleboy1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

The title makes my main point really, this is a nice old English country pub, possibly needing some decor improvements, but the rooms were satisfactory.
The most notable parts were the good friendly welcome and service, and the excellent breakfast in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QuestForQualityFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here for one night after visiting nearby Blenheim Palace. It was very easy to find, and the rooms were just fine for the price we paid. Nothing spectacular, but comfortable and clean. All in all good value. What made our stay special was the excellent service. We ate at the on-site restaurant in the evening and had breakfast there in the morning. We had outstanding service both times. The servers were prompt and friendly. They gave special attention to our 4 year old daughter and brought her a balloon after they saw her admiring some that were being set up for a party that night. The full English breakfast was perfect and freshly cooked, with a nice variety of marmalades (my favorite) on offer. And the atmosphere, especially with the fireplace going in the evening, could not have been better. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kamieberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, UK
Level Contributor
88 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

My BF and I stayed here over the BH weekend. We wanted somewhere a little oustide of Woodstock village and away from the festival, this was perfect. Just a short bus ride into the village. Our rate included breakfast, full English and many other options on the menu. Breakfast was freshly made and perfect! The girls behind the bar were very helpful and friendly. Our room was nice enough, we had a sofa, T&C making facilities etc. Nice and clean. Overall a great place, we plan to return next year for the festival and to the Duke of Marlborough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights as we wanted to visit Oxford and Blenheim Palace and this is ideally located for both.
The staff are friendly and were helpful on advising us on getting into Oxford. They have a bus service that runs from outside or we used the Park & Ride into Oxford. It is only 5 min drive from Blenheim Palace and we went in the entrance signposted as you pass through the village of Woodstock.
The room was clean & the beds were comfortable with Sheets & blankets not duvet which made a change. The bathroom had lovely soft fluffy white towels.
We ate one night in the pub and the food was lovely and the owner/landlord was very chatty. I would stay here again, especially as we upgraded to an annual pass for Blenheim.
They have Wifi, but my son could only get a connection if he sat outside the room, didn't try it in the pub itself!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ATHTPOMPEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
1.7 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant
1.8 mi away
Feathers Hotel
Feathers Hotel
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#11 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
1.8 mi away
Marlborough Arms
Marlborough Arms
#3 of 14 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Duke of Marlborough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Duke of Marlborough

Property: Duke of Marlborough
Address: Woodleys, Woodstock OX20 1HT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Duke of Marlborough 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Duke of Marlborough is a 13 bedroomed historic coaching inn situated just outside the well known town of Woodstock and a stone's throw from Blenheim Palace, the birthplace of Sir Winston Churchill. The hotel features a bar, restaurant and large function room serving a wide selection of traditional English food with many ingredients locally-sourced. Complimentary Wi-Fi is available in public areas and free parking is available for all guests. Recently refurbished the bedrooms at the Duke of Marlborough are well appointed and spacious, situated over two floors overlooking the grounds of the hotel. Located just 2 miles from Woodstock, the Duke offers easy access to the historic city of Oxford, which is just a 25-minute drive away. Blenheim Palace is only a 5-minute journey by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Duke of Marlborough reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Duke Of Marlborough Hotel Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing