We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful meal”
Review of La Galleria

La Galleria
Ranked #9 of 33 Restaurants in Woodstock
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Leicester UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful meal”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The landlady had told us about La Galleria but as it was a Saturday evening and we hadn't booked,I assumed we wouldn't be able to get a table.I asked and we were seated straight away.We had the daily special of scallops in pancetta for starter,the beef tenderloin and tiramisu.The food was delivered quickly and was of a high quality.The staff were friendly and the atmosphere was very nice.The dining room is small and the tables were placed very closely but the lively chatter was comfortable.The bill with wine for two was £100 which I thought was very reasonable.A lovely evening.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank GillLeicesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    70
    24
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kidlington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent good value lunch”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

well cooked and presented fresh food served by a friendly waiter.. We were a party of four and choose a full selection of dishes which were all delcious. grilled sardines and clams and mussells in a tomato sauce were particularly good. Nice bottle of Italien wine too and £17,50

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I spent a whole week's holiday trying to keep my husband away from Italian, because that's all we ever steer towards on holiday, but with so many French influenced restaurants in the Cotswolds we were glad to find La Galleria and were very much looking forward to it.

The best thing about this restaurant are the staff/owners, who are knowledgeable, friendly and efficient. The menu is varied and good, but the pasta choices are a little limited.

Having read comments about the specials being read out and not written down I thought this a little harsh, until we experienced it. We felt rather bad having asked the waitress to repeat the mains twice, then not having them, then the desserts, which were about 8 of them all vocally introduced, not written down and of course this means none of the specials had prices, which doesn't really bother me on a nice night out, but it's a bit cheeky. We didn't have dessert because we couldn't remember them! There was a large party of 12 on a business dinner next to us, so I don't know how the waitress managed to convey the specials to them? In fact there was also a table of F1 Lotus men on the other table - meaning I was the only girl and we were the only couple, which is not the restaurant's fault but maybe worth bearing in mind on a week night.

We had carpaccio & fried squid to start, then I had the lemony veal with saute potatoes (which were actually roast pots) and Mr had Sardinian pasta with grated fish. All nice. And the bill with 1 bottle of wine was £70.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah007iow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a wonderful lunch!”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Our first visit and what a lovely surprise! Great food, beautifully presented and impeccable service. Amazing value - we shall be back

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bladon
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disorganised service”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Quality food spoiled by poor service. Lack of organisation or coordination of waiting staff. Having waiting staff TELL customers about five starters and five mains, as their specials for the evening, was unprofessional. Customers cannot remember or get confused about choices.
Overall very expensive for a restuarant with disorganised and inefficient service. Not value for money.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Galleria also viewed

Woodstock, Oxfordshire
 
Woodstock, Oxfordshire
 
Woodstock, Oxfordshire
Woodstock, Oxfordshire
 

Been to La Galleria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing