We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is this the smallest pub”
Review of Rose & Crown

Rose & Crown
Ranked #194 of 629 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $57
Cuisines: European, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Private Dining
Description: In Oxford you'll find a warm welcome at the Rose and Crown (built in 1863). Run by Deborah and Andrew for 30years, the award winning pub is popular with students, locals and tourists of all ages and interests. The bar stocks a range of traditional English bitter on handpump, as well as good wines, malt whiskies, Belgian bottled beers and lager. The menu offers a selection of hot and cold meals, freshly made sandwiches and light snacks. The traditional interior is simply styled with a cosy, characterful atmosphere and to the rear a vine-draped, heated and covered courtyard. Close to the town centre. Recommendations include The Good Pub Guide, The Good Beer Guide, The Quiet Pint.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Is this the smallest pub”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Very quirky and quaint as long as you're not clostrophobic. We sat in the corridor as you go in the pub, a bit like waiting for the dentist.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Latebooker123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    38
    12
    3
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great fish and chips”
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Although my girlfriend and I did not sample the much-cited array of real ales, we did try the Fish, Chips & Mushy Peas (£8.95), which I have to say was delicious (the chips were particularly good). As noted in other reviews, the site itself is small, and I imagine it gets rather crowded at peak times (this is not atypical for Oxford, since many of its pubs date back a long way) but for our short visit to eat (and though the menu is somewhat limited) it was ideal.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank HazzaBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Stunning, English pub, great beer and food”
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

Great ambience, really well kept real ales, top notch selection of Belgian beers, wines and malt whiskeys. The pies and the sausages were delicious too! Recommend!

Helpful?
4 Thank CarlOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very limited menu, not very clean, very small food was not very good either. i felt very claustrophobic. Things on menu were not available on the night we went there

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Patriciavlchek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly, Wyoming
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Kind of disappointed”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had seen a number of pretty good reviews of this pub, but our experience was not that great. Food was drab, not a lot of choices. I LOVE scotch eggs and we visited because they indicated that they had them. But we were told they did not. Only a couple of beers.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank DcnDoug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose & Crown also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Rose & Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing