We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Office Christmas lunch”
Review of Chiang Mai Kitchen

Chiang Mai Kitchen
Ranked #37 of 634 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $76 - $76
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Office Christmas lunch”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

We had our staff Christmas lunch here in 17 December and we had a lovely time. The food was delivered quickly and efficiently and nothing was too much trouble for the staff. There was plenty of food for all and the special vegetarian options were very well received.
Margaret especially was very helpful and I cannot praise her highly enough

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jod2133
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    181
    66
    25
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Top notch food & service”
Reviewed December 18, 2013

This place never fails to please. From friendly, attentive service to delicious authentic Thai food and warm, relaxed atmosphere, it's a winner. The lunch menu is good value and the service is speedy. The dinner menu is excellent, too. I've been coming here for years and the food is always consistently good quality and tasty. I also highly recommend the aromatic, visually stunning new Flora Tea. Best place for Thai food in Oxford!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank M C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Flavours”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

This intimate restaurant is hidden away just off Oxford High Street, and is a great find.

There are a wide range of choices on the menu, with dishes well explained and spice levels clearly marked.

My gf had a vegetable soup, which was filling and delicious, whilst my mother and I shared two beef dishes, with noodles. The flavours were simply fantastic. Every mouthful was to be savoured, from the meat , to the sauce, to the mushrooms. Even the 'plain noodles' were incredibly tasty.

Service was unobtrusive but very efficient, and staff were polite. The two small rooms that make up the restaurant make it an intimate location, yet good acoustics and layout ensure this never transgresses into others disturbing your meal.

We had two courses and drinks, which came to about £20/person including service charge.

Would recommend and will return.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DBGraves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Worth searching out”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

We enjoyed a very pleasant family evening out. it was our first trip to the Chiang Mai Kitchen. Midweek it was very busy (always a good sign). We had reserved and didn't have to wait long for a free table (there may be a short wait if not). The food was delicious. The service was good and the staff efficient, pleasant and helpful. The menu usefully indicates (for the chilli-hot dishes) the level of heat. The building is ancient and this adds to the ambience. Check out the location before you go as the entrance is down a little alley off the High Street. It is well signed but it would still be very easy to go into the wrong restaurant entrance. We hope you have as pleasant an evening as we did. This is a firm favourite among several of our friends and it is now ours too. We will be returning shortly.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Winged_Jaguar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best Thai in Oxford”
Reviewed November 27, 2013

The food is always delicious, and to prove it the restaurant is always full, sometimes with a line spilling out to the alleyway.

I have had a fair amount of Thai food all over, and this is among the better restaurants. The service can be a bit slow, but it is not a big problem. Try the duck (red) curry, beef (green) curry and their very good pad thai. Call ahead for reservations, as you are unlikely to get a table at peak times such as weekend dinners. Well worth the effort!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WannaBeEverywhereNow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiang Mai Kitchen also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Chiang Mai Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing