We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 night stay at Star inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Star Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Star Inn
Ranked #6 of 14 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Shepperton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“2 night stay at Star inn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Just spent 2 nights at star inn and was very happy that I had booked this inn.staff were A1 , very helpful and attentive, food was freshly cooked to order and could not be faulted.The room was very spacious and the bed was sooooooo comfortable.All in all a very enjoyable stay.Thanks to all staff.

Room Tip: Ask for room on lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    64
    22
    9
    6
See reviews for
27
112
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

I have been to the Star Inn several times for dinner and to visit the pub and having been very impressed, thought I would book an overnight stay as the hotel I normally stay in was full. I'm glad I made that choice. The staff are always extremely friendly and efficient and the food is always well above average. Considering this is an Inn and not a hotel, the rooms was very comfortable although a bit small. The breakfast was wonderful. I was surprised how quiet the room was considering the pub / restaurant below and had a pleasant, quiet evening. Anyone visiting Woodstock should really consider staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronaldh171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

The Windmill Inn fell far short of the recommendations we received before booking.
Beware - the advertised price of accommodation is invalid, as we were compelled to pay more because nobody could contact the manager. The promised review/explanation of that has not occurred, but obviously it takes over a week to resolve why customers are charged more than the price displayed on the website.
The menu resembles those in many other venues. The food was pleasant and plentiful but not exceptional. Staff were friendly, but on several occasions we found service took too long.
The accommodation is comfortable, provided you frequent the Inn or can suffer the noise whilst it is open. However do not take too much luggage as the spiral staircases are virtually impossible to climb with anything larger than small hand luggage.
There is no on-site parking and minimal parking directly outside, so grab a spot wherever you are lucky enough to find it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Martins, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Although staying at The Feathers Hotel in Woodstock late last week for a birthday treat (see my review) we decided for our second night's evening meal to eat, on recommendation, at The Star Inn. That morning we called in on our way to Blenheim Palace (see my review) to get an impression of the place and had a very warm welcome and advised to book a table if we were thinking of eating there later, which we did. On our way back from Blenheim Palace late afternoon we called in The Star once again and having found that they had an internal beer garden we went and spent a very pleasant hour in the late afternoon sunshine with a glass of wine and a snack (home made bread, cooked brie and olives). Excellent.
Returning that evening we were shown to a very nice table by a very friendly waitress who took our drinks order and gave us the menu. We were informed that all their food was cooked fresh to order. We ordered crab soufflé and tempura king prawns for our starters and Aberdeen steak and pork Thai curry for our main course. The food was excellent and served in a very friendly manner. We also decided to have desserts and ordered crème brûlée and plum crumble with custard that were equally as good. By this time the place was very busy with every table taken.
All in all, this is a very nice pub providing excellent food and serve at reasonable prices. The next time we visit Woodstock we will definitely make a point of eating again at The Star Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BANNRIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
78 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We have stayed here on two separate occasions and both times found the accommodation to be of a good quality and very acceptable. It is a busy, popular Inn with four bedrooms.

To begin with it is important to state that the access to the bedrooms is not suitable for people with mobility issues. The spiral staircase is very tight with narrow steps. I wouldn't like to try to get a large, heavy suitcase to a room, pack and travel light. This is a historic building not a modern building.

We have stayed in two different rooms and quite frankly preferred the first one to the last but sadly I can't remember the room numbers. The only clue I can give is that the first one overlooked a side passage way and the other, the front of the hotel.

The rooms are individually furnished with a mixture of antique and modern pieces of furniture. The floor in one room was sloping which added to the character feel. Both rooms had a good bathroom with powerful shower and plenty of hot water. Both rooms and bathrooms were clean and comfortable. There is an element of road noise but the rooms do have secondary double glazing.

We ate both times in the bar and had good, enjoyable meals on both occasions. Breakfast is included in the rate and it is more than acceptable. It might be worth reserving a table if you intend to eat in the bar in the evening especially if you are staying over the weekend, this place is very popular and you might not get a table.

The staff are personable and helpful.

We would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Welsh40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

Booked this weekend on the basis of previous write ups and we were not disappointed. Staff were all very friendly and helpful, the breakfasts were good and the evening meal we had there was also excellent.
Having read previous reports mentioning the stairs, we managed them ok, it is a little difficult if you have a large suitcase, but it is a listed building so changing it would be difficult.
We stayed in room one which has a king sized bed and is a good sized room with a large bathroom which we thought was recently redecorated. The bath was big and deep and as we mentioned to management would be easier to get out of if there was a grab handle, older and less able people might have a bit of a problem with this.

Room Tip: Room 1 was a well equipped good sized room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hollywoodhero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Henley-on-Thames
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

Well, my problem began with ordering straight-forward bar food on Bank Holiday Monday at 3.30pm. Just after 4pm I went to the bar and asked how soon our food would arrive and was told five minutes. Over the next fifteen minutes two tables near us who arrived some 20 minutes after we did, had their food delivered.

At this point, understandably perturbed, I went back to the bar and firmly but politely expressed my unhappiness at still having no food 50 minutes after ordering. The stock response was "well we're very busy", to which I responded, "in that case why have two other tables who arrived much later got their food?". At this point a barman came up and scornfully challenged me with "no one else has complained - so what's your problem". Thankfully the bar lady with whom I was speaking ordered him out of the bar. To cut a tedious short, I got a refund and we left.

The place is a shambles.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere in Woodstock, but if you have no choice, expect an earful if you dare complain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SpiritofJimbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,602 reviews
0.1 mi away
Feathers Hotel
Feathers Hotel
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Blenheim Buttery
The Blenheim Buttery
#4 of 14 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Glove House
The Glove House
#1 of 14 in Woodstock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marlborough Arms
Marlborough Arms
#3 of 14 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Inn

Property: The Star Inn
Address: 22 Market Place, Woodstock OX20 1TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Star Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Star Hotel Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing