We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely helpful and conscientious hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Townhouse
Ranked #4 of 14 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Colyford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Extremely helpful and conscientious hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

The Townhouse is in a lovely location - the High Street is a quiet street away from through traffic and close to some super pubs (for evening meals). Our hosts were very welcoming and offered great advice re-local amenities and attractions. The rooms were of reasonable size, comfortable and very clean. We were served excellent cooked breakfasts - good range on offer. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts.
The bed could have been a little more comfortable but this is probably just a personal concern.
Would thoroughly recommend this B&B to anyone

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MandCW_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townhousewoodstock, Owner at The Townhouse, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear MandCW_13,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review after stay at The Townhouse. We are glad to note that you enjoyed your stay and much appreciated such an encourged review.

We look forward to welcoming you back again.

King Regards,

Jason
The Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    40
    6
    3
    0
See reviews for
27
79
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

A true gem of an establishment run by two amazing hosts, my fiancée and I thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at the townhouse. We would be very happy to stay again. The room was very clean and comfortable, the tips for parking the guys gave were invaluable and the breakfasts we were served were hearty and well cooked. We can't speak highly enough of this guest house, and I would happily recommend a stay there to anyone visiting Woodstock.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townhousewoodstock, Owner at The Townhouse, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Stephen H,

Thank you very much for a such excited review following stay with us. We were pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with our services and also thank you very much for such recommendation.

We hope to seeing you again in the near future.

Best wishes,

Jason
The Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Townhouse is in a nice location in Woodstock but my taxi driver couldn't find High Street which was a shame as we drove around for 50 minutes before he finally phoned them! The guys who run it are GREAT. They couldn't be more helpful, friendly or hospitable. It's an old house so the stairs are narrow and hard to climb with a suitcase but of course I didn't have to - as said, the guys are great :-) The double room at the top of the house is clean and bright although too small for a desk and chair to work at - the only negative about staying here. Breakfast was very good and the shower works well - very important to me. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ptgrrtt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townhousewoodstock, Owner at The Townhouse, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear ptgrrtt,

Thank you for you taking the time to review after stay with us and also thank you for this lovely review, this is a hugh encouragement to us and we will keep doing our best to meet guests' satisfactions.

Thanks again and look forward to seeing you again!

Best Wishes,

Jason
The Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
souhampton
Level Contributor
98 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Just got back from staying at the Townhouse and i can say that the two guys who run it are amazing , we had a slight problem with a sqeeky headboard which we mentioned and when we got back it had been amended , breakfast was great , nice and filling, we didn't need to eat until the evening and the whole building is beautiful. It is right in the centre of Woodstock so close to pubs and shops.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sotonnickSouhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townhousewoodstock, Owner at The Townhouse, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear sotonnickSouhampton,

Thank you very much for taking the time and effects to review The Townhouse guest house after stay with us, and we were pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay with us and also left us such a positive feedback.

Thanks again and hope to seeing you soon!

Kind Regards,

Jason
The Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
midlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

great b and b really friendly hosts fantastic breakfast good bed. rooms and bathrooms a little small but perfectly functional and clean noticed some dust but nothing major. in a lovely place free parking across the road.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cls123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Perfect location, deceptively spacious and very comfortable well equipped rooms. Lovely furnishings, great supply of local information.Stayed in twin-bed room 'Sarah' overlooking quiet square. Plenty of room. Very clean - even a bidet in bathroom plus comp shampoo/body lotion etc. Although arrived late on a Saturday night, on-street parking was not a problem even though many local restaurants were still full there was plenty of space to park nearby. Breakfast was possibly the best and freshest I've ever had in a b&b/even five star hotel.. Dining room overlooks patio area and there's an open kitchen - nice touch. Fresh ingredients - nothing tinned like many other b&bs in this price range...so fresh mushrooms and fresh baby tomatoes etc. Wonderful hosts - nothing too much trouble was the general talk of guests during breakfast. Would definitely recommend. Only downside if being critical - fairly steep stairs and heating was on quite high for my taste...but opening sash window to fresh air quickly sorted this out.

Room Tip: There is one downstairs room - Zoe - so probably best option if you can't climb fairly steep sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler0822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
townhousewoodstock, Owner at The Townhouse, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear worldtraveler0822, thank you for taking your time to review our guest house after stay with us.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at The Townhouse. But sorry to tell you that the room downstair 'Zoe' is a private room and I and my girlfriend live in there, the reason I named the room as 'Zoe' is beacuse that is the most beautiful name to me as long as other five names, we only have 5 rooms available, so we named 5 rooms as 'Sarah', 'Henrietta', 'Mary', 'Elizabeth' and 'Anne' to aviod usual number 1 to 5 on the doors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed in Woodstock after a day in Oxford and The Townhouse is a very comfortable B&B near the wonderful Blenheim Palace. The hosts are very friendly and attentive, and provided a lovely breakfast of cereal, fresh fruit, juice, toast, and omelette or full English. The room was very comfortable with a nice firm bed and good TV reception. I would definitely recommend and return myself if in the area again.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear would avoid any noise from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NoGrumbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,578 reviews
0.0 mi away
Feathers Hotel
Feathers Hotel
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 753 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,153 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Blenheim Buttery
The Blenheim Buttery
#5 of 14 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Glove House
The Glove House
#1 of 14 in Woodstock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Townhouse

Property: The Townhouse
Address: 15 High Street, Woodstock OX20 1TE, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Townhouse 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Townhouse B and B is a listed historical building in the centre of Woodstock, Oxfordshire, situated behind the Town Hall. Blenheim Palace is just a short stroll down the road.We offer bed and breakfast guest accommodation in well appointed bedrooms, which all have en-suite facilities and power showers, free-view TV, tea and coffee making facilities and free Fi-Wi also available in the rooms. We have three bedrooms, one super king size twin room (different room types can be arraged upon requests.) and one small double room. Parking is free and available directly outside. (No private parking available but there are 3 public car parks around Woodstock!). Our location is ideally for visiting Bicester Village, The Cotswolds, Oxford, Stratford-Upon-Avon, Burford, Stow-on-the-Wold, and our accommodation is ideal for short breaks, wedding guests, business travellers and overseas visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing