We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive noisy and cold”
Review of Gee's Restaurant

Gee's Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Gee's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #56 of 647 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $10 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Our 2013 transformation remains loyal to Gee’s traditions of providing quality food & service in the most beautiful restaurant in Oxford. Whether flooded with mid-morning sunlight or under Oxford’s evening sky, Gee’s is the place to enjoy exceptional food in unique surroundings. The tables on the outdoor terrace are surrounded by the dense foliage of topiary & potted plants – & if you like the plants, some are available for sale. The new interior is filled with trees, new furniture, soft colours & lighting.Of course the important aspect of the new Gee’s is the cooking. A brand new kitchen incorporates a wood fired oven & a charcoal grill; food acknowledges the continued interest in the origin of ingredients, seasonality & the variety & abundance of local Oxfordshire produce.Gee’s remains the place in Oxford to enjoy a fabulous meal. There are dishes for sharing & dishes in two sizes to suit different appetites & times of the day. Expect great food to suit every occasion, served by knowledgeable & friendly waiters, in this beautiful, iconic glasshouse in North Oxford.
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We ate here in November. The restaurant remains attractive since the redesign but has become very noisy, the tables are very close together, and if you are near the glass it is cold.
The menu is indifferent and terribly expensive for what it is
Oh , how we miss the old Gee's where there was elegance and usually pretty good interesting food.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank voyager69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxfordGees, Manager at Gee's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

Since our refurbishment to make Gee's a more relaxed dinner venue we have been far busier than we previously were which has increased the volume of our main restaurant. I am very sorry that you found our restaurant cold, we aim to make all of our guests as comfortable as possible. I will ensure our under-seat heating is left on for longer during each shift.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (913)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

563 - 567 of 913 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2014

This used to be the best restaurant in oxford. The location, the service and the refurb are all good but the quality of the food is now below average.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Christopher P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxfordGees, Manager at Gee's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

I am very sorry that you did not find the quality of our food to our usual standards. We have retained many of the same suppliers over the years, however our most recent menu style of rustic Italian & Spanish dishes is quite different to our previous French inspired menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

We booked Gees for a Saturday evening meal during our weekend break. The setting in the glasshouse is lovely, the staff courteous and knowledgeable. However, the food let it down. Disappointing portion size and quality. I had never seen such small queen scallops (£10 for 1/2 dozen) as a starter.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SussexAndyJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxfordGees, Manager at Gee's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2014

I understand your comments concerning our queen scallops, we have now taken them off the menu as they were getting smaller & more expensive due to the weather. I am sorry that you received this dish before we decided to stop serving it. Thank you for you review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

I used to like Gee's as it was a bit better than anywhere else in Oxford. However I hadn't been since the refurb as I thought the menu was uninspired. I gave it a go this weekend. Food was ok. Menu was not exciting. Much better before the refurb - why did they change it? Won't be going back in a hurry - shame. Oxford needs a decent restaurant!

Thank vickyrj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxfordGees, Manager at Gee's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

I'm sorry to hear you preferred our previous fine dining guise rather than our mediterranean inspired menu & relaxed decor. We have been far busier since our refurbishment, however I understand that some of our loyal customers do miss the formality Gee's once had. Our sister restaurant, the Old Parsonage will open again in late March after its extensive refurbishment, as a beautiful fine dining restaurant. Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2014

This is an interesting restaurant in a large conservatory with outside seating when weather permits. Excellent, friendly service, interesting menu and delicious food. Special lunch menu very good value but no choice. We have visited a number of times over the years and are always pleased.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OxfordGees, Manager at Gee's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2014

Thank you for your review & your comments on our Express Lunch menu. This is something we've recently introduced, a weekly changing two course menu for £13.00 Monday - Friday. Thank you also for your compliments on our service & menu. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gee's Restaurant also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Gee's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing