We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class in every way”
Review of Marlborough Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Marlborough Arms
Ranked #3 of 13 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“First class in every way”
Reviewed April 19, 2011

I stayed one night only with my daughter and granddaughter but we were all impressed with the friendly reception from our hostess and the comforts of the establishment.
I can unreservedly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank afyoung27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    114
    28
    14
    7
See reviews for
42
220
6
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Somerset
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2011

Clean spacious and comfortable rooms in a charming old hotel. Good breakfasts. Secure parking accessed from a minor road to the rear. Full range of restaurants close by. For mid range we chose The Crown and the slighly better Star Inn.
You can walk to Blenheim Palace as it is 1km door to door. Transfer your entry ticket to an annual pass for no extra charge.
Another bonus is the bus service S3 which has a bus stop right outside and takes 35 min. every half hour to the centre of Oxford. Too good to miss.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TauntonPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2011

My wife and a couple of friends stayed at the Malborough Arms whilst attending a classic car auction nearby last weekend ,and were delighted to have booked in this delightfull "upmarket b and b" I think it is undersold as a b and b, the owners made us welcolme as soon as we arrived directing us to their car park behind the hotel, then showed us to our lovely very tastefully decorated and very large room with a massive very comfotable bed ,and matching "family size shower room"The owners wisely have decided just to do bed and terrific breakfasts and drinks for residents only, as there are plenty of eating places in Woodstock. They recommended an Indian and a Italian for the second noight and they were both delicious.The whole experience was quite splendid I have stayed in Woodstock before, at a far more expensive establishment but I can honestly say that our stay at the Malborough was far more ejoyable and less "starchy".The owners told me that they also do wedding receptions, a great venue I wouuld think N H Norwich

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nick_hall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, Bucks
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2011

Great rooms large and value for money
Great linen and beds
Window restoration in time would be welcome
Quieter that other hotels on the same busy main road due to thick curtains
Grand new dining room
Just needs wifi then you have the perfect combination which would be a cheap fix then could easily command a higher tariff

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tj38marlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 18, 2011

If you are looking for somewhere to stay then you cannot do better than this hotel. It was bitterly cold outside but we received the warmest of welcomes once inside. Such a change from the usual indifferent attitude of most hotels.
BTW it is also extremely comfortable but a degree in astrophysics would be an advantage to operate the TV - just joking.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_H27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2011

A wonderful weekend break!

We had a wonderful time, lovely room with standing bath.

Woodstock is great little town just to walk around in the day, great restaurants for an evening meal, and of course Blenheim Palace place is a great afternoon out with a lovely walk around the grounds.

Alex & Polly

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexpolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2011

We had a lovely time at the Marlborough Arms and the new owners are very welcoming and easy-going. The room was very comfortable (no hair dryer, but I am sure they can lend you one if you need). There could also be more options for the breakfast (i.e. pancakes) and a fruit salad/fruits, though it did not spoil our stay in the slightest......constructive feedback :). We strongly recommend it and hope to go back with the family some time soon.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karina045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,641 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Feathers Hotel
Feathers Hotel
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
819 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,312 reviews
1.8 mi away
Duke of Marlborough
Duke of Marlborough
#1 of 13 in Woodstock
335 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Glove House
The Glove House
#2 of 13 in Woodstock
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marlborough Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlborough Arms

Property: Marlborough Arms
Address: 26 Oxford Street, Woodstock OX20 1TS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Marlborough Arms 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marlborough Arms is a beautiful 15th century coaching inn, situated in the heart of Woodstock, overlooking historical streets and offers Bed and Breakfast. Whilst guests can enjoy the tranquillity of the surroundings they still have good links to the M40. The hotel has been elegantly finished in a classic style in-keeping with the character of the building and surrounding area, with contemporary touches throughout. Guests can also take advantage of the inn's own car park located directly behind the property.Each of the thirteen luxurious en-suite bedrooms are all individually themed with a focus on comfort and relaxation. All rooms differ in shape, size and style, ranging from the Cobalt Room, which is situated overlooking the courtyard which has a contemporary feel with beautiful sensuous fabrics and natural morning light, through to the Sepia Room, which is a very large room with a striking interior of deep greys and gentle soft tones, set off with modern lamps and cushions. All of the rooms have flat screen televisions, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdriers, irons and ironing boards. Some have baths, some large walk-in showers and some rooms are equipped with both! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Marlborough Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marlborough Arms Hotel Woodstock
Marlborough Arms Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing