We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chinese Restaurant I have been to in ages!”
Review of The Opium Den

The Opium Den
Ranked #144 of 637 Restaurants in Oxford
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Chinese Restaurant I have been to in ages!”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

The food was authentic, fresh, well cooked and tasy, tasy, tasty! The portions were huge and the price very reasonable! There were 5 of us and we opted for a set meal with full starters at £25 a head. We took a doggie bag away with enough in it to feed us all over again! The service was great and the waitress who served us happy, quirky and good fun!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank poppytoadfoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    74
    23
    9
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Henley-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
243 reviews
210 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 531 helpful votes
“Great Chinese country cooking”
Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

This place has about the most authenticated best Chinese food in Oxford and probably Oxfordshire. It's always busy with approx 90% Asian/Chinese clientele which is a good sign. Staff are great and good beers too

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nemesis101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bilbao
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese food”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

This Chinese is slightly more expensive but the food is extremely well cooked, and portions are extremely generous.
All the dishes have totally different tastes, and the stock of the soup was subtle but intense at the same time.
Totally recommended.
We had, fried squid with black pepper/chilli, seafood noodle soup, pork noodle soup. Earlier I have had a plate of stir fried Malaysian style noodles. Nothing to fault with any dish.
Tea quantity was generous.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank bnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Chinese food”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Went in a group on a busy Saturday night. Thank goodness we booked because there is a constant queue to get in. It's a bit noisy but the service was very good and the food was amazing! Very interesting menu. Will definitely go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patsha1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“First rate Chinese food”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

Dined here recently with my wife. A very busy and popular reaturant but we were fitted in. The food was authentic and excellent and the service was great. Overall an excellent dining experience

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Opium Den also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Opium Den? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing