We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chain pub bland fest” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Trout Inn

The Trout Inn
Ranked #122 of 622 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Chain pub bland fest”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

OK - it was in Inspector Morse. I never watched it and I took a big fan there and they didn't really recognise it so I don't think it can lean on that much anymore.
Part of a chain with the Red Lion in Oxford. Both are bland, chain type pubs with the usual bland, unimaginative menu.
Food is OK but service is slow and it is always way too busy

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MeltonBigCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    654
    658
    376
    336
    246
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“AWFUL service!!!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

The pub and the food at the trout is lovely, the service however .. AWFUL!!
I've tried the trout twice and after receiving terrible service both times I will not be returning!
The waitress we had both times was very unfriendly, with a massive 'cant be bothered attitude' resulting in me and my partner being left at the table for 45mins after we had finished our meal, waiting for the bill with our dirty plates still on the table!! We had to then get up and find another waitress for our bill as our waitress seamed to have disappeared home and left us!(quite literally, we didn't see her at all after she had come with our dessert) Also by this time the pub was closing there was staff shouting up and down the pub to each other about the weekend and clearing up around us!! Not even asking if we were done, just looking at is with blank expressions! I have no idea were or how the staff here are trained but it's not even a little bit acceptable. The food is very expensive so you would expect service that reflects that, or even just a smile!!
On one occasion our table got cancelled due to un-foreseen circumstances, in the voice mail that was left by the manager we were offered a table at the sister pub all we needed to do was call back to book the table, after calling several times on the number that was left for us and the pub number we had no answer, even leaving voicemails and emails got us no reply! You would think they would be on ball with the phones if they were rearranging people's bookings!! Never heard anything back at all. That is not how you manage a pub/ restaurant!!
Over all if you like good food and can put up with extremely poor service then go. My opinion, there are far better places to go in Oxfordshire were you get food that's just as good and service that's a hell of a lot better!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lauryn-hansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a lunch spot on our way back to Heathrow (and eventually back to the US) and found this place on our GPS pub guide. Stopped in for lunch on a Sunday without a reservation. NOT recommended but we were able to find a quiet little alcove to sit and enjoy a roast beef lunch. The atmosphere was busy but cosy and the staff were very attentive. The day was a little chilly to sit on the terrace but on a warmer day the view of the river is lovely. The food was delicious and overall we enjoyed this spot for our last day in the UK.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reno nevada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great little spot on the river. Good food, wine and service. Definitely recommend. If it is warm you can sit outside on the river.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank kimajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“It was ok but i have had better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

We arrived on a weekday evening without thinking we would need to book! It was HEAVING!
Luckily we found a table and had the most delicious starter of goats cheese and onion on a sort of pizza bread.

My main was very odd, I had lamb but was astounded to find i had a portion of peas with it! Not something you would expect to find when their market is 'High end.'
My douphinaise potatoes had large slices of chorizo which overpowered everything else.

Amazing atmosphere and location, easy parking. Food didn't meet up to cost.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Millybob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Trout Inn also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Trout Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing