We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas joy”
Review of Feathers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Feathers Hotel
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is how to spend Christmas. Being born and bred in Oxfordshire it was great to return. The Feathers is a proper old fashioned, quality hotel. We stayed on the top floor (29) and the staircase up to the room is part of the overall charm. Very, very clean with a comfy bed and nice bathroom. The staff were fantastic and Jeremy was an ultimate professional. The food was very high quality and better than certain "starred" restaurants I've visited. Midnight Mass was lovely, with the most infectiously enthusiastic Vicar I've ever known and a run around Blenheim Palace on Christmas morning blew away the cobwebs and the wine! Summer in Woodstock is also beautiful - go to the Feathers if you love traditional buildings, great service and wonderful food.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at Feathers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

what a delightful review you have posted about us all...It is truly touching when someone shares such comments for everyone else to see.

You must come back and see us all again soon and our warmest wishes go out to you.

My kindest regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (834)
There are newer reviews for Feathers Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

612 - 618 of 834 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

The location of the Hotel is excellent, right in the center of beautiful Woodstock town. The hotel itself is very welcoming and warm, putting together stylish and colourful furniture with historical settings. Both rooms and common spaces demonstrate care and attention to details, combined with a helpful, efficient and always smiling staff.
Just two remarks: windows in some of the rooms are very old and don't close properly, a refurbishment would be needed; the carpet in reception area was light coloured and very nicely designed, but when we entered it was stained and wet, giving a first impression which is not at the level of the care you will find anywhere else in the hotel: maybe a different carpet will help avoiding this impression.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maq_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at Feathers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and am glad to inform you that we have decided to change the rug in our reception area, because of the same reasons that you have mentioned!

We will look at our windows throughout the property as part of our ongoing in house refurbishment plan.

kind regards.

Jeremy du Plessis

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

While visiting the Cotswold area on holiday from Ireland. with my husband we were told to come and visit your hotel and we were not let down .from the moment we entered the hotel .The attention to detail of everything was superb be it the toilets which were immaculate and the reception area was very welcoming and the decor was lovely As my husband is in the hotel trade i was a bit worried as he can be a bit of a pain as he had his moments in hotels that are meant to be good but are not ..The bar area and the selection of Gins is quite an eye opener .We would of had a few Gin and Tonics if we didnt have to drive but Alan my hubby did not too many as it would have spoilt the night.The meal and service we had was great and again the attention to detail is there to see .We will recommend the hotel and bar to all our friends back in Ireland

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cabawbeastwell87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at Feathers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very generous comments regarding your stay with us.

We all appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.

General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My wife booked the gin experience at Feathers as a birthday surprise. She had originally booked a double room, but we were placed in one of the suites. Huge room, tastefully decorated.
The gin tasting menu was extensive & the knowledge of all of the staff was exceptional. Tried to sample all of the world record number of gins on offer but found time to be against us, might have to visit again!
An excellent night's sleep in the huge & comfortable bed. Followed by a variety of breakfast choices. I opted for the Feathers cooked breakfast but was again upgraded to the Churchill (at least double the size), far too much food but all of an excellent quality (sausages were particularly meaty).
Only downside to the hotel is a lack of dedicated parking. We originally parked in the grounds of Blenheim & moved later in the evening to outside the hotel.
Much recommended hotel. They have high standards & offer a bit of uniqueness to add to the experience.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christofofofof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at Feathers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

I was delighted to read your feedback regarding your recent stay with us and it sounds like you enjoyed our World Record Collection of gins. We are now over 170 and still rising!

We always try to upgrade people where possible, it's a nice touch that does not cost anything and we all love a surprise!

We look forward to seeing you back soon and showing you a few new gins!

Have a pleasant Christmas and Festive period.

Warmest regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Just a one night stay for business, arrived late to an oasis of calm, warmth and quality.
the staff know their stuff, their style of service is relaxed, efficient and genuine. the rooms are just as described by others. the bar menu was on offer...and if this is just the bar then the restaurant should be a real joy.

it's on the radar for a visit for pleasure and I really do recommend it without hesitation

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicks51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at Feathers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to read your comments and even more so that you feel that our service standards are to your liking as well as your overall view on what we offer.

We look forward to seeing you again hopefully in The New Year, when we can look after you again.

Have a lovely Christmas and Festive period.

Warmest regards,

Jeremy du Plessis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed here for our friends wedding nearby.
Despite not being the cheapest hotel in Woodstock, we really enjoyed our stay, had great value for money and the staff went far and above the call of duty.
Having misjudged the Saturday traffic, we arrived 2 hours prior to check in, which luckily for us, didn't seem to be a problem.
Breakfast was fantastic and set us up for the day.
On check out, I got chatting to a friendly gentleman, who turned out to be the Manager, he was very informative and gave a great insight to the area and hotel.
All in all, a great hotel for exploring the Eastern Cotswolds and VERY close to Blenheim Palace.
We are now on their mailing list, which I usually oppose, however, having just received their recent deal with dinner B&B, I have to say, we are very impressed and look forward to a return visit soon.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwixRandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at Feathers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive and kind words. We are all delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and how much you liked the area. It is a beautiful part of the country.

Having spent the last 8 years of my life around Oxford, I have to say, I concur with your remarks!

I am glad that you found my advice and instructions helpful...

Kind regards,

Your friendly Manager!

Jeremy du Plessis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Booked myself and my better half a suite for a romantic night away and to enable us to visit Blenheim Palace and do some shopping at Bicester Village. I dithered about which Woodstock hotel but really glad I opted for the Feathers. Stayed in a feature suite (suite 4 - I have uploaded a couple of photos) and it was lovely with a really comfortable bed and separate sitting/dining area and even an extra loo off the sitting room area. For us a nice room and good food are the main requirements in a hotel and we certainly got those. We've stayed at the sister hotel, Lords of the Manor - which is Michelin starred, but enjoyed the Feathers more as we had a nicer room and the food was lighter and tastier. Enjoyed sampling the delights of the cocktail bar too - would ....................definitely recommend a French Martini!

Room Tip: Get a suite if you can - the hotel has offers/late deals that include dinner, bed and breakfast for...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laineylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeremy d, General Manager at Feathers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear Guest,

What a very nice review! We really must have impressed you if you thought that we were better than The Lords of The Manor!

What we do have in common with our Sister Hotel, The Lords, is an ethic of trying to make our guest's stay an enjoyable experience.

I know that Paul Thompson, the General Manager is a totally dedicated professional and I personally admire his approach to Innkeeping.

So to read your very kind words about us all is very special indeed and we are all genuinely touched.

Have a very pleasant Christmas and Festive time.

Warmest regards,

Jeremy du Plessis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,657 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant
5.7 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,343 reviews
8.6 mi away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
1,827 reviews
10.7 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Feathers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Feathers Hotel

Address: Market Street, Woodstock OX2O 1SX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Woodstock
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range: $138 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Feathers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, HRS, Hotel.de, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Feathers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Feathers Hotel Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing