We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grandest breakfast room ever, but bring earplugs.”
Review of Keble College

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Keble College
Ranked #2 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Suffolk, England
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Grandest breakfast room ever, but bring earplugs.”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed on a Saturday night, in double rooms in the older part of the college, overlooking the quad. Pretty spartan rooms (but student accommodation, so pretty much as expected), but all very clean and with a nice pack of toiletries.

BUT trying to get to sleep was virtuallly impossible. From 11.30 until what felt like about 4am, a succession of party goers returned to their rooms, shouting, screaming, banging fire doors, with every sound reverberating around the quad. There should be notices everywhere asking for a bit of consideration - at one stage, I witnessed what looked like a scene from a particularly bad episode of East Enders. So go by all means, but take earplugs and possibly avoid Saturday nights.

Breakfast was pretty amazing, sitting in a vast Hogwarts-esque dining hall. Copious quantities of food and coffee, and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louisvuitton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    108
    31
    9
    6
See reviews for
66
64
44
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Cornwall, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Booked at Keble on the recommendation of someone in the know, when I was up for the Oxford Proms. Love the atmosphere; I was lucky to get a room in the older section and the feeling of the layers of its history added to the enjoyment. I liked the way everyone was polite, you were greeted and shown to your room, any questions were helpfully answered, and the dining hall at breakfast was out of this world. Room was clean, bigger than I expected, and just what I wanted - I dislike paying for unnecessary extras, so this suited me fine. Bed was comfortable, and by the end of the third day I was wistfully wishing I were a student staying for longer than just a few days. I won't hesitate to stay here again, and would recommend it to anyone who wants a good central place to stay that gives you value for every penny.

Room Tip: Book as early as you can for the chance to stay in the older, more atmospheric rooms. Mine was right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Modestine29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnard Castle, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights for a friends hen do. Gorgeous setting so convenient for everything. We were slightly disappointed to be I the more modern block, the arco building, but then they must just be the cheaper room allocations. Friendly porters, breakfast range was excellent, comfy clean rooms, nothing fancy as obviously they are student sets, but everything you'd need. Would recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank baby_bassist_gem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Delightful venue and most enjoyable stay. Peaceful, ideally placed for the town and sightseeing literally just out of the front door of the college. Our rooms were beautifully clean, the bedding just right, crisp white sheets and pillowcases, also soft white towels. We were a Full welcome tray with selection of teas, coffee, mineral water and delicious sealed packed cookies. Restful venue not a sound at night, also good quality blackout curtains so you get a good sleep! It was wonderful to be able to experience a taste of life at an Oxford college. Desk staff extremely helpful. The rooms we had were lovely. Night porter should you need anything overnight; dining room staff were warm and welcoming. Would have liked to have stayed longer. We stayed in the modern annexe building which in terms of the historical atmosphere is obviously not quite the same as the rest of the college. All in all, ideal for a peaceful and relaxing stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: As always book as early as you can so you get choices.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pam875
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
77 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2013

The rooms are basic college rooms but spotlessly clean and comfortable with beds made every morning and fresh towels and toiletries every day. Breakfast is served in the long dining hall which is right out of Harry Potter with a very good choice of hot or continental breakfast. Staff are really helpful and welcoming. If you have the chance to have dinner in the halls then take up the opportunity. You get the chance to dine in candlelight at the top table. My daughter's room had a wall of glass overlooking the historic buildings - very inspiring. If you have children then this is a really good place to stay - so central for all the places to visit (only a few minutes walk away) and they will love the tradition and comfortable history of the college. I can only recommend staying here and I will certainly be back. This is an amazing place to stay and we have wonderful memories of a special weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuefromCarlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

From arrival we were treated as valued guests by all the Keble staff - and there were plenty of them. The beautiful location was peaceful and atmospheric; Inspector Morse could have appeared round a corner at any time!

Rooms (superior singles with en suite and quad view) were spotless, roomier than expected and well-provisioned - full range of toiletries and tea/coffee.

We opted to dine in the Hall, which was great - no choice of menu but what we had was of a high standard and plentiful. This occasion gave us the opportunity to chat with fellow guests from around the world in unique surroundings. Breakfast was also in the Hall; hot and cold buffet with a good choice.

Staying at Keble College was a result of our small group wanting centrally-located accommodation at a reasonable price. Both of these aims were achieved, but we were all very impressed with every aspect of this stay. Warmly recommended to visitors from UK or overseas (probably not ideal for children, though).

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaritabythepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

It was fantastic to be able to stay in a student room, with a view over the quad and to dine in the great hall for breakfast. Excellent location for walking around Oxford, right opposite Pitt Rivers Museum, and restaurants within easy reach. Staff here very helpful and friendly, very good breakfast. As expected room is basic but very clean and comfortable, although a little noisy and the bathroom is a little outdated. Free internet using our own ethernet cable. Generous tea and coffee tray replenished daily. Would recommend as good value and a great setting.

Room Tip: well worth having a quad view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzyRoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.3 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.1 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
691 reviews
0.5 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
1,174 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
678 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Keble College? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Keble College

Property: Keble College
Address: Parks Road, Oxford OX1 3PG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keble College, founded in 1870, is one of Oxfords architectural landmarks located in the heart of the City.Venture behind the college walls and stay as a bed and breakfast guest at Keble. Discover stunning tranquil quads and inspiring architecture whilst staying in a comfortable study bedroom.All bedrooms include tea and coffee making facilities, towels, toiletries and free WiFi points. Bedrooms are serviced daily. To complete your college experience, relax and enjoy a cooked or continental breakfast served in our magnificent Gothic dining hall, Oxford's longest Hall, before setting off to explore Oxford's City Centre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Keble College Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing