We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the job!”
Review of The Star Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Star Inn
Ranked #8 of 13 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Fantastic location, in the heart of this beutiful village. I was aprehensive about staying in a pub, but this place is great! The young staff were attentive, and the food was excellent. Room was very comfortable and very clean and nicely decorated. This is an excellent place to stay if your visiting Blenheim Palace.

Room Tip: Only four rooms here, we were in room 4, which was at the back and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UkuleleBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 191 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013

Woodstock is a charming little town, and we had a nice stay for two nights at the Star Inn. We came in Sunday night from Oxford, and had our dinner at the Inn. We quite enjoyed the food. The place was full, with a nice atmosphere - lively, but not too loud. The staff was friendly and helpful throughout our stay.

Our rooms (we had two rooms for three people) were quite all right. Nothing fancy, but functional and clean. Narrow stairs and corridor for carrying larger suitcases, though. Your sleep may be affected by the pub noise at night, and/or the garbage van in the morning.

Next morning we had a good breakfast, and could walk just around the corner to enter Blenheim park through the Woodstock gate. Wonderful! (except for the fact that we were hit by rain and strong wind on entering the park) We really enjoyed exploring Blenheim, especially the landscaped park areas, even though the weather that day was a bit capricious.

We had a look around Woodstock in the evening, to see if there were other places to eat that looked promising, but decided once again on the Star Inn for dinner. I was certainly not disappointed, as I had their "famous" chicken and ham pie with seasonal vegetables - delicious!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NielsKlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I was staying in Woodstock - one of my favourite locations
I went into the Star, and after speaking to the landlady, sat down to watch the TV on my laptop...until an obnoxious barman (later established as JAMIE FLETCHER - THE OWNER'S SON) told me to tuen the volume down
At the time, the voluemwas 1 out of 50, and no one was complaining
The barstaff were embarassed - he has been in a foul mood all day
WILL NOT GO BACK -AVOID THIS FOOL LIKE THE PLAGUE

Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
4  Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We received a very warm welcome when we arrived on a rather rainy day, and were delighted with our beautiful room and bathroom overlooking the Market Place. We were breaking our journey to Southampton and just stayed the one night in Woodstock as we particularly wanted to visit Blenheim Palace which is literally a 10 minute walk away - so a perfect place to stay. We had a drink in the cosy bar and then later ate in the restaurant. Sadly this was a bit of a let down - we thought the food was very average and on the expensive side for what it was and service was slow. Breakfast on the other hand was much better and very enjoyable. Would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: If you like a bath then Room 1 is the only one to have one - and it is a lovely one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harr0gate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Had a lovely stay here. Right on the doorstep of the palace. Comfortable rooms and a brilliant meal. Would definitely recommend to anyone staying in the area. The rooms are spacious and shore is powerful :-).

Stayed: May 2013
Thank Max W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Conveniently situated in the centre of beautiful Woodstock village. Turn right passing the Post Office and Blenheim Palace....birth place of Sir Winston Churchill is walkable, one can also drive and park, via the village gate entrance. Cozy English pub atmosphere, friendly and helpful to a point! Comfortable room after the spiral staircase, there was no one to help with luggage.
Very busy evening restaurant, average pub grub dinner and service. However, very good breakfast and service.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

From the moment we walked into this cozy inn we felt welcome. We appreciated the help with our luggage up the narrow spiral staircase which we later learned is the preferred architectual feature of lodging in the UK. with every interaction the staff made us feel at home. Dinner and breakfast were both very good. The town itself is lovely and as we walked around it in the evening we were treated to bell tower and choir practice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShirleyD49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,672 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Feathers Hotel
Feathers Hotel
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Blenheim Buttery
The Blenheim Buttery
#4 of 13 in Woodstock
204 reviews
1.7 mi away
Duke of Marlborough
Duke of Marlborough
#1 of 13 in Woodstock
349 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marlborough Arms
Marlborough Arms
#2 of 13 in Woodstock
378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Inn

Address: 22 Market Place, Woodstock OX20 1TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range: $104 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Star Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Star Hotel Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing