We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Feathers Hotel(Woodstock)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Dashwood Hotel(Kirtlington)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bell Hotel(Charlbury)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,766)
Filter reviews
1,766 results
Traveler rating
842
563
226
93
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
842
563
226
93
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblenheim palaceglove factorylovely hotelfour poster bedfeature roommain buildingcar parkhistoric hotelcoaching innnespresso machineold world charmold buildingenjoyable staybreakfast and dinnerlots of characterlovely roomcooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
1,284 - 1,289 of 1,766 reviews
Reviewed October 23, 2013

We had two rooms - 12 and 14 - which are connected by an external door, meaning that they could also be booked as separate rooms.
"Oudenarde" (the name given to Room 12) has a desk, hairdryer, complimentary tea/coffee, an empty bar fridge, iron & ironing board and two single beds. Plus a large flatscreen TV.
The room feels more like a house than a hotel and it has a surprising amount of room to store suitcases.
Carparking is right in front of the room, which is much better than trying to find a spot on the main street (especially when tour buses are coming through).
Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was divine. You can order porridge in addition to the buffet (danishes, fruit compote, cereals, six different juices, toast, tea & coffee).
The main "attraction" is Blenheim Palace, one of the entrance gates is only a short walk away (although still a 20 minute amble to the building entrance) and you can buy tickets at the hotel. Very handy.
Even though we checked out, we were able to leave our car in the hotel carpark until we finished at Blenheim Palace - very helpful.
It was a shame that we were only here for one night. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InfrequentFlyer22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2013

Dear InfrequentFlyer22

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that the team looked after you and you enjoyed your rooms, location and breakfast.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Paola Cassotti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I found nothing to fault this lovely Hotel, The Staff were very helpful, friendly and efficient. The food was brilliant and the general atmosphere was great.
The room we stayed was nice and cosy and not too far from the Bar and Dining Room.
Unfortunately we could stay only the one night but we will return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Philip D

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit such a glowing review following your stay at the Macdonald Bear Hotel.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your visit, in particular the service from the team, atmosphere and your bedroom. We appreciate such a helpful review.

I will be delighted to share your feedback with the team as I know they will be encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Best wishes

Paola Cassotti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

stayed for 2 nights. room was very comfortable and restaurant was excellent and bar meal was up to restaurant standard. staff were great, very friendly and accommodating. situated about 100 meters from the entrance to Blenheim Palace which was fantastic for a visit and a walk around the lake. perfect end to a good stay

Room Tip: we only stayed in one room so can't help you with this. ours was fine
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bowdon14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear bowdon14

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Paola Cassotti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Excellent hotel, super accommodation and excellent staff. Very clean. Had lovely sandwich in the bar in the afternoon and great dinner in the evening, although portions were small, if you want a big meal maybe this is not for you. The flavours were lovely and the meal and service superb. Great farmers market in Woodstock the next day, would come here again when. In the area. Top hotel.

Room Tip: Unless your good with lots of stairs request a room in the coach house. We had amaZing rooms with four poster beds.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear Cindy P

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent visit. I was really pleased to learn that the team looked after you well and you enjoyed your bedroom and dining experiences.

We look forward to welcoming you back!

Warm regards

Paola Cassotti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed here twice in September, the first time in the mainbody of the hotel, the second in one of the exterior rooms. The quality of the rooms are very consistent, clean, comfortable and well appointed. Rooms in the main body of the hotel are accessed via a very uneven staircase, care needs to be taken on them, visitors who are not too confident on their feet might consider one of the external rooms or at least discuss it with the hotel prior to their visit.

Food generally very good, though dinner portions can be small.

Meeting rooms are very good and the wifi works well.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager_Bear, General Manager at Macdonald Bear Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2013

Dear A6T1P

Thank you for submitting your review of your experience following your stay at the Macdonald Bear Hotel.

I appreciate the helpful details you provided. It is lovely to receive feedback of this nature and the team are always encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Paola Cassotti
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews