We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average cuisine, attentive service”
Review of Xian Restaurant

Xian Restaurant
Ranked #91 of 629 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $38
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average cuisine, attentive service”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Had a mid-week evening meal at Xian. The crispy duck pancakes were great but our mains - beef in black bean sauce and chicken dish and broccoli were a little disappointing. The beef was rather chewy and gristly, and the broccoli wasn't cut evenly so some of it was solid. It's a shame as we love Chinese food and had used the recommendations to choose this restaurant rather than another one. The service was very attentive and well paced with time between courses.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 25Nicola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    63
    29
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Well worth the short bus ride out of town”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is our favourite Chinese restaurant in Oxford. It's a short bus ride North of the centre (take the 2A/B outside Debenhams and get off at Summertown shops), but certainly worth the effort.

The food is tasty and well presented, the service excellent and there is a reasonably good wine list too. The wood panelled upstairs room is cosy and intimate, perfect for couples. The conservatory at the back more suitable for bigger groups.

I can recommend the crispy seaweed and salt & garlic squid for starters!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OxfordDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent for Coeliacs (Gluten-free)”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This Chinese is perfect for Coeliacs as they have a dedicated gluten free menu with Crispy aromatic duck using lettuce leaves as the pancakes. Thanks Xian!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Richmond8Tara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
72 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Please serve your hot food hot”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

My wife, kids and I have been visiting here 3-4 times per year for past 8 years, mainly because the only other better one is 20 miles away.
This last visit completed a gathering family opinion that it had 'gone downhill'. Not too badly!
When we complained about the food being cold the waitress looked at us as if we were making childish complaints. She came back with the food at the SAME temperature. We sent it back again and on the second return we refused to eat it because it was still not hot.
We left very disappointed in what was once a place our family enjoyed.
Please serve your hot food hot.


.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ernielly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Night Out Just Me & Wife”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

We have wanted to try this restaurant for ages, its next to one of our other favourites. We went on the 02/02/13, it was busy when we arrived. After about five minute wait we were shown to our table. For some reason where were positioned it was freezing cold, i swapped seats with my wife so she could sit next to the radiator. The waitress came after ten mins and took our order, to start we had crispy lamb to share, followed by sizzling beef cantonese, duck pineapple with ginger, egg fried rice and noodles. The problem started with the fact that the food arrived within different time periods, this meant that food was standing going cold, when we questioned its arrival our waitress was abrupt rather than apologetic. Too be fair the food did taste quite good..

we spent £37 including soft drinks.

We wont return, disappointed

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank christopher g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Xian Restaurant also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Xian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing