We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give it a chance”
Review of Maxwell's

Maxwell's
Ranked #458 of 634 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: $1 - $45
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: "Maxwell’s is one of Oxfords longest established late night bar and grills. Maxwell’s has recently undergone a major refurbishment to deliver a fresh, industrial chic look for the 21st century. Famous for their burgers, maxwell’s stands by a winning formula of top notch service and a recently launch, exciting new food menu designed to appeal to all tastes. Boasting years of experience, the knowledgable Maxwell’s bar team produce exquisite drinks. They offer an extensive menu of over 50 cocktails, including new signature creations and fresh fruit twists on old classics. Add a well balanced wine and champagne list and a superb choice of beers – theres something for everyone. Late night and Maxwell’s transforms into one of Oxfords leading party venues. With spectacular sound and light shows and some of the industries finest DJ’s spinning there way through a broad array of musical genres, Maxwell’s generates the best party atmosphere in Oxford."
Berkshire
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Give it a chance”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Staff excellent. Food was good, large portions, and far better than expected, as the actual bar/restaurant is a little on the grubby side and dark, Not a place you would chose to go unless you had been told about it beforehand.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank XBunnyX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    37
    47
    16
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“An awful experience”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I was trying to show oxford off to its best to friends and had been visiting Maxwell's for many years so was expecting our usual high standard of both food and service. I was bitterly disappointed from the moment we arrived. There was no one there to seat us to our table and so we had to go to the bar to ask if the table was ready. It wasn't allocated or ready! Food was disappointing across the board, the burger bun tasted like it had been frozen then defrosted badly and was unedible. The sharing platter was just a pile of greasy mess and the chicken wings tasted off.
Wanting to order drinks, we were pleased that we had arrived during happy hour for cheaper cocktails, however both the cosmopolitians and daquiris tasted watered down as if they were just fruit juice. The service was also not of the standard it used to be. The gentleman serving us, enquired as to how our meal was and after being told of our issues he proceeded to ask us what we wanted doing about it instead of offering us a solution or discount. The staff also came across far to familiar, with both strangers (ourselves) and other members of staff. I don't consider giving other members of staff neck and shoulder massages whilst customers eat very professional.
I have always been brought up to tip in restaurants, but the service, food and drinks left much to be desired and I couldn't tip on this basis. I will not be returning to Maxwell's anytime soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank kto88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Good food but lacking atmosphere”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

First time in Maxwells and although the food was OK there was a distinct lack of atmosphere. The menu was as expected and the range of drinks was typical for a diner of this type. So all in all it was an OK experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BathGarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Well done Maxwell’s restaurant in Queens Street, Oxford. Last Thursday 13 December I was one of 27 who booked a festive meal for an annual staff outing. The staff were great, the food was very good and plentiful and we were all made very welcome. The price was competitive at £20 for 3 courses plus 10% surcharge. A great night, thank you.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 186361Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not My Choice!”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

I went to this place with two friends. Obviously i did not choose the place myself! to be honest the best thing about this place was the food. and that's it. Noisy atmosphere, interior quite worn and in dire need of refurbishment, felt the atmosphere brought me back to the 90's
and personally i don't like restaurant's that that use spill proof table cloth. that's just not cup of tea! Sorry! but the food was good, I give them that!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank October1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maxwell's also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
 

Been to Maxwell's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing