We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Blenheim Buttery
Ranked #4 of 13 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We only stayed for one night and I was sceptical with regards to noise as this is an old building (squeaky floorboards anyone) but I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms have a simple interior but the bed is so wonderfully comfortable. I didn't hear a thing from other rooms or the hall.
There was a delay at breakfast but they did apologise and I must say that was a very yummy breakfast we got. I would go back any time. Lovely place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SomerscalesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    76
    18
    3
    3
See reviews for
25
110
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

I have to start by saying that the rooms are great, sparkling clean, warm and with all the facilities. However, what we didn't know was that to access all of the bedrooms, the access was outside via an uncovered stone staircase with a poorly painted handrail. One of our party had mobility problems and in the rain this was a problem.
In the local guide it states the restaurant serves until 19.00 but in reality the last food order is at 16.30, too early in my opinion for an evening meal.
On the first morning breakfast was served in a very cold dining room, but the next day it was warmer. I noticed that my friends were served with just one cup of coffee at breakfast and not asked if they would like more.
Alli in all I don't believe we would stay here again

Room Tip: All rooms are accessed via stairs and due to the age of the building you need to be careful as floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret2910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2013

The Buttery was within easy walking distance of the Blenheim Palace grounds. The young
man who checked us in was extremely helpful in providing us with travel information.
Had a very nice quiet room but the lighting could have been better. We arrived around noon and had a little trouble finding parking on the street but later in the day we were able to move our
car closer to the B & B. Great location to the palace, shopping and restaurants.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda1Westfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

The Buttery is situated on the town square close to shops, pubs and the gorgeous Blenheim Palace. The building is 400 years old and was I assume, a dairy. The rooms are small but well appointed. Breakfast was served in the adjoining restaurant and it was very nice.

My window opened to the square and yet it was so quiet. The town feels like it never made it past the nineteenth century and that is a good thing. Woodstock is so charming and the Blenheim Buttery is the perfect spot for the traveler who appreciates history.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bescolas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Because it was next to where we had parked our car, the Blenheim Buttery was the first restaurant we looked at when visiting Woodstock yesterday lunchtime. My eye was immediately drawn to the menu listing home-made bubble and squeak with eggs and bacon. However, we then walked all around the village for about 15 minutes, looking at every eating place, before being drawn back to the Blenheim Buttery. Having sat down, I decided in the end to have the Parsnip soup followed by the herb-crusted fillet of cod with chantenay carrots, baby broad beans and la ratte potatoes. My wife had the leek quiche. The restaurant was pretty full but we had a lovely bay-window seat.
The soup was very good, although we did have a slight problem with the combined salt and pepper dispenser which poured out unground pepper-corns when up-ended. When it came, the cod was absolutely excellent, one of the best I have had and the vegetables matched the quality. Unfortunately the quiche was slightly overdone/burnt. The only real drawback was the time it took. We had to wait over 20 minutes after the soup for the main course, and this was slightly disappointing. Because we were now running late, we didn't stop for a dessert or coffee.
However the memory of the cod is what I will take away with me. It was worth the wait. Just!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greychristian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Only stayed one night but that one night was lovely - really nice, spotless bedroom, cosy but only complaint is that the lighting was a little dim. There was a decent choice for breakfast and what we ordered was really tasty. Staff were helpful and checked that we had enjoyed our stay when we left. Location, both in relation to Oxford city centre and in Woodstock itself, was good. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Excellent B & B tacked onto a restaurant, right in the heart of Woodstock Village. Recently refurbished which meant a new and comfortable bed in a spotless room However the overall quirkiness of the original surroundings has not been lost. The cooked breakfast was really good. The staff were great. The price was competitive for the local market and the overall quality much higher than some of the local competition.

Only two minor drawbacks The bathroom was very cold in the morning. I did stay on one of the coldest nights of the year however. Breakfast is served from 08.00 which is bit late for some business travel.

I will be making this my first choice for my quarterly visits to woodstock especially when my business is local and I make breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve_Myers_182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,634 reviews
0.1 mi away
Feathers Hotel
Feathers Hotel
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
810 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,277 reviews
1.8 mi away
Duke of Marlborough
Duke of Marlborough
#1 of 13 in Woodstock
325 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Glove House
The Glove House
#2 of 13 in Woodstock
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blenheim Buttery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blenheim Buttery

Property: The Blenheim Buttery
Address: 7 Market Place, Woodstock OX20 1SY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blenheim Buttery 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Blenheim Buttery, offering accommodation in the centre of Woodstock, Oxfordshire. Comprising of 6 en-suite rooms offering clean and comfortable accommodation. All rooms have recently been refurbished to reflect the traditional charm and warmth of this 17th century building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Blenheim Buttery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blenheim Buttery Hotel Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing