We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Reunion weekend” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tuppenny Tube

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Woodstock
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Tuppenny Tube
Ranked #13 of 14 Woodstock B&B and Inns
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Reunion weekend”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

We met up with our Australian friends at the Tuppeny Tube for a weekend stay. We were warmly welcomed on arrival and found the room to be comfortable and the beds were particularly cosy. The breakfast was plentiful and of a very high standard.We had a very relaxing time. The host is very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ann_keeling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    12
    2
    3
    2
See reviews for
7
23
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
280 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

We have been staying here for the last three to four years on our annual trip to Woodstock. Peter is very friendly, always remembers our name and has time for a good chat. He is relaxed and attentive and a bit quirky, like the setting. Just off the main drag the rooms are well equipped with what you need. Flat screen TV, access to a hairdryer, a small, functional shower room and the rooms are plainly decorated with art work from the downstairs gallery shown off on the whole walls. I love the mix of wine bar and cafe/gallery downstairs. The crafts on offer are a mixture of good quality cheaper items with more upmarket individual pieces. The cakes are handmade and look delicious. I like the breakfast on offer; freshly squeezed orange juice, proper coffee, yoghurt, fruit and a slimmed down version of a full English breakfast which suits me. Would recommend. It's not perfect and people who want perfection would find fault in some things where the details could be further improved (for example our hot tap was actually labelled cold but I soon worked that out). I like it's charm and will definitely stay again. Next time I am having those cakes!

Room Tip: Don't be put off that the road is outside, the windows at the front have good glazing so you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BettyBoo2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

We popped in for an early impromptu breakfast on Sunday morning and the Tuppenny Tube did not let us down. This is a lovely, warm and friendly cafe with a delicious menu which was delightful. Surrounded by quirky art and nicknaks this is a lovely place just to sit, relax and enjoy. I had some tasty smoked salmon and scambled eggs, washed down with a decent cappuchino. Papers, a gallery to mooch in, friendly staff and a real sense of relaxation - it's just what you want for a mini break. Even the toast and jam was yummy.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UKRachie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

had a great time here with two friends. the staff couldn't be nicer and the rooms beautiful. breakfast was a treat especially after their delicious wine the night before!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marilyn g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2012

We stayed just one night in this great little B&B. Our room was spacious and nicely furnished, with flat screen TV and tea/coffee facilities. The bathroom was on the small side, but not a problem for just the two of us. We really appreciated the fresh milk left in the fridge for us.

The breakfast was good value and was just what we needed after a few drinks in Woodstock's array of pubs the night before. The freshly -squeezed orange juice was good.

The B&B is also an art shop/gallery and cafe, and we really loved looking at the art. So much so that we bought a print.

The owner and staff are very friendly. We highly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becksy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

This is a really nice and quite special B&B, as the owners also have an art gallery and a café downstairs. Our room with bathroom en suite was very nice and functional – quite small but very cozy. The breakfast was very good with a great selection of food and freshly squeezed orange juice. The owners are great and very welcoming – they invited us to an exhibition opening the second night we were there, which was an enjoyable evening and gave us the chance to chat with the locals. This place has a relaxing and artsy atmosphere to it and we really liked that!

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Allan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2012

Visited Woodstock while touring the Cotswolds, as to be honest, couldnt find anywhere worth a second look in Oxford. Booked Tuppenny Tube very late and managed to get half price, excellent value. Bare in mind when booking, the price doesnt include breakfast though this is offered at a discounted price (£5) to residents in the cafe area,included fresh fruit salad, bacon and eggs and toast and coffee, again great value.
Lets get it out the way, the room we had (number3) was 'compact'. It has a decent sized double bed, small fridge,a small TV and hanging area for clothes and en suite shower room, honestly what else do you need. There were complimentry 'products' in the en suite and water in the fridge.
In a nutshell, the accommodation is unusual, very clean, the breakfast was great and the owner and staff were brilliant. Woodstock is a great little town dominated by Blenheim Palace but with so much more to offer.

Room Tip: Room 3 overlooks garden to rear, others facing road may br noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamSarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Woodstock
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Bear Hotel
Macdonald Bear Hotel
#1 of 6 in Woodstock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
4.2 mi away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Feathers Hotel
Feathers Hotel
#2 of 6 in Woodstock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Blenheim Buttery
The Blenheim Buttery
#5 of 14 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Glove House
The Glove House
#1 of 14 in Woodstock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Townhouse
The Townhouse
#4 of 14 in Woodstock
4.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuppenny Tube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuppenny Tube

Property: Tuppenny Tube
Address: 59 Oxford Street, Woodstock OX20 1TJ, England (Formerly Woodstock's Own)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Woodstock
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Woodstock
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tuppenny Tube 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located right in the heart of Woodstock, Woodstock’s Own is ideally suited to tourists and business travellers visiting Oxfordshire. We offer an ideal base for Woodstock, Blenheim, Oxford and Stratford. You can even book the entire venue for a private party! If you are a local or a long-standing visitor to Woodstock, you may know Woodstock’s Own as Queen’s Own – or even as The Tuppeney Tube, as it was nicknamed by residents of Woodstock. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing