We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Little Find”
Review of Edamame

Edamame
Ranked #69 of 634 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $19
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery
Description: Delicious and truly authentic Japanese food in a cosy and inviting setting. Three different menus are offered at set times of the week. Check web-site for menu details and opening times.
Desborough, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“A Great Little Find”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We tried this place on a whim and were really pleasantly surprised. Yes you had to que to get in as there are only about 30 covers and yes space is tight but the food was superb and very innexpencive. The service was quick and efficient and if you are looking for somewhere different to eat in Oxford you couldn't do better.
A word of warning though. If you are going to eat there at lunch time be aware they only take cash. Cards are taken in the evening though.
Well worth a visit.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rikpt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    74
    24
    8
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Japanese Food”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Such a tiny place! I do like Edamame and go fairly frequently - the food is good, a bit pricey. They have a delicious salmon teriyaki dish. Its annoying to have to queue for so long, and there's a new sushi and ramen place in the covered market, so I generally go there for (very good) sushi now and save Edamame for special occasions and with friends when a 30 min queue doesn't seem so long!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank GlobeMeanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Plum Wine!”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Edamame is clearly a popular venue as when we arrived at 6pm on a Thursday we still had to line for a bit. We were seated at a larger round table which we shared with a couple of other diners. The service was moderate but the food was prepared relatively quickly and was very enjoyable. I was particularly fond of the plum wine! Repeat visit already planned.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stevona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Delicious food that's worth the wait”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

We went to Edamame while visiting a friend based in Oxford, I vaguely remember reading from the website that they close at 2.30pm and we got there close to 3pm, there was a 4 person-queue ahead of us so we had to wait outside. We were the last ones to be admitted and newcomers were turned away. It was probably a 20-min wait but once we started eating we realised why people queue just to get food from this restaurant. We were served tea as soon as we were seated then we ordered chicken yakisoba, chicken kara-age and pork shoyu ramen plus miso soup and rice on the side. We also had edamame for starters. The food were faultless and we finished everything amongst the four of us including my 2 1/2 yr old son who thoroughly enjoyed the kara-age, the chicken was battered nicely and was not dripping in oil. I love the bonito flakes (I think they are bonito flakes) in my yakisoba, it was very tasty and add another depth to the dish. The portions were generous and we paid £31 (inc. drinks) for everything which was really inexpensive for the quality of food that we had. My only concern is that because the space is extremely small, it makes bringing a pram difficult because there is nowhere to put it and it won't even fit in their small corridor, just a heads up to parents bringing their kids in pram. As for the complaint regarding the food's authenticity, what is an authentic Japanese cuisine? All food found in our tables have been in one way or another influenced by another culture, and food, in places like Edamame and even in our own homes, reflects the cook's interpretation of a dish so it always varies. I can say that the food we had in Edamame is certainly worth the wait and the long drive from the North of England to Oxford, I can't wait to visit again.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank krishnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice japanese food”
Reviewed December 6, 2012

the food here is just great.. it was a bit wait till i got my meal.. may be it was because of the busy evening.. but we enjoyed their food and service..

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank josh a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Edamame also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Edamame? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing