We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely room, nice position in village”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We had room 1, an outside walk to a cottage style entrance but a very nice room!
We had an excellent stay however breakfast, while a nice meal, lacked atmosphere, we commented it was like eating in a library.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank dcfwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Bear following your stay with us.

I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay overall, particularly your room, however may I apologise for your disappointment with the ambience at breakfast - I have discussed this with our Restaurant Manager who is reviewing the service and music to avoid any similar concerns.

We do hope to welcome you back to the hotel.

Best wishes

Paola Cassotti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,700)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,214 - 1,220 of 1,701 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2013

This is the third time my wife and i have stayed at this historic hotel,
Apart from being situated so close to the wonderful Blenheim Palace ,the Bear offers very comfortable accommodation,in rooms that are cosy and well furnished..
Excellent choice of menu either in the bar or the restaurant,and breakfast is first class.
The staff go that extra mile for you,making your stay a really memorable one.


Clive and Margaret Pratt Fareham Hampshire

Room Tip: On our three visits to this hotel all of our rooms have been excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clive p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for submitting your review of your experience following your third stay at the Macdonald Bear Hotel.

I enjoyed reading your review and appreciate the helpful details you provided. It is lovely to receive feedback of this nature and the team are always encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Kindest regards

Paola Cassotti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

We stayed at the Bear Hotel for one night 10th-11th November 2013

Woodstock is a beautiful setting but be aware the roads can be very narrow and finding the Hotel car park was a challenge until we seeked advice from a local who directed us there.
The staff are incredibly attentive and polite and the hotel has a historic ambiance with log fires and traditional wood beams.

We stayed in the William Chamber's Suite (room 33) which was exactly as described. The room is large with a decent ensuite and separate lounge area. It was clean, well presented and had the majority of commodities you would expect in a hotel room apart from tea/coffee facilities which to me was a little disappointing.

Although we did not have dinner at the hotel; only breakfast, the menu and extra's they provide seem to be quite pricey for what is on offer, even the bottles of water in your room will cost you. Breakfast was included in the price and is served in the dining room, they have a variety of choices both continental and cooked options to cater for everyone's taste's however we did notice they charge £17.50 for a cooked breakfast if you are not staying at the hotel which we thought was a ridiculous price for a basic cooked breakfast (nice but nothing fancy)

Overall the hotel was not suited for us (being a couple in our 20s) we found it too quiet and not much choice of things to do particularly in the evening. I would recommend this hotel for an older clientele who enjoy historic places of interest; Blenheim Palace is in walking distance and Oxford is 10-15 minutes drive away, plus there are plenty of tea rooms in the area.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelbrown23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of the Macdonald Bear Hotel following your stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay overall - particularly your suite, however was sorry to learn that the hotel and location was not suitable for your taste.

I appreciate your comprehensive and constructive feedback and appreciate the recommendation to those wishing for a quieter stay.

Best wishes

Paola Cassotti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Had fantastic service at the Bear, the best hotel in Woodstock had a look at the others but they were all quiet and no ambience. Reception staff and restaurant staff all excellent, food great lovely breakfast with vegetarian sausages which was great as very few places offer this. loved our room although small was very cosy (Spencer) had great deal on their website which also offered a £10 discount which I didn't have time to print out but when I got to the hotel the receptionist advised me I had the discount to be deducted which impressed me as most places wouldn't have bothered to let you know. Blenheim Palace only other thing worth seeing as not much else in village,Ashmoleaum museum about 20 mins drive worth seeing and their sister hotel the Randolph looked worth staying in as well, we would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angelica1Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Angelica1Kent

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a glowing review following your stay at the Macdonald Bear Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit, in particular the service from the team, location, food and ambience. We appreciate such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Paola Cassotti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

This Hotel is ideally located, walking straight out into Woodstock and the restaurants and pubs. The room was spacious, well appointed with olde worldy charm and the correct degree of luxury. The staff were all very accommodating, the open fire in the bar is lovely, and there is ample parking.
A great base for sight seeing and enjoying Woodstock itself.
We didn't dine at the hotel so cannot comment on that element.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear Vicki M

Thank you for taking the time to review the Macdonald Bear Hotel following your recent stay.

I was delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable visit - we look forward to welcoming you back!

Best wishes

Paola Cassotti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The Bear Hotel is a charming old coaching inn style hotel, set in the main market square of picturesque Woodstock. The perfect spot for a weekend break in the Cotswolds, especially if you plan to visit Blenheim Palace, which is walking distance from the door. The rooms are very well appointed, comfortable, homely with luxurious touches and family friendly. The staff are super friendly especially at reception and in the restaurant, which serves a fabulous traditional English breakfast. The bar is a lovely cosy retreat for a drink by the fire. Free internet and car parking an added plus. All in all - top marks.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JerseyBean007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2013

Dear JerseyBean007

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that you enjoyed our location, the comfort of your bedroom and that the team looked after you.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Paola Cassotti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Booked 2 rooms. 1 smelt terrible and the manager immediately sorted out another one which I think was an upgrade with no quibbles - that is good service. The hotel is very old and a real maze. But the interior and rooms have been modernised very nicely. Dinner was fine although not outstanding. Booking the DB&B package gives good value - I dont think anyone would happily pay £39 for 3 courses a la carte otherwise. All the staff I met were helpful and welcoming. Parking plentiful and you cant get closer to Blenheim Palace.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sean l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2013

Dear sean l

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Bear following your recent stay.

I was sorry to read of your disappointment with the shortfalls you experienced, however was glad to note that your concerns were addressed and rectified to your satisfaction.

Your feedback regarding the dinner is in no way reflective of our usual standards and I would like to assure you that I have discussed your feedback with our Head Chef, who has asked especially to be associated with my apology.

I appreciate your constructive feedback and do hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Bear very soon.

Best wishes

Paola Cassotti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
0.1 mi away
Feathers Hotel
Feathers Hotel
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
855 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant
4.1 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
7.6 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
5.7 mi away
The Manor
The Manor
#1 of 1 in Weston on the Green
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Bear Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Bear Hotel

Address: Park Street, Woodstock OX20 1SZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Woodstock
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Woodstock
Price Range: $103 - $324 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Bear Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Macdonald Bear Hotel is one of the finest 4-star hotels in Oxfordshire and part of The Macdonald Hotels' Signature Collection. Set in Woodstock, in what was once a 13th century coaching inn, our hotel combines history and culture with exceptional facilities. With direct access to the historic city of Oxford, our hotel is a popular choice for leisure breaks, business and weddings. Our hotel is a perfect venue for celebrations, events and conferences; we boast superb hotel accommodation, stylish meeting and function rooms, peaceful views over the courtyard and stunning period features. Our hotel in Oxfordshire is perfect for a relaxing retreat. Roam the historic city of Oxford and marvel in the dreaming spires or linger in the city's many shops and museums. Once you've finished exploring - we recommend a visit to our award-winning restaurant and bar for the finest of fares and a well deserved nightcap. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Macdonald Bear Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Macdonald Bear
Macdonald Bear Woodstock
Bear Hotel Uk Woodstock
Bear Hotel Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing