We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Blenheim Palace
from $107.90
More Info
from $296.00
More Info
from $250.00
More Info
from $209.20
More Info
Reviews (6,438)
Filter reviews
6,087 results
Traveler rating
3,775
1,451
487
212
162
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,775
1,451
487
212
162
Show reviews that mention
All reviews annual pass winston churchill butterfly house untold story day ticket formal gardens flower show pleasure gardens the secret garden state rooms christmas lights at no extra cost stately home modern art gift shop grounds are beautiful entrance fee
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 6,087 reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago

I bought tickets ahead of time (recommended) and took the bus from Oxford (they have a combo discount for the bus R/T and entry fee on a bus that leaves from the rail station in Oxford. It drops you off at the car entry gate to the grounds, and then you have about a half-mile walk to the palace.

One tip; with your pre-purchased ticket, you have to exchange it for an entry ticket at the gift shop (the first building you enter), so don't go to the main doors of the palace before you do that.

The grounds open at 0900, but the Palace doesn't open until 1030, so I walked a good distance to the rose garden and other spots. The estate is massive, and feels almost endless when you're strolling through it.

I managed to get in the queue for the Palace about 20th in line, and when it opened, everyone in front of me stopped for the audio tour devices. I had a paper copy and knew what I wanted to see, so I took a chance and didn't get the audio. The net result is I was first in, and had pretty much a "private" tour on my own, with the masses about 5 minutes behind me. It was great to be there when it was quiet, private, and where I could take photos without jostling with others. Impressive rooms, very nice Winston rooms (go to the bunker in London, though, for the definitive display). They had his Nobel medal there, and also his honorary American citizenship declaration signed by JFK.

Having a guide would probably have added to the experience, but being on my own allowed me to self-pace and still have time for a coffee in their eatery before walking out to catch the bus back to Oxford.

1  Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 days ago

We were looking for a Sunday outing and decided to visit Blenheim. Everything is well laid out and we enjoyed learning more about the history. I have been several times before and liked it better when there were more guides in each of the rooms to answer questions. These days everyone is conditioned to listening to audio tapes that we miss out on the personal contact with people who have a passion for the history of the palace.

Thank Wolf R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlenheimPalace1, Social Media Assistant at Blenheim Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review Blenheim Palace. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed learning more about our history. Guided tours are still available of the Palace, we understand that some people prefer this and others prefer moving around at their own pace! We hope to welcome you back again soon to continue exploring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

We have taken the upgrade to an annual pass as it was quite drizzly the day we went.

All the staff were super helpful and informative.

The palace was so rich in history it was an absolute pleasure to take your time and listen to the auditory commentary. The Churchill exhibition was particularly moving.

We attended the grounds earlier in the year for Battle of the Proms and had wanted to come back and see the Palace ever since and were not disappointed.

The grounds are vast and we look forward to coming back in the warmer months and exploring.

Thank Becky E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlenheimPalace1, Social Media Assistant at Blenheim Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review Blenheim Palace. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your experiences with us, both at the Battle Prom and at the Palace. We look forward to welcoming you back in the coming months to continue exploring.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We visited in the second week of November, sunshine and showers fortunately we did manage to get around the gardens without getting to wet, The trees and landscape was absolutely stunning with all the autumn colours. My overall experience of the whole day went above my expectations. Would definitely recommend a visit so much so we have got an annual pass as i'm sure we missed quiet a few things even though we were their all day.

Thank karenholden1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlenheimPalace1, Social Media Assistant at Blenheim Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review Blenheim Palace. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and hope to welcome you back soon, in less inclement weather, to discover all that we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Unfortunately another rather disappointing event at Blenheim. We and the kids were very excited but on arrival there were already HUGE queues for the small number of food and drink vans available and we were unable to by anything except ice cream (which we didn't want, it was too cold for that) because the boys just couldn't have stood in a queue for an hour. There was no real atmosphere and little in the way of entertainment prior to the fireworks and, although the display itself was ok it was far from the best we've seen. We go to Blenheim a lot as annual pass holders and love it, but they really need to improve their events. Ticket prices are always quite high yet it seems there's never enough money actually pumped in to make the events of a decent standard.

Thank Louise_A_uk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlenheimPalace1, Social Media Assistant at Blenheim Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your visit to Blenheim Palace. We apologise for your disappointment regarding the Halloween Fireworks event. This was the first time we have held a Halloween Fireworks Display and the high demand for catering in a short time frame was underestimated. We are sorry that you experienced long queues during this event and will pass your comments on to our event organisers to address this issue when planning future events. With regards to the Halloween entertainment, we are reviewing all feedback to ensure that entertainment similar to this in the future will be made more prominent to visitors to meet expectations. We hope that you will return to Blenheim Palace to continue exploring all that we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

Although it was an extremely busy day to visit.... the October half term Saturday, it did not seem overcrowded or pressured. The audio tour is excellent, giving key information and fascinating insights from staff and experts e.g the clock ended and tapestry restorer.
It is all on one level so anyone with mobility problems still has full access. Particularly interesting for me was the Father Willis organ , as Ihear the Willis organ is TRURO every week.
We were pleased with the deal on the annual ticket and will return again to try and enjoy the changing seasons In the grounds and gardens.

Was great to see families enjoying the grounds and there’is a trail in the house to engage older children . However one or two families were taking tired and fractious toddlers around, not fair on the child or other visitors. It’s always difficult as a parent with toddlers in public places ,

Due to a fire alarm, the Water Garden cafe was disrupted , staff were very quick to evacuate and check and get back to normal, but we went back to the main concourse and found a good salad option there

An excellent shop where I found some ‘ Churchill ‘ port... just the job for a Christmas present for a Churchill aficionado!

Thank baronessCornwallUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlenheimPalace1, Social Media Assistant at Blenheim Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review Blenheim Palace. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed learning more about our collection. We look forward to welcoming you back again, perhaps to experience the park and gardens at their tranquil best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Spectacular staged events did not happen. Too few food stall for attendance queues were about an hour long.
Security lacking no checks and a visual scan of e-tickets meant that anyone could turn up with duplicate tickets.
Court yard very dark and mix levels and steps. We even lost each other in a space of 2 metres.
Narrow entrances meant people exited by many routes and most unsafe. We were in a big crowd an ended up exiting through a fence. There were no Marshall’s assisting people just telling cars.

Oh and the fireworks lasts about 20mins nothing special and no bonfire. Was to music but that was on the same loop we had listened to for about hour and half after arriving. Everyone is asking for their money back.

Very unsafe
Sorry Blenheim but your lucky not to be hitting the news for a bad accident.

Thank Alison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlenheimPalace1, Social Media Assistant at Blenheim Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your visit to Blenheim Palace. We apologise for your disappointment regarding the Halloween Fireworks event. It is always of paramount importance that all our visitors feel safe and comfortable during any visit to Blenheim Palace. Thorough Health and Safety planning and control measures are always in place for our events for our visitors’ safety. All feedback is appreciated to enable continuous improvements to our procedures. With regards to the Halloween entertainment, we are reviewing all feedback to ensure that entertainment similar to this in the future will be made more prominent to visitors to meet expectations. We hope that you will consider returning to discover all that we have to offer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a really beautiful Palace in stunning grounds. Lots of walks to do too. If you don’t want to go into Palace you can just go in the grounds. You need a full day there as so much to see. It is pricey at £27 but I must say for a whole day it is well worth every penny.

Thank Denise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlenheimPalace1, Social Media Assistant at Blenheim Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review Blenheim Palace. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us. If you have converted your day ticket to a free Annual Pass, it will allow you to return as many times as you like over the next year to see the gardens change with the seasons.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

The first time we went to Blenheim we toured the palace but didn't visit the gardens. It is a must as the formal gardens aren't very large but beautifully tended and the view of the lake (?) is exquisite. The palace is also lovely and over the top opulent. They have added more interactive exhibits. The chapel is lovely. Its fun to hear about the early life of Winston Churchill.

Thank Beth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlenheimPalace1, Social Media Assistant at Blenheim Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to review Blenheim Palace. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed exploring the Palace and grounds. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon to discover all that we have to offer such as the Rose garden, Secret Garden and Churchill Memorial Garden.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This event was awful. We took our grandchildren. The food and drink outlets had massive queues you had to wait about an hour to be served. The firework display was very poor not the spectacular display we were expecting.

The courtyard was very crowded and dark and not much was going on before hand.

The whole event was very poorly organised. Not worth our money.

Thank 123taz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BlenheimPalace1, Social Media Assistant at Blenheim Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 2 days ago

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your visit to Blenheim Palace. We apologise for your disappointment regarding the Halloween Fireworks event. As the event was so popular we received a high volume of visitors, which had an impact on the queues and the experience at times. We’re sorry to hear that you felt that the cost of your ticket on this occasion was not reflective of the high-quality experience which you expect of Blenheim Palace. This event was in partnership with Oxfam and raised over £20,000 for their charity. We hope that you will consider returning to discover all that we have to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews