We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay”
Review of The Star Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Star Inn
Ranked #7 of 13 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place to stay”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

We have just stayed for two night. A lovely room, spacious, clean, great bathroom. Good pub food and very helpful staff. Ate in on the first night, good fish and chips and a good quiz night! A good bus service into Oxford

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tfield2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    64
    22
    9
    6
See reviews for
27
112
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Preston
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2012

We stayed here at the beginning of December and we had the most wonderful stay. The room was tastefully decorated and comfortable, and the bathroom with a roll top bath was great. The staff were very friendly and accomodating and the food was deliscious. I would definitely recommend staying here to anyone. The location was also fantastic for getting to other Cotswolds attractions such as Charlecotte Park, Whitney, Sudeley Castle etc. Overall we were so happy we chose The Star Inn and would most definitely love to come back, thank you!

Room Tip: We had the King Size room which is a little more expensive but was worth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

With my 89 year old farther - ordered 2 prawn sandwiches. Very disappointed! bread was appalling. prawns were very poor quality, Having said that The beer was excellent but for two prawn sandwiches and 3 pints of beer it was over £20. I did mention how disappointed I was but I felt no one was listening.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NickJenvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I were in a party of 6 for one night and stayed at The Star. We had a wonderful time and were made very welcome by the staff. The breakfast is first class and the rooms were very nice. We ate at night in the Inn and had a lovely night, the place was buzzing and the meal and ale were excellent. I would definitely recommend the Star for a visit as it was a very friendly place to stay excellent food and accommodation at a reasonable price. You could also walk into Blenheim Palace from the Inn. Car Parking was a little problem as the Inn did not have a car park, but if you were patient enough you could find a place to park and there was no need to worry about traffic wardens.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here for the night with my young daughter, the pub it self is set in a beautiful location in the centre of Woodstock. All members of staff were extremely helpful, including the manager Jamie, we could not have been more welcomed. The room was lovely, overlooking the town centre. The pub itself was lovely, great selection of drinks and the food was divine, especially the pies! I would recommend anybody visiting this area to come here, as we really enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 1982Heather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon
Level Contributor
96 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

We went here for Sunday lunch after it was booked by another family member at short notice. The Pub is very central within Woodstock and parking can be difficult (but free).

The place was very busy but service was good and although one of the complex drinks ordered arrived wrong (due to chinese whispers) they were very happy to exchange it.

We only wanted a quick lunch so we did not order traditional sunday lunch. The food was good but the wooden boards that the burgers come on are perhaps too tall and things can fall off.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Splodge_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night, used as a base before shopping at bicester village. Woodstock is stunning as is the star, can not fault the friendly staff and excellent service. Nothing is too much trouble for anyone. Food was superb as was the breakfast. Would definately stay here again. Loved it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank archiebold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Woodstock hotels
0.0 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
1,630 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Kings Arms Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Feathers Hotel
Feathers Hotel
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Blenheim Buttery
The Blenheim Buttery
#4 of 13 in Woodstock
191 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marlborough Arms
Marlborough Arms
#3 of 13 in Woodstock
354 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Glove House
The Glove House
#2 of 13 in Woodstock
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Star Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Star Inn

Property: The Star Inn
Address: 22 Market Place, Woodstock OX20 1TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Star Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Star Hotel Woodstock

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing