We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place - good location.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Blenheim Buttery
Ranked #4 of 13 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2012

We stayed here on pretty much a last minute booking and at a very reasonable rate.
The room was very clean and comfortable.
Staff were very courteous, friendly and helpful.
Breakfast was very good.
Woodstock's a very nice, quaint village with plenty of pubs and restaurants. It's also ideal for visiting Blenheim Palace - having an alternative entry, (Woodstock Gate - at the top of Park Street), to the main one.
All in all no complaints and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluevaleCardiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

188 - 194 of 211 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2012

We booked here last minute and found that the excellent reviews on trip advisor were accurate. The accomodation was spotless, the staff welcoming & the breakfast good. We have been coming to Woodstock for many years and on our next trip it will be The Buttery again

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MartyHel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed at The Blenheim Buttery for 3 nights in February 2012. We originally picked the venue based on its proximity to Blenheim Palace and we were NOT disappointed. The Palace is approx 5 mins walk away from the 'Buttery'. The accomodation was small but very clean and quiet. The breakfast was delicious. It was the perfect place to stay and explore Blenheim, Woodstock and the surrounding areas.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We were attending a wedding locally and chose the Buttery as an ideal base.

The room was situated at the rear of the 17th century Buttery, up some quite steep stairs (not ideal for everyone).

The room itself was large and comfortable with all the usual amenities. The only slight problem with the room was the lack of a heater in the Bathroom (no fun when it is freezing).

Breakfast was very nice, cereals, juice etc serve yourself and hot food cooked to order. I had a Scrambled egg and smoked salmon on the first day (wonderful) and a full English on the second day.

This is a lovely place to stay and would make an ideal base for a short stay in the Oxford area.

Room Tip: Parking is on the street in the village and in low season this is free.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluepeter30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We stayed in a spacious and spotless twin room which was full of character with exposed rafters and sloping ceiling. The beds were comfy and the shower was warm and strong!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thurbonator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
919
Reviewed December 30, 2011

Totally agree with other reviews. The room was as welcoming as the reception. Very clean, two comfortable easy chairs and footstool and a bed to sleep the sleep of the just.
Tea/coffee making, TV, and an ultra modern ensuite in a building dating back around 400 years.
Room 4 overlooking the market square excellent and virtually next door to the Bear Hotel.
My wife and I ate at the Star, opposite, venison bourginion, £13.95, superb then crossed over to the Bear for drink in the bar, no log fire and after 15 minutes of not being acknowledged left.
We have been to the Bear originally several times in the late 80s and were disappointed by the diffirence in the atmosphere and welcome. To be fair the management response was that they were very busy.
Woodstock is well worth a visit, the Buttery choice of stay, Blenheim Palace and grounds at the end of the main street.

Room Tip: Room 4 above market square was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Found this place as I was walking around woodstock . Had a gourgeous steak sandwich and then felt safe enough to book a room ! The room was immaculate and really in keeping with the age of the building. Had a really big delicious breakfast with proper hot coffee. Would really rerecommend this place to those on a budget as felt it offered great value for money

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hossy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,689 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Feathers Hotel
Feathers Hotel
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Duke of Marlborough
Duke of Marlborough
#1 of 13 in Woodstock
360 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Glove House
The Glove House
#3 of 13 in Woodstock
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marlborough Arms
Marlborough Arms
#2 of 13 in Woodstock
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Blenheim Buttery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Blenheim Buttery

Address: 7 Market Place, Woodstock OX20 1SY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range: $102 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Blenheim Buttery 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Blenheim Buttery, offering accommodation in the centre of Woodstock, Oxfordshire. Comprising of 6 en-suite rooms offering clean and comfortable accommodation. All rooms have recently been refurbished to reflect the traditional charm and warmth of this 17th century building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Blenheim Buttery reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Blenheim Buttery Hotel Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing