We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient”
Review of Marlborough Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marlborough Arms
Ranked #2 of 13 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Very close to Blenheim palace ( walking distance)on the main road of Woodstock which is a charming little place choices of pubs for nibbles and drinks. Rooms large and comfy beds. The staff were very sweet and not at all imposing, which I really appreciate :)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (370)
There are newer reviews for Marlborough Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

224 - 230 of 370 reviews

Reviewed October 17, 2013

Having just spent 3 nights at the Marlborough Arms I can only recommend this wonderful establishment to prospective travellers. It oozes history (it was established in the 14th century). The room we stayed in (Room 10) was amazing with en-suite facilities that included a stand-alone roll top bath and shower cubicle. The bed was very comfortable. The room and hotel were kept very clean. The full English breakfast was well cooked and tasted delicious. Unfortunately the Marlborough does not open the kitchen for lunch or dinner but there are many welcoming pub restaurants within the village.
Woodstock is next door to Blenheim palace for those who like impressive palaces and Oxford, with its historic past, is just a short bus ride away.
All in all my partner and myself are happy to rate the Marlborough Arms with top marks and will definitely stay there again when we are back in the area!

Room Tip: Room 10 is fantastic!
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 406PeteP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

If you advertise "Luxury B&B", be sure to make sure its everywhere - not just in the bedroom or bathroom. The choice at breakfast was not luxury at all. When we arrived at 9.00am for breakfast, the fruit bowl (looked like tinned grapefruit) was all but gone - nothing interesting on the menu - actually there wasn't one to choose from - just the normal full English offered by a member of staff. No fish, cold meats, surprising since the area is full of American and European tourists. I asked for decaff tea, but it tasted strange. I'd have liked decaff options and gluten free choices of cereals. Poor all round I thought.
For the price we paid for the room/breakfast, I was upset and disappointed and felt cheated.
The wifi in the bedroom was also poor although we were told to try it as it was pretty good in most rooms.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the main A44 to Oxford road considerably noisier than elsewhere. Old windows rattle.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Poppet57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlboroughArms, Owner at Marlborough Arms, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Thank you for your constructive comments regarding our breakfasts. We will look into offering more choices in future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Charming old coaching inn right in the middle of the town. This is a B & B & not a hotel so no other meals available or "regular" bar but quality drinks can to purchased for residents & also arranged for when you return late at night. The lounge is very comfy & welcoming with plenty of nice sofas, magazines, a big oak table to gather around & big fireplaces (which I am told are lit in winter). This is probably the best of both worlds as there are a number of quality hotels & pubs all very close together so its good to get out & explore but with the option of this quiet haven if you prefer with no mass invasion from the public. The town was packed this weekend & even standing room was difficult for a drink when out & about. Bedrooms are very clean, comfy bed with crisp white sheets, flat screen TV etc - all that you would expect. the public rooms make you want to sit & relax with French doors that open onto a small court yard with outside seating, parking is plentiful. I understand that the whole house can be rented (12 rooms) for large parties etc & caterers arranged if required. Property dates back to the late 1400s so creaky stairs & full of character - but a good feel to the place & sympathetic to old & new. Great breakfast with a good choice, better than some large hotel chains & friendly service. Our room was on the front & it was a busy weekend, but we didn't notice any noise from the street. I would imagine in very hot weather it could be uncomfortable though. It probably seems pricy for a B & B normally, but not when you compare it to the cost of other rooms in the town & the location. it does offer more than a regular B & B.

We ate at the Kings Arms across the road. Stylish restaurant, great food but you would need to book, so worth planning ahead, even lunch in the town was very busy. There is a great deli & cafe straight across from the B&B, had a quality cream tea.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here in September for 2 nights to enjoy the town and surroundings of Woodstock. The hosts at the Marlborough Arms made one feel very welcome and recommended the best places to dine in the town. These recommendations were very accurate. Excellent food was enjoyed in these establishments. Lovely old room overlooking the main street and a hearty breakfast completed the experience. I would recommend the Marlborough Arms.

Room Tip: Go for a larger room if possible.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonWizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We took over the Marlborough Arms in Woodstock for a family wedding in August 2013. We had a wonderful time. The Marlborough Arms is a very old coaching inn and has fantastic character. It is centrally situated but has a large car-park for the sole use of the residents. The staff and owners couldn't have been more helpful and nothing was too much trouble. We stayed in a comfortable bedroom (and all of them are different). The breakfasts were excellent with limitless coffee and toast on offer by the attentive staff. Please don't expect American style bedrooms etc - this is a wonderful old building with creaking oak floorboards, flag floors and a sweet little courtyard. We would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

An Old Coaching Inn. A good location in the middle of Woodstock . Friendly staff & very clean room. Bed was very comfortable and large bathroom with shower cubicle. Breakfast was average, certainly nothing you would expect from something calssed as luxury BB I feel is a bit over the top and expensive. We were booked in for two nights, but my husband was taken ill on the second day so left at midday on the second day as he needed to see his own Doctor , would have been nice to have had some kind of refund on unsed room .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GLOPURPLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlboroughArms, Owner at Marlborough Arms, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2013

We were very sorry that you had to cut short your visit to Woodstock. It is our policy to refund money if a booking has to be cancelled within our cancellation period, provided we are able to relet your room. Sadly we were unable to do so in this instance. I believe I also offered you discounted accommodation to you if you were able to visit Woodstock again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,660 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Feathers Hotel
Feathers Hotel
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,346 reviews
1.8 mi away
Duke of Marlborough
Duke of Marlborough
#1 of 13 in Woodstock
342 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Glove House
The Glove House
#3 of 13 in Woodstock
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlborough Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough Arms

Address: 26 Oxford Street, Woodstock OX20 1TS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range: $154 - $261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlborough Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marlborough Arms is a beautiful 15th century coaching inn, situated in the heart of Woodstock, overlooking historical streets and offers Bed and Breakfast. Whilst guests can enjoy the tranquillity of the surroundings they still have good links to the M40. The hotel has been elegantly finished in a classic style in-keeping with the character of the building and surrounding area, with contemporary touches throughout. Guests can also take advantage of the inn's own car park located directly behind the property.Each of the thirteen luxurious en-suite bedrooms are all individually themed with a focus on comfort and relaxation. All rooms differ in shape, size and style, ranging from the Cobalt Room, which is situated overlooking the courtyard which has a contemporary feel with beautiful sensuous fabrics and natural morning light, through to the Sepia Room, which is a very large room with a striking interior of deep greys and gentle soft tones, set off with modern lamps and cushions. All of the rooms have flat screen televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdriers, irons and ironing boards. Some have baths, some large walk-in showers and some rooms are equipped with both! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, HostelWorld, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Marlborough Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlborough Arms Hotel Woodstock
Marlborough Arms Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing