We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fishy delights, lovely cocktails”

Portabello Restaurant Bar & Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Portabello Restaurant Bar & Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #76 of 634 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $52
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: A chic, cosmopolitan British restaurant bar and grill open from 9:30am all day every day serving great steak, fish dishes, classic burgers and more. Our menus change regularly with the season with our fixed price lunch menu changing weekly. We serve freshly prepared food with great British flavours in casual and relaxed surroundings. You'll find us in South Parade, a gorgeous little side road in Summertown, amongst trendy boutiques, galleries, wine bars and the North Wall Theatre. Come along for 'the best breakfast in town' from 9:30am 7 days a week and on Sundays come and enjoy a great selection of traditional roasts and superb sharing plates. Join us for Happy hour every week daily from 5:00pm to 7pm when all cocktails and champagne are £5! Let us treat you to a great fixed price menu available lunchtimes Monday to Friday - just £10.95 For two courses and £13.95 For three courses. Our children's menu is available every day and we have child friendly facilities. We can cater for parties of up to 100 guests with menus to suit. An impressive upstairs private dining area is available for all of your special occasions. Guests also benefit from our restaurant car park. Feel free to drop in for a glass of wine, coffee or a sweet treat at the bar or on the terrace. Reservations are welcome for anytime.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fishy delights, lovely cocktails”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Very good service as always at the Portabello, we have visited previously and always been happy, we had some lovely cocktails, the wife and I both had scallops, which were cooked to perfection and beautifully presented, and i had the monkfish for main which was delicious, as was the wifes steak, i'm a veggie so had to take her word for that!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    177
    140
    67
    25
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Good food, lovely service”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Have been here a few times with my family, the best of which was New Year's Eve 2011 when they were super friendly witht he fact we had a 3 month old baby with us.
The food is generally good but it is the friendly and helpful service that really sets this place apart.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Berneej S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice chic venue, good food.”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Picked this restaurant from other reviews and we were not disappointed.
It's slightly off the main drag in north Oxford down a chicy little road full of other restaurants and Bang and Olufsen style shops.
It has some nice appointed terraced seating that you can imagine are most sort after in the summer for posing.
We were treated warmly by staff and efficiently shown to our window table beyond another large table with pink balloons attached to the chairs, raising suspicion of a hen party.

The U shaped bar splits the restaurant in two and provides seating if you want to just pop in for a drink.
They have a private dining room on the 1st floor if you want a secluded dinner.

The menu is neat and compact, not extensive but supplemented by daily specials, the staff were heavily pushing the Meragery Sole.

We had 2 butternut squash, feta and grilled baby corn salads which arrived on a neat slim oblong porcelain dish. It looked attractive speckled with toasted pumpkin seeds and rocketed. As it stated grilled baby corn I was expecting those to be warm, however they and the cubes of squash were quite fridge cold. Nether the less the salad was enjoyable.
My son had a rustic and well portioned Caesar salad with a well cooked soft boiled egg.

For mains we chose a filet steak, rib eye steak and a pan fried cod.
The steaks were grilled to the degree as asked but served on wooden boards which looked like draining board inserts. We much prefer eating off china and I would have thought a venue of this calibre could leave this 90's fad alone and serve on china.
Sweet, aromatic and tasty braised red cabbage accompanied our meal.
My cod was cooked perfectly and came will puy lentils, bacon lardons and greens. The only annoying thing was the 1st two bites I pulled 3 long sharp fish bones from my mouth, other than that it was a lovely dish.
We had great banana & toffee sundae's that were delicious and a nice rice pudding slightly glazed with a raspberry purée in the middle.

The hen night table arrived as we got our bill but our concerns were not founded as they were a cheery bunch at a 40th birthday bash.

My wife informed me while on our 80 mile trip back home that the toilets were beautiful and very clean, always a good sign.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Bizzyboy1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Simple the best”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

we live locally and come here around once a month, we are both fussy where we eat, all the times we have been here we have never had a bad meal or experience.
Its so good we have decided to our reception here in the private room upstairs.
We highly recommend Poratbello's, if you’re not hungry just pop in for a wine or cocktail.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank elliecat6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely restaurant, excellent food although menu slightly limited”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I went here as a celebration with my fiancee. Booked online, which was a seamless process. The venue itself is great, although can come across as a little trendy - but if you're dining in North Oxford, this probably isn't too much of a concern. The menu is relatively good, but slightly limited on the style of choices (although it does market itself as a grill, so probably not surprising). The food itself is excellent - we had squid rings and gnocchi to start, which were hearty portions and perfectly cooked. Main courses of venison and steak bavette were on the money and decently sized. Wine list wasn't extensive but had enough to suit most palates - slightly expensive, but again - North Oxford. Desserts were a good way to finish the meal, and there was a nice liquer list, although we were too full at that stage to actually try them. Staff were friendly and attentive, helpful and knowledgeable. Overall, an incredibly pleasant meal out.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DrIMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portabello Restaurant Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Portabello Restaurant Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing